Collie rescue day out. Adopting a pup!

in #dogs6 years ago

Good day Steemians. Some real talk for the holidays.

This past weekend my girlfriend (Please find attached some photographs, proving that she's not just some figment of my imagination) and I went to a local collie rescue shelter to volunteer for the day. Just to give some love where it's needed, and drop off some toys and treats. This time of the year, people go off on vacation to have the time of their lives, and just leaving their dogs behind. Often not even organizing a dog sitter. These poor pooches then end up in the shelters. Quite frankly, humans are awful.

The shelter was quite busy on Saturday, and not wanting to overcrowd some of the more popular kennels, our "guide" placed us with one of the more "downtrodden" dogs that no-one seemed interested in.

Meet "Skywalker". A one year old border collie.
IMG-20171223-WA0036.jpg

He comes from a home where his previous owner tied him and his sister "Padme" to a tree outside, and left for the holidays (Seriously, where do these people come from).

Understandably he was very hesitant at first.
IMG-20171223-WA0044.jpg

But after an hour of showing him that not all humans are assholes, he started warming up to me.
IMG-20171223-WA0011.jpg
This was about he time he crept into my heart.

IMG-20171223-WA0023.jpg

IMG-20171223-WA0039.jpg

Now, I set out on Saturday wanting to give some pooches some much needed love.
But left with a handful of adoption papers for Skywalker.
I already have 2 dogs of my own (A border collie and a corgi). And have had dogs for as long as I remember. They are however family, and not pets to me.

The collie rescue people are coming for a home check tomorrow afternoon, and seeing as I have a fairly large yard, and live 2kms for an ENORMOUS park, I'm fairly confident that by the end of the week Skywalker will have a new loving home.
He is such a handsome boy, and he will most certainly have a love filled life with me.

IMG-20171223-WA0032.jpg

Here's a picture of my girlfriend with the biggest Shetland I've ever seen for the doubters.

IMG-20171223-WA0050.jpg

There are so many dogs out there that need a loving home. Don't be an ass. Look after your best friend.

If this post makes any money at all, it will go either to treats and a new bed for Skywalker, or the collie rescue. Or both.

Cheers for now.
J