A reminder for everyone.

in #driving7 years ago

Hi. I had a near death experience this morning in a minor car accident. I was in Hayward, driving down to work, tired from waking up too early, and driving way longer than I should at that state. I'm okay, only the bumpers are popped off.
But this near death experience has been more than the awful morning, anxiety attacks and more.
I'm currently researching 1) how autonomous cars work (Audi's testing their autonomous cars in New York- the first company to do so) and 2) how cryptocurrency works and I'm also trying to (there is so much going on) keep up with how its being integrated into the world, and also different cryptos in different parts of the world and 3) thinking about developing sensors in cars that can detect driver fatigue, with the mission, I'm going to say it now, NO ACCIDENTS. EVER. AGAIN. EVER.
Here are some things that I just want to share because I love you all so much, that are also messages to myself:

  1. Don't fucking text and drive. Don't gamble with your life or others. There are millions who have and lost.
    Everyone knows that feeling, I can text, it's okay. I'm just sending something quick.
    Yah, same. No.
  2. Take a break if you're feeling tired, or daydreamy, or you feel like your brain is starting to calibrate the road and everything to be constant and boring and nothing new. Does that make sense? I have to look up more about driver fatigue and how to prevent it when you're driving alone, but it seems like the best way is just to pull off and take a rest.
  3. Don't rush driving.. Nothing is more important than your safety. Don't drive faster if you want to make that meeting on time. Make the meeting because you left earlier. (But fuck I left pretty early already (7:30 am). ) Even if you're late, what's more important, you?? your fucking life??? or that meeting? Honestly, in the moment, it seems like that meeting is really important and the car is just the means to get there, but it's so important to continue to drive safely, consciously, and thoughtfully.
    I read so many articles today, starting with defensive driving tips and techniques for teens. I'm determined to learn every single thing I can about defensive driving and practice it once I can find more resources. Anyone got any? I can't just rely on my father's words that come as we're driving through my neighborhood anymore. Needs concreteness.
  4. Cryptocurrency is changing the world. So are autonomous cars. Go research that shit and make this imperfect world a little better.
  5. Above all things, love each other, and don't get angry. Speak thoughtfully. Listen attentively. Give each other a chance.
    Michelle fucking out
    -throws the mic to Tesla-
    P.S. If you're into autonomous cars and cryptocurrency, or want to hear about it and keep up with it with me let me know <3
Sort:  

So sorry that you had to experience that. Honestly, your reasons is mostly why I dread sometimes driving on the road is because of all the other careless drivers out there. Not saying that I'm anywhere perfect as a driver myself, but still, people don't realize that they are flying so fast in a vehicle that essentially is made from the same material as soda cans.

I also had a 21 year old friend who got killed when she was run over by a drunk and high driver ... I'll always remember that. Changed my life, and totally made me re-prioritize what is most important.

One of my best friends in high school was also killed by a drunk driver. It's just the worst situation that we can have in transport, and I can't wait for the world (and I, haha) to work on this issue. A lot of psychology goes into driving as well, for example, the issues of driver fatigue and habituation, as well as ego issues with teens thinking they're more confident than they should be, and texting while driving. It was my mistake, and it could have been fatal. Now, I can only hope that any time I'm on the road, I'll get to where I need to go safely.. Thank you for your thoughtful comment.

Yes unfortunately for too many people behind the wheels ... they simply only "think" about themselves, and not about anyone else .... its such a dangerous attitude and is more prevalent in some countries than others. In Italy, Indonesia, Thailand, and India ... are examples of countries where its so bad on the roads ...