Sort:  

Lol, don't vote if you support security literacy!

I was told that steemconnect never takes your key out of your browser.
A. Is that the truth?
B. Can they still access my key?
or
C. Am I just waiting for the day that the scammers with access do their exit plan?

Vote with a comment.
One vote per person.

If you don't vote I will do what I wanted to do in the first place,...but with a much clearer idea of my standing in the community.

I have raged and discussed and interviewed steemconnect devs about their ridiculous implementation. Technically, according to them, you should only need to do active key the first time, and they updated it after like 22 months of live implementation the 'wrong way' (ie active key everytime), and now its all the devs faults for not upgrading/not implementing it right.

Do I believe that? I believe that they believe that - that is my understanding of what they believe truly happened. How much can I distrust without losing out on having fun with things like voting for new overlords?

The way I justify it to myself is this: With my active key you can only steal my liquid funds, I have several notifications in place that would warn me whenever a powerdown is enabled, which would give me 7 days to change my keys (revoking all previously given permissions, I think) and cancel power down.

To the best of my knowledge the answer is A.

So, if my keys never leave my browser then i have nothing to worry about beyond steemconnect using their cookie's permission to rob me?
Which at most would require changing to new keys?
And would scuttle any further profits from their legitimate business activity.
Maybe criminal charges, IF the cops can find them?
Street justice, if we get to them first?

That is EXACTLY the way I understand it.