You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My first VLOG! Business Travel Tips From Boston

in #dlive6 years ago

Alan, I've lived in the Boston area for nearly 50 years but I've never experienced it from the perspective of a Kiwi business traveler. Your video is excellent both for the tips you shared on business travel, and on Boston in particular. Resteemed, upvoted, and followed.

I'm amazed that you found time in your busy schedule to experience so much of Boston (and some of Cambridge as well, since MIT is across the river) in such a short time. The Celtics are going strong, having progressed to the next round of the playoffs. It's great that you got to enjoy the TD Garden. I saw that you were close to Fenway Park. Maybe next visit you can take in a Red Sox game, although I don't know how popular baseball is in New Zealand.

The Liberty Hotel is a wonderful boutique hotel in the Back Bay / Beacon Hill section. You correctly sensed that Boston is the ideal walking city, something like San Francisco. The Common and the Charles river bank are ideal spots for your walks and meditation.

I used to travel extensively and understand the need for "chilling out" and to maximize downtime, to recharge your batteries. I'm sure your meetings were successful, largely because of your upbeat attitude.

Come back soon!

Ira

Sort:  

Thanks Ira, Boston is an amazing city. Unfortunately there were no Red Sox home games when I was there. Otherwise I would have gone to a baseball game as well. I did explore Fenway Park though.

My dream would be to run the Boston marathon one day so I'll aim for that!

Where in New Zealand are you from? I've traveled to many countries but never had the chance. Met many Kiwis, especially on cruises. My impression is that it's something like Switzerland, except in the southern hemisphere, and that they are very international minded. Once they get off the islands, they tend to just keep traveling.

My wife and I did an Oceania cruise from Papeete to Lima, stopping in the Pitcairn Islands. They claim to be the remotest spot of land on earth, although there is some competition, such as South Georgia. The population is less than 50, and the entire island came aboard to sell genuine Pitcairn products such as "Welcome to Pitcairn" T shirts made in Nicaragua, as well as wood carvings and honey. Somehow, New Zealand administers the island. This was in 2013. There was one NZ policeman who constituted the entire police force. He came onto the ship. There was some nasty business a few years ago relating to sexual abuse. Somehow I think New Zealand was dragged into it. I don't know all the details.

Running the Boston Marathon is indeed the dream of every runner (from wannabe to world class). This year, the US runners won the men's and women's race, after a drought of nearly 30 years. Kenya and Ethiopia have had the most success recently.