You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You know SBI but do you remember Bernie Madoff Ponzi Scheme

in #downvotes4 years ago

Hello. Just now I noticed that you took manual notice of me!

I see you zeroed out your automated votes and revoted with a 100% downvote. I am one of the largest holders of steembasicincome units and I help moderate in the discord, where I have spent the last several weeks fielding complaints about you.

It is my personal belief that this is an important lesson in decentralized governance. Whether #steem or some other blockchain rise to supremacy, any stake based system will have to deal with misunderstandings, disagreements and jerks. I believe that the lessons we are learning today with #steem with be studied for a long time to come.

I think it has become quite clear that 'free' downvotes were not a good idea if we want actual users interacting with the platform. Abstracting away the downvotes is the only way someone can build on #steem moving forward. By computers, downvotes and upvotes are just mirrored stake-weighed operations. But on a human level, downvotes feel a lot more like violence.

Whether #steem figures this out and changes course, or is already on its way to avoiding direct user usage altogether - SOME blockchain will take these lessons and try again.

The mmmmkkkk311 conjecture: No matter how elegantly designed something is, someone will think it's a scam.

Sort:  

VOTE BUYING IS WRONG, that's your lesson to learn

No, in fact I don't even think 'wrong' is the right word to use at all. We are talking about tech, about code, you would make more sense thinking about 'permitted' or 'not permitted'.

I am permitted, by code, to do what I want with my stake. And so are you. If I wanted to go about not permitting you to downvote me, I would have to change the code. If you wanted to go about not permitting someone of buying votes, I would challenge you to think how that would even be possible. You can use your stake to disuade or disincentivize all you want, but you can never disallow.

In terms of morality - 'right vs wrong' - I'm not sure what you aim to achieve by implanting it with downvotes.

I am permitted, by code, to do what I want with my stake.

same here, as you said

Yes. And you should also accept responsibility for what you are doing. None of us is getting downvotes from you because we 'buy votes' or for any other reason other than - 'You feel like it'

Are you on discord or Steem.chat?

steem.chat, but I prefer public comments

Fair enough. I just had some questions about your reasoning.

Is your focus on those who “buy” sbi shares for others, otherwise known as buying them a vote? I’ve tried to catch up over comments and posts, but it’s a lot of dis fragmented information. You recently removed a witness vote for the c-squared curation group, and I was told it was for voting the open letter video about the downvoting.. made me curious what was going on so came to look.. and well, it left me with more questions.

It seems every time you try to speak, individuals respond in ways that make it hard to have a conversation, so I thought I would see if you were on any chat apps, but am ok with public comments too and respect that actually quite a bit.

Anywho, comment if you like.. or find me on Steem.chat @justineh

Have a good day.

All my downvotes are manual and goes to "sponsors" who are trying to get in the ring new members and increase own ranking in the circle. They know how to avoid downvotes but they keep sending STEEM to steembasicincome account, their choice

Now, tristancarax spent 200 STEEM for vote buying and wrote a post about it, c-squared upvoted his post. I don't want to have anything to do with witnesses who are supporting #oldsteem.

Why are earth do you want us to collect more evidence against you, @
mmmmkkkk311? Quite confident for someone who hasn't been able to keep their story straight throughout any of the threads. Weird, but okay. You do you.

Why would you respond to his comment to me? Take your rage elsewhere, perhaps your own post or comments. Pretty sure individuals are still allowed to comment on this platform.. if you don’t like it, use those downvotes bro 🙂