Disconnect to Connect

18623267_10213446430983481_3356936023974131506_o.jpg

Let's face it, the world has changed a lot in the last twenty years. We have entered into a technological age where our society is inundated with information 24/7 thanks to the internet and cell phones. Too much?

And while there is so much more I could say on this topic regarding how technology is affecting society, I will just say that the influence is great. Pew let out some statistics a few years ago regarding a survey of 18 - 29 year old's finding that 59% felt their online experience influenced their thoughts and identity a great deal. Surprisingly, the 65 years and older group weren't that much different coming in at 38%.

I have always said that 'we are our environment' (that goes for the company we keep) so it truly begs the question, "How is this transition to a technological age" affecting our society as a whole? What messages are we receiving and where does mass mindset end and individual thought begin?

Being a deep thinker, introvert and empath, I can't deal with the pervasive nature of information overload for too long. I have to pull back and disconnect every once in a while in order to recharge my batteries and check in with 'me'. It's a necessity. And I think it's important that everyone try to do this every once in a while to re-anchor themselves and find balance.

Over the years, I've adopted a few ways of doing this for myself.

Probably my favorite is hiking with my camera and kids in nature. There is something very balancing about being in nature alone and exploring all the little miracles of life that goes on in the secret world of the forests.

Sometimes, we have to disconnect in order to connect.

“I like it when a flower or a little tuft of grass grows through a crack in the concrete. It's so fuckin' heroic.” ~ ― George Carlin

The topic of Disconnection is just another Drop in the Ocean. To find out more about participating in @buddyup 's next topic, you can find out more -----> HERE

Sort:  

I so f'in love that George Carlin quote! Another great post Wings. I love sharing words with you. x

Thank you, @juliamulcahy :) I could have shared so many beautiful and poetic quotes, but alas George Carlin's spoke to me more today. And it's true! ;)

George Carlin :)

Think I would also like the forest, our trees here are sucky city trees no personality haha. Great reminder to find balance in our lives and some really nice nature photos the snail looks badass like from a story.

!tipuvote 0.3

Great quote... a little reminder that 'life finds a way'

It sure does, @darrenfj Comforting

The challenge is always to find a balance, going into nature is the very much needed grounding that I find works for me too. Your photos reflect the beauty of nature. Love the golden ratio pattern on the snail.

Hi @angiemitchell :) So happy that we share this love of nature and its balancing effects. Yes, the golden ratio! I had a centipede photo of the gold ratio, too - I should have shared it. The wonders of it all!

This post is supported by $0.14 @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.