DIY...MAKE YOUR WIFE HAPPY !!!

in #diy4 years ago

This past December, @farm-mom asked me if I could put up a temporary handrail/fence so that she could decorate it for the holidays.

It's a funny thing when she askes me if I can do this or do that. I know that she knows, that if she asks me to do something, with that little drawl in her voice, I'll jump right on it. A few hours later she was out there hanging lights on it.

Okay, let's fast forward to 3 days ago. I didn't particularly like the fence to begin with, so three days ago I started to disassemble it. Just before the last piece of fence is down, I hear the front door shut and can hear my beautiful bride approaching. Before she utters her first word, in that ever so sexy voice, I know exactly what she is going to ask. Bent over and with my back to her, she asks, "honey, do you think you could build me a really nice permanent fence, maybe with a bench and a few shelves for some flowers."
Smiling, I get up and turn around, and tell her, "it would be my pleasure," and it really will be.

IMG_1434.JPG

The following day I started early. I scouted out the perfect tree, and had it on the ground in no time.

IMG_1435.JPG

An hour later I had the tree cut up into the lengths I needed, and I was back at the shop.

IMG_1437.JPG
The tool for taking the bark off of a tree is called a drawknife. It takes a little practice and some effort to debark a log in this fashion, personally I think it's a blast.

IMG_1438.JPG

IMG_1440.JPG

Once you get a rhythem going it's rather relaxing.

IMG_1449.JPG

With four logs to do, it should be a good workout.

IMG_1450.JPG

1 down 3 to go.

IMG_1455.JPG

This baby needed a rather large protrusion removed.

IMG_1462.JPG

2 down 2 to go

IMG_1463.JPG

Look at this beautiful piece of hard maple. I don't know if I'm getting old, or if this shit is getting heavier.

IMG_1464.JPG

3 down 1 to go

IMG_1465.JPG

I'm glad I saved the longest one for last, piece of cake.

IMG_1466.JPG

Time for some lunch. 🍖🍗

IMG_1467.JPG

I was able to get 4 posts from the tree I took down. For the fence I intended to build, I knew that I would only need 3 posts. I skinned the other one anyway, knowing I would be able to use it for another project.
Plus, the exercise was really good, got a little burn going.

IMG_1468.JPG

Earlier that morning I set a goal to have the posts cemented in place so that the following morning I would be able to build off of them. With one hole dug to about 36 inches deep, I'm ready to mix some mud and secure the first post. With plenty of daylight left in this splendid day, I got this.

IMG_1469.JPG

IMG_1471.JPG

Next up

IMG_1473.JPG

Moving right along, one left.😊

IMG_1474.JPG

Good day for sure.

IMG_1475.JPG

Goal accomplished and it's only 5:30, always a good idea to start early.

Tomorrow I'll be making the 6-mile jaunt to one of my favorite places to visit. While I'm there I guess I might as well pick up the wood for the fence.
IMG_2856.JPG

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Natural Medicine.

I’ve featured your post in The Lotus Garden newsletter, which will be published each Thursday.


The Lotus Garden is a newsletter supporting content relevant to Homesteaders & supported by Natural Medicine. Earn LOTUS & HIVE for your #homesteading content!
About II Discord II Community

You're the best @minismallholdings. I'll be checking out the Lotus Garden Newsletter that will be published Thursday.
Thanks again for your support!!

Cool you made your goal. I am looking forward to seeing it done and with plants. :))

It was a long day, but I was able to build the fence the following day. I should be able to get a post up today on the construction of the fence.
I love the setup you have for your seedlings. We have never used heat mats for our seedlings, but after seeing yours, we purchased several yesterday. We can't wait to use them.
Have a great day and stay safe @goldenoakfarm.

I'm looking forward to seeing the finished fence with your wife's touches. Thanks for sharing all your skills.

@tipu curate

Upvoted 👌 (Mana: 21/28)

thank you very much @tipu

Thanks for stopping by @minismallholdings. The fence is finished and I should be getting a post about its construction, up today.
It turned out to be more than just a fence with another little project that @farm-m mom asked me to do.

Love your creativity with my suggestions.😊
You are the best.
It's a whole new farm.💖

Now there's a bloke who knows his way around a tool. Such intensity in your face as you wield that chainy.

I hope you're well big guy!

Doing great @galankp. Staying very busy and loving every minute of it. I hope everything is good on your end.

All good here, same as everywhere else on the planet I guess with virus and all.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared for your continued support!!

That's fun but kind of tired job. Although you can just ignore the tiring part because you're enjoying it and you're doing it to make your wifey smile.

Good luck and just take care for making it.

Thanks @mrnightmare89, it did require some effort, but as you stated, I had a lot of fun doing it. Stay safe and thanks for stopping by.

You should change your SN to BOSS, because that is so bad ass. Those posts are beautiful, I love the look of raw wood like that. @farm-mom is lucky to have you!...and I know you're lucky to have her too :)

@intothewild thanks for taking the time to view this post. Boss does have a nice ring to it, but there is only one boss in this home and it ain't me. 😢
I agree with you about the beauty of raw wood. Whenever I make anything, the last thing I do is cover up all of the beautiful grain and natural colors in the wood. Each type of wood has its own unique color and grain patterns.
We are both very lucky to have each other. I'm sure you feel the same about the love of your life.
Stay safe my friend, and have a wonderful day.

I love reading your posts, so the pleasure is all mine. I enjoy reading about things that I wish I could do, making your own fence is one of those. You get to look at it all the time and be like, "damn, I built that!" Pretty damn cool imo.