Do you agree to remove downvote pool in Hardfork23 as a witness?

in #dpoll4 years ago (edited)

Do you agree to remove downvote pool in Hardfork23 as a witness?


@proxy.token is against the culture of downvote in Steemit.
@proxy.token is also strongly against downvote pool that offer institutional support.
@proxy.token asks if you agree to remove downvote pool in Hardfork23 as a witness. (from rank1 to rank30)

If you agree, @proxy.token would vote to you as a partner.

@roelandp @yabapmatt @blocktrades @gtg @aggroed @themarkymark @good-karma @timcliff @someguy123 @smooth.witness @anyx @ausbitbank @drakos @ocd-witness @thecryptodrive @therealwolf @curie @followbtcnews @cervantes @steempress @clayop @lukestokes.mhth @jesta @emrebeyler @actifit @steempeak @riverhead @abit @pfunk @pharesim


  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

  • No, I don't.

Answer the question at dpoll.xyz.

Sort:  

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

I will be honest, I was tempted to say yes, a witness vote from you means instant top20 for me, after two years of being a backup witness.

However, I cannot see the positive in no downvotes in our current economics.

Free downvotes brought also stupid downvote behaviors however we also wiped out a lot of spammers/leechers.

I agree that some accounts flagging for no reason, I’ve personally tasted some flagging on my posts just because some accounts upvoted me. This is not an optimal situation.

On the other hand, you have great amount of SP proxied to your account, you can use this SP to shape the distribution in the reward pool. I think this is the the best solution.

Thank you @emrebeyler. I've got your opinion as a witness.

It's not easy to explain the harm of downvote directly. But what can I say is that it may be a violence named with 'balance'.

It causes users to be disappointed and even get away from Steemit, I think.

The downvote should stay. It's one way for the community to sanitize this blockchain.

Though.

  • I will remove the downvote from whales or anyone with higher stake to avoid the abuse of power (stake).
  • Downvote is voluntarily, so downvote via curation trail should not be allowed.

My 2 cents.

Hell no. In my opinion the only people who want the downvote pool gone are the ones who want to pillage the reward pool.

Have none of you seen what happened to whaleshares? Give you a hint, they got rid of downvotes. Now it's ded.

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Thank you, @timcliff. I've got your opinion as a witness.

Voted for:

  • No, I don't.

Thank you, @gtg. I've got your opinion as a witness.

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Thank you, @therealwolf. I've got your opinion as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

This post has been resteemed by @witnessnews.

Follow @witnessnews to keep up with active witness updates.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

I am not a witness, but I find it sad when who is hidden and not visible and is downvoted for over and over again.

Congratulations @proxy.token!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 2 with 19 comments

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Voted for

  • Yes, I do. I agree to remove downvote pool in HF23 as a witness.

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Voted for

  • No, I don't.

Without downvotes, more and more users would take the route of zero effort to extract as much from the reward pool as they can uncontested.

Whaleshares removed downvotes and they quickly regretted it when even top witnesses were posting "account preservation posts" just to retain all their voting power instead of participating.

While it may seem downvotes are violence and they give you shortness of breathe, without them Steem would go to $0 as no one will want to participate.

Even the Government realizes the need for checks and balances.

Thank you, @themarkymark. I've got your opinion as a witness.

Is downvote 'necessary evil' to maintain Steemit? Of course, I don't deny existence of downvote. I just want to ask if the pool of downvote needs or not.

Curious, what is your concern with having the separate downvote pool? It does sound like you are OK with having downvotes, just not the separate pool. What do you see the difference is?

Loading...