Coco needs our help!

in #dog6 years ago

WhatsApp Image 2018-08-15 at 4.54.53 PM.jpeg


The story:

Driving back home from town in the afternoon, I passed a woman with a young man staring at a dog that was laying down on the grass, the woman and the young man looked worried and sad.

I right away thought that something was going on and it did not look good. I knew I was not going to feel comfortable without knowing what was going on, so I turned back and stopped right next to them.

The woman was a tourist trying to help the young man that due to a speech disability he has, it was hard for him to explain himself. He was the owner of the dog, and he was trying to take him to the vet but unfortunately, the poor dog could not longer walk.

  • Me: whats the name of your dog?
  • Young man: his name is Coco, and I am Abdiel.

In that moment they did not know what was going on with him, but according to Abdiel, Coco was away and he found out he was mounting a female dog. More streets dogs came to disturb them, and the separation between Coco and the female dog was very rough.

We managed to put Coco in a car and drove straight to the vet. I told the tourist not to worry so she can continue with her life, she said “thank you and good luck”. We... Abdiel, Coco and myself arrived then to the Clinic so the vet could have a look at Coco.

Poor Coco was bleeding through his penis and his mouth. His tongue was blue and he was for more than a day without being able to drink any water or eat because of the pain.

Right away the Vet proceeded to clean him, provided him with fluids, vitamins, antibiotics and a hepatic protector.

After analysing his blood, she discovered he has a Canine transmissible venereal tumor and that, without proper chemotherapy treatment, he was going to die. And if it wasn't enough, the vet believes Coco was also poisoned which made his tong get necrotic.

coco.png

While she was treating Coco, Abdiel, the young man looked miserable. He was worried for his dog but also worried with the fact that he knew he needed money to save his dog.

I told him not to worry, and that we were going to try to save his dog. After he calmed down a little, he promised me he was going to spay him if he survives.


In this town were I live, there is almost no education or knowledge about how to treat a pet or take care of them. In our latin low social culture, people believe it’s not good to spay a dog because they think dogs should keep their testicles because that is nature.
I completely understand when some people argue by saying that nobody would like to have their “balls cut”. But they cannot see that for a female dog for example, it would be very exhausting and risky health wise to give birth very 10 months. That's what street dogs have to experience in this town.

Not everything is bad, there is a group of people willing to help and more and more locals are understanding the importance of spaying their animals.


What needs to be done to save Coco’s live?

DSCN4440.JPG

Coco needs another session of fluids and antibiotics.
If he gives signals of progress, then he will need a chemotherapy treatment that consists of four chemotherapy sessions at the clinic.

Abdiel has a minimum wage job and he cannot afford the treatments.

Another option would be to put the dog to sleep. Something that I know will break Abdiels heart and it would not be fair for Coco who is already rescued and happy with his family. Coco is only 3 years old.

So why not? I have decided to write this post, not seeking for personal rewards, but seeking for donations for this specific cause. In fact, this is my very first post asking for donations.

The costs of treatments:

We currently don't know exactly how much everything is going to cost. However, according to the clinic, each chemotherapy treatment cost $75, for 4 will be $300. Plus all the resources and treatments before the chemotherapy (fluids, cleaning, vitamins, antibiotics), which could be another $80.

How can you help?

This is a list of different ways you can help:

  • You can donate any fractions of cryptos: Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin. Just ask in a comment for address.
  • You can send Steem or SBD to my account: el-cr
  • You can just give a full vote and / or resteem this post to get to more donators. 100% of the SBD / STEEM earned will be also donated.

If I manage to go over the amount needed, the difference will be donated to the local Vet Clinic which is a basic clinic and also needs some help.


The name of the clinic is Bocas VET Clinic.


This is young Abdiel and his poor dog Coco.

DSCN4444.JPG


When it comes to donations like this, I always get very skeptical. However, I can’t forget one of the reasons why I learned and felt interested about the Blockchain, we build an ecosystem with trust between one another. Besides, there are a lot of people in this community that know that I am always there to help, especially when it comes to animals.


Thanks in advance!

sign.png

Sort:  

My hero! ❤️

Posted using Partiko iOS

I just wrote him the same on Discord, my hero <3 Transfering some Steem now <3

thank you @d-vine I am going to exchange them for USDT and then into fiat with any of human teller I know in my area, otherwise I will exchange it my own fiat. I will be writing a 2nd post about the advancements of Coco's treatment.
You are a good steemian!

according to cmc 1 STEEM = $0.91
I am so happy, more people are donating, Coco sterilization will cost another $80
Thanks for your help, every dollar counts!

Dogs can get jealous when their humans display affection toward someone or something else.

You are truly a hero trying to help this young man and his beloved dog. I appreciate that you are willing to try help save this dog. At the moment I can't miss any of my earnings, sorry I need to cash out this week again.. But I can help by giving you my 50% vote.

Thanks to @anomadsoul making me "A whale for a day" by following my vote while he is traveling, my vote will be followed directly by his vote with the same percentage. So thanks to this you will receive a much higher upvote than I could give with my own Steem Power.

Bless you, I hope it helps!

Do not be sorry please, I understand. Just by doing what you are doing is valuable help!

Hope you can raise the funds, and hope the dog makes it through this. Upvoted!

thank you!

Very sad, I hope the doggie recovers completely :-(

thanks dude!

What you're doing is amazing. Not only this fund raiser but for having stopped and helped out in the first place. I've liked, re-steemed and donated all my sbd (not even $0.5). I'm tiny on steemit, barely existent, but wanted to support what you're doing.

thanks @inspector-crypto I appreciate your help, it does not matter quantity, what it matters is the intention and little by little we can make it happen.

Congratulations @el-cr! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!