You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BLUE

in #diy8 months ago

I swear I’m never letting any other paint touch wood after I discovered linseed oil paint, it’s just superior. There is a learning curve but it’s just such a joy to paint, it even smells good and isn’t toxic. And it doesn’t go bad like other paints, I just had to toss an opened paint I had from another project because I thinned it with water and it basically ended up going moldy. I keep different colour brushes in raw linseed oil so they last for years and years and are always ready for another project or touch ups!

Sort:  

I need to find some of that paint, it sounds fantastic. I absolutely hate using thinners and with enamel you have no choice. I've not dabbled with chalk paint before after hearing horror stories of having to paint five or six coats for the colour to be uniform, who has time for that?

As for moldy paint, gaaawww that smell is so gross! Makes me gag 🤣

How are your knitting projects coming along these days? I missed your last post, just caught up on it now. I'm in the middle of a pullover. You are going into winter, best time for knitting, I didn't knit much this winter but maybe this year I'll knit through summer. I'm quite inspired by your knitting.

Linseed oil paint often requires several thin coats too, but the colour is very saturated right off the bat. If you hate waiting for paint to dry, this one ain’t it for you, it takes sooooo long. Though your climate is probably more favourable 😅

I unravelled the top part of my latest project three times and now only have the collar to make. But I’m afraid I made the whole thing too small and might have to start all over. That’s what you get for freehanding it! How do you prevent sweaty hands if you knit in the summer? 😂😅

Lol, ok maybe I'm just really impatient when it comes to painting stuff. I'll still give it a try though as it seems like a better option than enamel.

Seriously? Three times? Yes, you definitely have more patience than I do. I can't handle having to pull out knitting, it feels awful. Well if it's too small for your man, would it fit you?

Sweaty hands? I just end up washing my hands a lot. Apparently there is chalk that you can use, but I haven't gone that route (yet) 😉