I had a Dream about Cupcakes...

in #dreemtest4 months ago (edited)

Please do not upvote this post as rewards are declined. This is a test for DreemPort.

Momma made the best cupcakes in the world - melt-in-your-mouth, light, fluffy clouds of buttery-sweet deliciousness. Each birthday, as far back as I can remember, she would hand me an elegantly wrapped box at the breakfast table, tied off with a bow.

Moments later, with a little tug, the red satin loops would slip gently to the table. My fingers would slide through crisp paper, releasing the opulent scent of vanilla and tangy cream cheese frosting. Momma would belt out Happy Birthday. I'd airdrum. We'd giggle til we couldn't breathe. Between sips of hot tea, we'd devour every last red crumb. It was our thing.


I squinted at the blurry date circled on my calendar. One more sleep. Momma was gone, leaving me to pick up the pieces. Birthdays would never be the same. I hugged my pillow tightly - closed my eyes.

I woke with a start, the birthday song playing in my head. Mama's perfume percolated my senses and the taste of red velvet lingered incomprehensibly on my lips. I brushed at imaginary crumbs as the memory faded quickly into the receding night on the tail of a dream.

I smiled and whispered, "Happy birthday to me."

Edit 1: Zoho

Momma made the best cupcakes in the world - melt-in-your-mouth, light, fluffy clouds of buttery-sweet deliciousness. Each birthday, as far back as I can remember, she would hand me an elegantly wrapped box at the breakfast table, tied off with a bow.

Moments later, with a little tug, the red satin loops would slip gently to the table. My fingers would slide through crisp paper, releasing the opulent scent of vanilla and tangy cream cheese frosting. Momma would belt out Happy Birthday, I'd air drum. We would giggle until we could not breathe. Between sips of hot tea, we would devour every last red crumb. It was our thing.
I squinted at the blurry date circled on my calendar; one more sleep. Momma was gone, leaving me to pick up the pieces. Birthdays would never be the same. I hugged my pillow and closed my eyes.

I woke with a start, the birthday song playing in my head. Mama's perfume percolated my senses. The taste of red velvet lingered incomprehensibly on my lips. I brushed at imaginary crumbs as the tail-end of a dream faded quickly into the receding night.

I smiled and whispered, "Happy birthday to me."


Header image Red Velvet Cupcakes by Fudio

Sort:  

Hello @samsmith1971 What have you guys been testing all day?😱

Science hehe

hi @ibbtammy, how are you doing? Any nice plans for the weekend? !Hug 🥰

Lol okay, I can’t wait for you all to be done, can I test this science too?😁

I am doing fine and you?

I’ll basically be resting this weekend you?

hahaha... sick of cupcakes already? !LOLZ I am good thanks. A little tired but the first week of the month is always busier at work for me, and I still have my boys to juggle on top of that, not to mention online stuff 😂🤗 This weekend I plan to rest a fair bit, and hopefully find some time to write too! I need to help my youngest to learn his lines for a play at church on Sunday and will likely end up playing some basketball with him. We have the first CWH sessions tomorrow and Saturday with Alessandra for the February Dreemport collaboration challenge (hoping to make them both!), and on Sunday I have a Trustees AGM for the charity I volunteer with... it's a local playground situated outside my youngest's school. As he will be moving to high school in September, I will slowly be moving away from the charity and allowing others who are parents of younger children at the primary school to move in to help with the running of it. I'll have to tackle my eldest for cuddles and mom-son time at some point this weekend too! Have a wonderful restful weekend, my lovely xx

ps: I just read that back... hm... doesn't sound so restful anymore 😱

What did the icicle say to the other icicle?
Nothing, they just hung out and chilled.

Credit: reddit
@ibbtammy, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of samsmith1971

(2/6)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

hehehe we were actually going to ask some dreemers to test with us - but instead, we decided to just wrap up our test quickly so we could get onto dreemie things :)

i love you @ibbtammy!!!

Ohhhh I see, I would have loved to make my own cake post too and test this Dreemie science though but maybe next time😃

I love you too Dreemie🥰🥰

hahahaha well you can just write a cupcake post for fun! LOLOL

Lol it’s not entirely about the cupcake but the testing!😂😂

Dear @ibbtammy, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @samsmith1971.
(1/3)

LOLOL not just today - but for a few days - you're a very observant dreemer!!! hehehe

Hehehe it was too clear not to miss, although I figured it had to do with the ratings for post submission. I noticed some of my post were ranking 3%

no - actually we changed over to a 5 star score - instead of 1-100% hehehe

there will be a post with all the updates that we've done lately!

you are VERY observant - you dont miss anything! hehehe

Ohhhh I see, here I was thinking it was a glitch and I went into the server to see if anyone was talking about it, since I didn’t see anyone I figured it was gonna change later.

hehehe - no... we had a reason for changing it... i'll share in the update post LOL

I hate red velvet... hehehe but this one had me craving some - and a hug! beautifully written - even though it was just a test!! i felt this one! hehehe

you and Tengo have a thing for red velvet hehehe

he couldn't make his though - because red was too hedonistic LOLOL

hahaha. Can I share a secret? I'm a writer. I've never eaten red velvet in my life!!! 😂😂😂 .... but it's my Oli's fave!

Thank you for getting me to post my first piece of fiction in what feels like forever... even if it was just a test 🥰

Love you! 💗

ps: and that @tengolotodo makes me laugh hehe

Ermmm can everyone partake in this test.
Somehow I feel like dreaming of cupcakes too..😂

hey, Seki 😀If you want, knock yourself out and run riot on the sweet platitudes of cupcakes hehe. We were doing some internal testing for Dreemport. Maybe next time there will be an opportunity for public testing! I'll tag @dreemsteem so that she knows you might be interested if there are any more tests to be performed. Hope you have had a great week! 🤗

Okay, thanks 😂

Such a bittersweet moment, waking up to know it can't happen this side of Heaven. At least you had your birthday moment if only in your dreams ♥️

well... my MC did anyway... it was a piece of fiction after all. I'd love to have a dream that vivid of my mom around my birthday 🤗🙏 !LUV

It certainly seemed like a real story ♥️ I pray it happens for you soon 🙏

!LUV

Thank you, my friend. I did have a dream about her a few days after she passed. It was very peaceful and reassuring 🙏💗 But how lovely to be able to fall back into a time when the people we love were still here in our lives... I'd take a visit from her in a dream for my birthday any year 🥰 !LUV !ALIVE

@wrestlingdesires! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Happy birthday to you, you beautiful cupcake 🧁😘😘😘😘😘👏👏

hehe... not for another 7 months... but I'll take the love... and the cupcake... cos I know it will be vegan coming from you 🥰 !LUV

Is is birthday test? If so - I failed, that's for sure :D

Cupcakes is a good bait. I would say anything cat-related would work perfectly :D

lol not a birthday test... way too early for that... about 7 months too early haha. And cats, huh? I should have guessed that one! !LUV

Not sleeping very well, aren't we?

Besides - birthday cupcakes? Meh!

Yep, cats. Possibly dogs. Will sell itself:))) Just couple of cute, fuzzy (and generated) faces and done!

Too much sleep Sunday 😴, and no real sleep Monday 👀😱... today I was so tired and under the weather that I felt nauseous! 🤪 And, I required rest! 🙏

No cats or dogs just yet lol... and you only got cupcakes cos of Ms. Dreems hehe. 😂😂😂 !LUV

Monday never work sleeping wise, is just how it is:)

Hope that till end of the week you will be right as rain!