Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 176 Part 1 (Podcast Version)

in #dsound6 years ago


This is a podcast version of a video from Day 176 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' six hundred and sixty-five days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods.

'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

The original video can be found here:

Jacob Goes Off Grid 176 Part 1.png

In this video I talk about where I worked most of the day burning a big pile of brush. I explain how the pile did not want to burn very well because it had gotten rained on so much and how I created a 'hot spot' and just kept rolling everything into it.

I talk about being kept up late again the previous night by people in their vehicles and the dogs barking at them.

I talk about how I considered going out by the gate at night and waiting to see who keeps doing it but I explain why I do not.

I talk about how people had gotten used to partying on the property and generally doing whatever they want but hopefully eventually enough of them will figure out that someone is here with dogs and will stop trying to come out here.

I talk about being almost out of food and dog food and how I have to figure something out to make my financial situation better.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

Tip: If you have trouble listening to the audio you can always download it directly.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Congratulations @hydroflux! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!