"Frequent dreams about people from my past with whom I have not been in touch for a long time; what does it mean?"

in #dreams6 years ago

Excerpt: often, in our dreams, we meet various people from our past with no clear explanation as to the reason. Why did I dream about him?, we ponder. In many cases, those encounters represent the stage of our spiritual development in which we gather old soul aspects. This stage is extremely important and no one is exempt from it. Mastery necessitates the acceptance of all of past aspects, dark and light, for the wisdom resides in all of them

https://ipfs.busy.org/ipfs/QmYtk2aLmP1mzSHXdFxihZipHXRjYsurqXb6bKjR6Z9iD5

Credit: fubiz

The dream

In recent weeks, I have been dreaming a lot about people who have already left my life long ago. People who on a daily basis do not bother me and do not think about me. People who, as far as I was concerned, are "bygone". The relationship with them did not end up necessarily in a negative way; Our paths simply parted. Could there be a reason? Or is it better not to bother myself with the thoughts of why?

There are no things in common between me and those people. Some of them were good friends, and somehow the connection was cut off many years ago for no particular reason. Maybe the time and the distance are to blame. Some of them belong to my extended and distant family, people with whom I have long ago broken off, even years away, people with whom I have no desire to be in touch, people who have brought me only troubles and negative energies. I do not usually think in my waking hours about the people I meet in my dreams. During my waking hours, I am quite busy with my daily life, and I do not think so much about the past.

I am 54 years old. Married, with mature children. My life is peaceful and even good.


The interpretation

There could be several reasons why people from the past may frequently appear in our dreams.

In your case, in light of the description of the circumstances, I would say that the appearance of those people represents the merger of your aspects. You are also at the right age. What do I mean by that?

In the course of our personal growth as human beings we are required to merge into ourselves parts of different personalities that are characterized by different virtues. For example, if you were in the past, that is another life time in your terms, a general in the army, then that aspect, with its power-oriented personality must be merged in.

Every person in your past represents another side of your whole essence. There are qualities that you love more and those you love less and accordingly the different people that appear in your dreams. At the time of the dream you are communicating with a dimension in which all those parts of personalities exist. Your mind does not always know how to convey the message accurately (ie, to say to you, "Now you meet the part that represents your lack of self-esteem", "Now you meet the unconditional loving part of you" etc.) in order to show you what's happening in your consciousness. Therefore, the images that the mind finds are those of people you have known in the past that carried, to some extent, the same characters of your own personality aspects.

As mentioned, this is a natural and blessed process. Not everyone chooses to go through it, some are deterred or it is not part of their present life pattern. You have chosen growth, towards becoming A master, and hence those dreams.


Card_spade.svg.png1.png

Sort:  

This post really resonates with me. I often dream about people from my past, and there are some recurring characters, including those that I wouldn't have thought would have had such an impact on me at the time. I have always wondered why these particular people seem to have made such an unexpected impact on my dream life when they seem relatively small in my waking life, but I hadn't thought of them in terms of the larger context of who I was at the time. I had a falling out with my best friend a couple years ago that was never repaired despite my efforts, and it's really gotten under my skin. She is one of the more expected characters who frequently makes it into my dreams. One aspect I hadn't considered until I had a revelation about it the other night is that the reason that our parting hurts so much and affects me so deeply is that after 14 years, she knew me better than anyone, even my own family. If someone who knew every nook and cranny within me decided that I wasn't worth having in her life, that must mean there's something terribly wrong with me. On the other hand, I have to consider my place in her life and what those times meant to her, and what I might remind her of--the aspects I'm not in control of. Reading this is making me consider that aspect, which is a little easier to swallow.

Anyway, this comment has already gone on forever, but all I mean to get at is that reading this has added an extra dimension to my own understanding of my dreams and ultimately, my motivations. So, thank you.

As much as it hurts, and especially when the reasons remain unknown, people often leave our lives for their own progress in life and ours. It's a contract. Your friend may return, when both of you are ready.

Interesting perspective @nomad-magus, I also believe that, if you happen to see people (Friends and Family) that have passed on in your dreams, you are truly meeting them and is not just a dream.

I see this in two perspective, the natural and the supernatural

The Natural; It means that something you saw, heard, thought, or did very recently brought that person’s memory to mind, and you are incorporating them into your dreams as you process the odd thoughts.

The Supernatural part means that they are thinking of you, and something in your mind picked up on that.

Indeed.
There are several levels to each dream.

There are qualities that you love more and those you love less and accordingly the different people that appear in your dreams.

I was a bit confused about your response in the beginning. Than it hit me when I read this ☝️. It does make sense. I don’t remember exactly, but I had similar dreams about people from my past. Even recently my wife told me she had such a dream. Now I know what to say 👍 .

כשאני קוראת את פתרון החלומות שלך אני תמיד נזכרת בסיפור יוסף בתנ"ך.

מבחינתי: "כאשר פתר לנו כן היה" ז"א שלרוב מרגיש לי שאני מקבלת את הפרשנות שלך והיא נכונה בעיני למרות שאין לי ניסיון או דברים מוכחים בהקשר.

אפשרות אחת היא שהתחושה הזו באה כביכול ממשהו שנחווה ואולי עכשיו מתרחש מין תהליך של דז'ה וו פנימי שמאשר, כמו שאומרים שפרעה ידע שהפתרון של חלום יוסף הוא הנכון כיוון שהוא כבר נתקל בפתרון הזה בחלום ופשוט שכח...

אפשרות שנייה, פחות מתאימה לי היא לפי העיקרון המובא בתלמוד בשמו של רבי בנאה והיא ש"כל החלומות הולכים אחר הפה", כלומר, פתרון החלום קובע מה שיקרה והפרשנות שלך בעצם גורמת שמה שאמרת מתקיים ונכון ובאמירתך יצרת מציאות וזה פחות סביר בעיני לאישור התחושה של "כן אני מאמינה למה שאתה אומר".
מעניין לא ?

גם וגם :-)
, את מבינה, לכל חלום יש כמה רמות של חווייה. יש את הרמה שקשורה למציאות היום יום
יש את הרובד הפסיכולוגי
ויש את המקום המטה פיסי שבו נחווה חלק אחר של החלום.
ולכן זה טבעי שאת מתחברת מכיוון שיש חלק בך שמקושר לרובד הנפשי-מטה פיסי.

I often dream of victims and saviours, even though my nature is more that of an individualist. I also dream of people with superpowers, monsters and illogical and incomprehensible things, Lovecraftian worlds filled with strange terrors like being eaten by a god or reality's laws changing.

They're pretty neat dreams, but I don't know what to make of them and how to tell what each element is a characteristic of my soul.

Interesting.
As dreams have several layers, parts of them are pointing to real worlds, beyond our known physical realm, and other layers reflect the inner parts of our personality/soul self.
Only you can know which is what.
Enjoy them.

I am inclined to agree with you @nomad-magus. I could also give a similar perspective of your logical reason for this sort of happening. And mine is associated with when I smoke weed. So sometimes when I smoke weed, my thought process becomes extremely deeper, critical, intelligent and sometimes slower and UN-predictable. Like if were in some sort of intellectual conversation, my opinions will be genius minded. I will give you an example. I smoked weed one time and went for a law lecture. Whilst in the lecture, my lecturer asked a problem question. He said:

Suppose your client was driving and stopped by the police, asked for his driving particulars and upon a search into his trunk, the police officer found a human head and have sued him to court for murder, how would you defend your client?

The whole class had no clue. I mean how do u defend a guy who was found with a human head in his trunk? Well I lifted my hands up, and you wont believe what my answer was. I said:

"*I would ask the judge: Did anyone come to the Police Station to report a missing head or body that they found dead with a missing head? If not, then my client has no case to answer!"

Upon giving that answer, the whole class stood up to clap for me. Like although, in a real life scenario my client may not go Scot-free but then the mere fact that I could think about raising such a defense was genius minded.

Okay back to the topic, sorry I digressed a bit. But here is the point am trying to bring out in relation to someone dreaming and seeing people from their past. Sometimes those dreams are influenced by what I call "the state of mind" (although @nomad-magus calls it "personality aspects") whereby your mind links your state of mind to people who relate to that state of mind. For example the guy says he is 54 years old and Married. Assuming one night he went to a strip club and found girls dancing on the poles. Lets assume he drinks that night and goes home. Note that having looked at those strippers dancing, he must have gotten sexually aroused and as such he may dream about a lady sometime back in his life who danced prolly in his room and gave him great sex. Or he may dream about his high school crush dancing sexually.

This sort of thing has happened to me. In my case, it was a friday night and I wanted to go and see my girl friend. I tried to call her, the phone ranged severally but she didn't pick. Next time I tried it was switched off. I immediately entered a State of mind of insecurity so much that I dreamt that I shot some guy whom she had cheated on me with. But she wasn't even in the dream.
So basically that's my opinion- that such occurrences may accrue to one's state of mind.

Weed, strip clubs, sex, law school
You are living the good life, mate 😉
Thanks for this comment 👍

great post upvote and resteem

This a splendid interpretation of the dream. I usually pray after I have each dream and hope that the will of the Lord be done. I usually do not worry about its meaning, however after reading your article I think I would have to change my mind. Very interesting topic of discussion.

Are the interpretations of dreams scientific? Or should we just speculate about them?

Always follow your own judgment

Everyone have a different dream. Dreams are reflection about our daily life. Some people said that dreams are flowers of sleep. In my religion teach that "if you get the bad dream please don't tell to anyone. Just pray to God therefore God will save us from the bad things if dream will be real".
Thanks for sharing Sir @nomad-magus

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @nomad-magus thanks for the interpretation I also get dreams when am associating with people i studied with 8yrs back and am not in contact with these people anymore but in a good way with no hard feelings so this interpretation has helped understand it .True the people we See in our dreams are a reflection of who we want to be.

So every person from the past is a part of my personality that is reflected in my dreams? Is that a way of telling me I'm wrong about certain aspects? This reminds me that all people have virtues and defects, that in a subjective way we judge and maybe we do it ourselves, many grandparents say that if I don't like some attitude, it's because I do it the same way, maybe my dream is warning me to change some attitudes, I still struggle to remember my dreams but I think I'm doing very well, I just want to know if dreams always mean something or maybe at some point they have nothing to do with our life?

Actually, it's not really necessary to "work" with the dreams. They bring a certain type of energy which will affect your life, whether or not you pay attention to the dream. So, it may seem to you that your dream was meaningless, and your mind would not know how to relate to the dreams, while the influence will still be felt in your life.


About the aspects - actually, the people you meet during your awaked reality are also representing parts of your soul self. So the elders are correct! :)

Thank you Mr Magus, I wouldn't have attached any meaning to the dream if I am asked.. Lol

Not that it does not have meaning, at least you have analysed that, but because their was no conversation, activities or interaction that can point to what was happening in the dream.. Smile

But, in general like you mentioned, I don't see any problem stern from the dream...

Indeed.
Most dreams do not even need to be interpreted, just absorbed and released. The effect is valid regardless.

I asked people when I dream of the past and people I met at lower levels of life and I was told is a sign of set back. Can that really be true??

depends on the place that person played in your life. The mind uses known images to deliver the message to you.

Oh ok. Thanks.

dream in my opinion is the flower-bed that has not been obvious in fact. But a dream is not just a flower bed, as there are health benefits to be had from a dream. Dream it could be is the symbol expression of concern experienced by someone in real life. And this is a subconscious experience which involves vision, hearing, thoughts, feelings or other senses when sleeping, especially when accompanied by the rapid eye movements.
Thanks my Teacher @nomad-magus

thank you for @nomad-magus who told me about the dream, based on what you told me I also experienced it, even I experienced it when I did not think about him at all, usually we dream of people, before we sleep we remember him, now still confused, is it all related to life.

Some, not all.

yeah,,That's good content..I also want to know this !!!
Thanks @nomad-magus forsharing

I believe during the night, people's souls leave their physical bodies and wander around in the world and meet other souls from different people. And this is what dreaming is all about in my faith. The souls usually return when someone is about to wake up and so when you wake up, the dream automatically comes to an end. what am trying to say, this particular person is actually meeting up with his former friends. The two parties probably miss each other and decide to come and meet in the night through dreams. So there should not be any worry. Dreams are times to catch up with people in the far world. He should be happy that he meets his ex-friends in sleep. No much meaning in the dream.

It is a good content,,I like this,,I think brain memory reveal the data when it is cool on sleeping,,The Past memories !!!!!
That's awesome system..
Thanks for sharing @nomad-magus

Hi @nomad-magus..
This is a well content,,
A dream is a succession of images, ideas, emotions, and sensations that usually occur involuntarily in the mind during certain stages of sleep.

Thanks for sharing

Great insight and interpretation of such a dream. J now know what dreaming people from my past mean. Dreaming is indeed a natural process that is very vital in our lives as it is a great source for our self discovery and that which revolves around us.

Thanks so much @nomad-magus for handling this phenomenon in a professional way.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

This is a great interpretation.....

But are you a monk?

I really agree with you, dream are said to carry meaningful message; they teaches us what to do sometimes but we don't always get to interpret the message that dream actually convey. I really salute your confidence on this, though I don't really know how to get the message off a dream, I always see it as something not real sometimes.

well, human is is very flexibelity person. so it's can make dullisme, trialisme, etc.

That's a good review on Dream,,, this is a natural and blessed process. Not everyone chooses to go through it, some are deterred or it is not part of their present life pattern. I like this ...
When the time passed,There are many things that just collect memories on Neuron,,Thanks for sharing..
@upvoted
@nomad-magus..

Dream is a great place where you can control everythings. Only need to practise.

i sometime have such that dream. without any clear reason i meet people of my past in my dream. sometime those people never have connection with me in reality. i just see them once in my reality life and then i dream them. there is one situation when i want to dream someone but i never did. it's funny. i think of her (my girl in past time, not now) but never dream her.

Because she is elsewhere. Her energy is not available to you. Release and move on with your life. This is the best think you could do for yourself.

nice advice @nomad-magus.

I would like to ask something same you @ Nomad-mag .. why I each night's dream "very bad. in fact this month fasting month saintly. tapih why I each night in disturb the same Satan.

 6 years ago  Reveal Comment