Doodling my time

in #drawing3 years ago

It's been a long time since I last posted on Hive, but I've been following everything around, make no mistake about that.

Bulevardul_Castanilor_Of_Closed.jpg

Sometimes, the blank page waiting to be filled with words is quite a large and powerful monster. I've been filling my time with relearning how to sketch, how to draw, I've been studying a lot these months about techniques and ways of imagining and recreating your subject. Why? Because I like it and together with these new solutions for drawing, everything is much much easier. You don't have to buy a lot of drawing gear, you don't have to ruin paper, you just open your tablet and start doodling whatever comes to your mind.

And with exercise comes reward as well, not in the form of money but in the form of satisfaction which, in hobbies, may be much better than tangible value.

One thing is sure about me: I don't like to let ideas unfinished and for this map of the center of my city (or at least part of it), I worked, in different increments of time, for more than 2 months now. Doodling, erasing, doodling again, taking reference from google street, doodling some more, erasing a lot... but in the end I somehow finished what I had in mind when I started it. Not perfect but I'm working to perfect as much as I can.

This came to me because of a friend who told me 3 months ago:

  • How nice it would be if the boulevard in the city would close for traffic and open for people? Caffes, relaxing spots around the old trees, playgrounds, small, open air concert venues...

And because I needed exercise I said "why not to try and imagine it in a doodle?". So I did.

This pass time brings me serenity in a lot of times. Whenever I feel I need to disconnect I just start doodling. Characters or scenery generally because I like to focus on something and cartoons seem to capture me more and more. It's more like a psychological training for me, a way to escape for an hour, just me and my brain. The funny thing about drawing and doodling is that you don't really have to think a lor about what you are trying to picture. Just sketching and letting the hand go and the mind can slip into other different topics.

Refining then it's easy with today's technology...

Sort:  

Congratulations @vonaurolacu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 37000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 38000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour