You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good News for SBI Vote Buyers (Sponsors)

in #downvotes4 years ago (edited)

after some discussion with @abitcoinsceptic ... she's not in agreement with him either. She disagreed with me calling him out as a bully but not his actions being wrong. There are many others who have just not been as public in their opposition to the behaviour.

Sort:  

Thank you for investing some time into a reply @shadowspub. Agreed there are "many others," but not banded together. As of yet ...

Yes, I am aware of @abitcoinskeptic's (a male) view, as we had a "lively" discussion on the topic, when he published his concerns about SBI. The big difference, in my view, was he handled them in a comparatively respectful and civil manner. Which, in turn, resulted in @josephsavage putting some ideas before the SBI community for consideration and a voice on adoption.

Not the case with MK ...

If I recall correctly, comment votes were discussed last month as part of the broader discussion. At that time I didn't see a strong case against them. Since then the case against them has strengthened and they're a minor concession that allows us to hold our ground where it really matters.

Perhaps @josephsavage ...

"If I recall correctly, comment votes were discussed last month as part of the broader discussion."

... but I specifically looked for an SBI post similar to this one a couple of months ago re: upvoting bonuses. In which you and I had a good exchange.

I didn't find one ...

Then I went into the Discord channel to specifically ask whether this decision had been put before the community or was an "Admin decision only." To which you replied, "admin decision" (in the #help channel ...).

Not the end of the world, but I stated then and I'll say again now that it was disappointing to me. Both to hear there had been no discussion on a pending decision like that and, to a lesser degree, that comment upvoting was now gone without notice.

I have taken pains, however, to stress in my comments to others that I don't fault you for making a decision like this under growing pressure from the likes of MK. In my limited time on Steem and in Discord, I had seen pretty straightforward stands against this pressure only days before. Just sad to see given what it represents to me ...

I am sure you are doing the best you can, under the circumstances. We'll see what the future brings ...

Yes, sorry. It was an admin decision at this time. I thought that it had been part of the discussion around the upvote rewards too, and didn't need more discussion now, but I guess I was mistaken.