Hakka Style Pan Fried Cassava Cake / 客家煎薯饼 (薯粄)

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

20180526_114935.jpg

Video Link as below:
(https://dlive.io/video/rea/6bbebf60-6124-11e8-b143-ffce16c65548)

When I was at my parents apartment a couple of weeks ago, they were kind enough to make me my favourite childhood snack Cassava Cake! I was over the moon as it does takes a certain amount of effort to make at home so this really was a special treat! Hence, I am very excited to share with my Steemian friends the entire process of creating this sumptuous cake from scratch.

Cassava Cake is actually a famous Hakka cuisine. The Hakka community are a cultural group originating in North China but at a later stage migrated to the south. My mum being part of the **Hakka people, I was exposed to the rich Hakka culture from a young age and as a great little perk, their delicious dishes too. Cassava Cake is known for its distinct taste and is considered very popular. It's a dish you will never miss at any Hakka dinner party so therefore comes heavily recommended from me for you to try out.


Ingredients:

Cassava (preferable the purple one)
Flour
Spring Onion
Oil, Salt
Dried shrimps (optional)
20180526_114729.jpg


Preparation:

1/ Peel the skin of the cassava.

20180526_114533.jpg


2/ Grate the cassava in a big bowl and set aside. It is recommended you use a thin pair of gloves if you have sensitive skin.

20180526_114607.jpg

20180526_114542.jpg


3/ Chop the spring onions into fine pieces.

20180526_114701.jpg

20180526_114744.jpg


4/ Add the flour, spring onion, dried shrimps and salt into the cassava bowl and mix well.

20180526_114823.jpg

20180526_114935.jpg


5/ Pour oil in a pan and place over a medium heated stove. Carefully spoon a large dollop of the mixture into the pan. Continue to add more depending on how big your wok is. Cook for about 5 minutes on each side until it turns a lovely golden brown colour.

20180526_115255.jpg

20180526_115202.jpg


And Voila! An authentic and unique pan fried *Cassava Cake made in the traditional Hakka style and ready to serve. The cake should be nice and crisp on the outside and deliciously soft in the middle. The aroma alone should send your taste buds into overdrive, lol. And finally, enjoy while it’s piping hot.

20180526_115555.jpg

20180526_115658.jpg


前几个星期我在广州家里的时候,妈妈做了我小时候很爱吃的客家煎薯饼 ,又叫薯粄。我好开心哦,所以在这里和我的Steemian朋友们也分享一下,希望你们喜欢。

薯粄是传统的客家美食。它以独特风味闻名,在客家朋友聚会上总少不了这道菜。我妈妈是客家人,也因为外婆和我们一起住的原因,我自小也受到不少客家文化的熏陶。客家特色菜也是其中之一,呵呵。

下面我和大家分享一下这道菜的用材和制作过程吧。

用料:

紫色大薯
面粉


虾米(看个人喜好)

制作步骤:

1/ 大薯削皮,清洗干净,待用。
2/ 把大薯磨成泥酱。建议戴手套,避免直接触手会出现瘙痒状况。
3/ 把葱切粒,待用。
4/ 把切好的葱粒,虾米,面粉和盐倒入薯酱中,用手抓匀。
5/ 在锅里放入适量油,待油温7成热的时候往锅里放薯酱。放的时候尽量放成一个圆饼的形状。根据锅的大小,放入适量的薯饼数量。每面煎大约5分钟,待薯饼两边呈金黄色便可。

刚煎好的薯粄特别好吃。它外酥内软,香气可口,感觉好幸福哦,满满都是童年的回忆,呵呵!

Wen-Logo-final.jpg

My video is at DLive

Sort:  

额。。。作为客家人的我怎么没吃过

Looks nice and delicious. I love sea food, mostly shrimps :) Keep up the good work!

Never seen this before but now have to wonder if you can make the thing I know as 算盘子。

算盘子is also one of the famous Kakka dishes but I never made it before, perhaps I will try it next time :)

I love the fruits of the sea, I never imagined that this could be done, I have a food blog and believe that I never imagined that this could be done, and I will try. Thank you for the recipe @rea

Lovely post and tantalising food. Do you know that cassava contains 330 calories, 78 grams of carbohydrates, 3 grams of protein and 4 grams each of fiber and sugar

Mmm... Looks delicious

客家人来捧场啦,真的超级好吃,尤其是刚刚炸好的时候,又香又脆,味道超级赞的

谢谢!一看就知道你也是吃货一族,呵呵。

客家的薯饼是紫色地瓜做的吗?好像和北方的不一样呢😄看起来好诱人😍

是紫色的大薯,呵呵。

omg that looks so good. I´ve never eaten that before!!!

Hey Lisa, thanks for dropping by. :)

看到客家两个字就赶紧进来了,小时候外婆经常做,超好吃的,可惜我妈没学到精髓哈哈

你也是客家人咯,呵呵。是啊,我也没能做得像妈妈那么好,要继续努力。

是的,哈哈 能做就不错了 像我只能旁边打下手

哇,看着好好吃

谢谢。

Source
Generic comments could be mistaken for spam.

More information:
The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications