Does Pre-Gaming Before Going Out to the Bar Actually Save You Money?

in #drinking6 years ago (edited)

I don't go out to the bars that often because yeah I want to save money. I love total dives. I don't want to go to all the new places that gouge you with $7 ten ounce drinks. People will always say you should pregame, as in drink cheaper store bought beer at a house before heading out. I don't really buy this concept.

I question whether this actually reduces the time I spend at the bar. I might need to point out that bars near me stay open until 4 am, so under almost no circumstances will I be there until close anyway. But let's say I'm going to see some bands that are playing from 9 until midnight (my plan tonight). So if I plan at drinking at the bar for these 3 hours, how will I save money by drinking a few at home first? It's not like I'm going to drink 2 here, 2 there and be like "yep, that's it, I'm done drinking now!" I mean I'm there at a bar. I'm just going to buy more drinks.

DSC02811 (2).JPG

Now, arriving already with a couple drinks in me, aren't I a bit more uninhibited at cost control? Am I more likely to buy someone else a drink? Am I going to maybe be drinking a little quicker than if I arrived sober to have my first beer?

Of course, having two or more beers before getting there just means I will be drunker by the time I leave the bar. And that's how bad late night food options happen instead of just going home and grabbing a snack from the fridge.

Do you pre-game? Do you think you spend more or less money doing so? Please comment.

Sort:  

I can think of one good reason for me to pregame as it reduces my social anxiety by not having to be totally sober when I get to the bar. However, this doesn't save me money as I will be at a faster drinking pace having already drank a couple.

I quit drinking many years ago. But when I did pre game drinking I ended up drunker at the end of the night. And had lots of problems.

Exactly. You confirm what I was thinking in regards to pre-gaming just making things worse.