SILIŅI. DIY sandbox for toddler.

in #diy6 years ago (edited)

Our child [Harmony] in summer 2017 turned one year old. And as they all do, she loves exploring all kind of new things. Playing in the beach sand is one of her favorite things to do, so I decided to make a sand box.
I'l make small commentary on the pictures as I go step by step.

We picked a spot that is near our house [you cant see it in the image.] and that we can see from kichen's window. It's going to be right next where we hang our hammock. In the background you can see our neighbours property. Maybe it's not the most private place but when I'l plant some thuja by the fence it's gona be OK.
IMG-20170815-00281.jpg

At first I got all my materials down to see what I can make out of them. We got some impregnated boards from when our neighbour was building theyre house. I made the box it self out of them. And from a nother neighbour I got some left over terrace boards that I made the cover.
IMG-20170815-00282.jpg

I found that from the materials that I had the most opimal size I can make was 1.4 x 1.6 meters. I mesured the place on the ground to dig out the lawn.
IMG-20170815-00285.jpg

Right next by the sand box is a stomp from an old apple tree. I might use that in some future pojects.
IMG-20170815-00286.jpg

I used the diged out lawn to even out some rough places in the front of our house.
IMG-20170815-00287.jpg

I made the hole about deap enough so that exactly one bords goes in it. And then there is going to be one board above the ground.
IMG-20170815-00290.jpg

Inside of the box I covered with a geotextile.
IMG-20170815-00294.jpg

We have a small tractor that we use to move thing around. I had to go two times to the seaside to fill the sand box with sand.
IMG-20170815-00295.jpg

Last thing to do was to make the cover. I made just a tiny mistake with it. But it dosen't mather that much.
Only problem that I had was hinges - I couldn't gen enough of them. If we lived in the capital that wouldn't be a propblem, but here the shops are a lot smaller and they don't keep suplies big enough. So for now one side is done but the other one I will make next summer.
IMG-20170911-00326.jpg

At first our dother was a little bit afraid of the new thing in the back yard, but ones she got used to it - she loved it. This summer she is going to be two years old and I think she is going to spend a lot of time in the sand box.
IMG-20170815-00300.jpg

I love to make things myself. And it's a lot more fun when your child realy enjoy's the thing you made.

Hope you will have a great day ;)

Sort:  

Charity School Project. You can support Us by upvoting and resteeming our posts. To support Us daily just delegate or donate some of your Steempower to Us. @satoshischool

nice

Good one , i need to re esteem this