Original Artwork - @jcedwards "Thomas Cat"

in #drawing6 years ago



Greetings fellow Steemians! Today I would like to introduce "Thomas Cat". Not long after joining Steemit I came across a sad story by @jcedwards, about her sweet cat, that had survived a dog attack. You can read about it here:

Thomas Cat, Warning Some Yukky Stuff by @jcedwards

Thomas Cat - Final Update re-settlement by @jcedwards


Finally resolved five months later, I am sure she is glad to have put this ordeal behind her. We talked about me doing a drawing of her favourite picture. I have had a tough time with this one, maybe because I usually draw dogs. Wasn`t happy at all with my drawing so decided to turn it into two versions of a painting instead. Which do you prefer?



I began this drawing early January. I am working on an Ipad Pro with the Apple Pencil, using the app Procreate. Awful beginnings .



Looks like a cat, atleast.



Getting there, but not happy.



This is when I decided to add color and make a painting instead,



Down to the finishing touches!


Reference photo provided and used with permission from @jcedwards .


My previous drawings:

My Chihuahua Chico

My Boy Carlos - Bichon Havanese

Fancy Frank

My Shih Tsu - Lucy Loo

"Abbey" Chihuahua/Yorkie X

"Chester" Fried Chicken - Chihuahua-Dachsund X

@braveheart29 xx

P.S. If anyone has a highly detailed photo of their dog, I would love to draw him/her for you and make a post like this. Feel free to message me or leave a link to your image in the comments.


Sort:  

Thomas Cat is so pretty! I like the painting with the orange
background. It makes his black fur come alive, I think.

I have a cat called Mister Tom and he feels bad for Thomas.
How he's recovered from the attack.

Hi, @peggyhazelwood! Thank you so much, and hugs to Mister Tom. Thomas Cat is recovered physically from his attack; however, he has reverted to 'kittenhood' and is very insecure if he doesn't know where I am. We're working on helping him regain some confidence ... but either way, I love him to bits and he knows it.

What a splendid job here of Thomas!

Thank you very much!

Love seeing the different steps of your artwork. Thanks for sharing them.

OMG! SQUEEEEEEEE!!! Your depiction of Thomas Cat is absolutely beautiful! I am so delighted, thank you! I know that when you try something new it can be a real challenge - but you rose to this magnificently and I'm just thrilled with the results. I love both of them - but I think the blue background allows more subtle highlights on Thomas Cat to be seen. I've resteemed this so my followers can see your awesome work. Thank you so much, @braveheart29, you've made my day! xoxox

I am so happy that you like it! You in turn have made my day! Lovely 😊 how that works out!

xoxox

That's lovely!

I do hope Thomas Cat continues to recover. Sounds like he will, thanks to his having such a devoted human @jcedwards .

Thank you so very much! :)

A cat will tremble or shiver when it is extreme pain.

Good job

Hello braveheart29,

@SteemEngineTeam would like to take the time to thank you for

signing up / https://steemengine.net/join
and participating in our community. Your contributions and support are important to us and we hope you will continue to use our platform.

We plan to give back to our community members, so have an upvote on us!

Thank you.