You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fit@40 #41 - My Body Transformation: 3 month update

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Amazing transformation, your body changes are noticeables. You seem more athletic. Your journey is an inspiration for me: I've started to go to the gym 2 months ago, because I wanted to have a new body which in I could feel confident and also to be healthier, because I have pre-diabetes. I congratulate you for your effort, because I know how hard it is. Keep going. This changes will come with a lot of rewards in the long-term.
Can I ask you, how much cardio do you do? That's my eternal doubt, I don't know how much to do in order to help burn fat but without stoping my progress with the muscular gain.

Sort:  

Thanks! 👍

I do a fair bit of cardio. I'm more strategic about it now than I use to be. My current approach is to try to burn 300 calories in pure cardio 3 or 5 times a week. I try to vary it to keep my body guessing. Sometimes do it on the treadmill, sometimes I do HIIT (hill sprints), sometimes I do treadmill. Sometimes I do fasted cardio.

My sessions with Ivar are quite cardio intensive too. Lots of supersets and circuit training.

I think the fear of losing muscle mass is more psychological than real. If you're overweight (like I still am) becoming lean means losing size, I often feel skinny when I lose size however in order to see any muscle (and definition) I had to lose the fat covering it! Which means being in a calorie deficit. I love my food so I do cardio to get the job done! 👍Cardio is also good to keep the heart healthy but you can do without it as long as you're in hitting the caloric deficit you need.

As long as your protein intake is good, you're not starving yourself (i.e. losing weight too drastically) and you're lifting weights consistently, you should minimise any muscle loss, so I wouldn't be overly concerned about that.