Original Song/Independent Release - "Tonight"

in #dsound7 years ago (edited)



One of my songs that I am most proud of, it holds a lot of meaning to me - both lyrically and melodically. Songwriting isn't always easy, but for some reason this song came to me as smooth as butter.

"Tonight" (2016)

To have it all,
sometimes you've gotta risk it all.
Sometimes you've gotta hit a wall,
will you catch me if I fall?
I want it all.

If we end up with it all,
will you be there when I call?
Make my troubles feel so small,
say you'll catch me if I fall.
I want it all.

Tonight, I'm dancing in the moonlight.
Tonight, I'm standing in the flames.
Tonight, I'm laying all my cards out on the line.
Tonight.

I'll give my all.
I'll be the one to break your fall.
When the stars are all aligned,
I am yours and you are mine.
Yeah we've got it all.

Tonight, We're dancing in the moonlight.
Tonight, We're standing in the flames.
Tonight, I'm laying all my cards out on the line.
Tonight.

Tonight I'm gonna risk it all,
take my chances, big or small.
Tonight I'm gonna give my all,
I've got you there to break my fall.
I know we're gonna make it thru,
you got me and I've got you.
I promise not to let you down,
can't hold me down,
I'd risk it all...
Tonight.



► Listen on DSound

► Listen from source (IPFS)

Sort:  

make song one for me baby

Good quality! All I can ask is for you guys to please consider tuning to 432Hz : )

Thanks ✌🏼

Haha, not a fan of 440 eh?

No, too sharp for me ;)

someone please explain to me why this woman does not have a record deal...

Maybe we should just start a label.. ?! ;)

Wow! Blown away. Can seriously imagine a country star singing that. Have you thought of sending it off to a label or in a competition? Reckon some light strings in the middle would be the icing on the cake. Well done!

gee thanks! I can always imagine/hear my songs being played on the radio or in a stadium (but I'm very biased, obviously) It means A LOT to have other people like and support my music as well. I wanted to add some steel guitar to this track, maybe one day if I ever revamp it. As for sending to a label, I have no strong connections to anyone who could get it in the right hands. I have thought about becoming a member of a music licensing company, thought that may help get it out there. Most of my songs are so personal to me, it's hard to imagine someone else singing them.. BUT if the right opportunity came around, I would pass it on.

The music industry is probably one of the hardest to break into - especially when you are a tiny, independent blip on the radar such as myself :)

I don't know if competitions are your thing? I really need to finish some of my songs off to send them in! There's loads if you Google "Nashville songwriting competition", (just research for the best ones )and the JohnLennon (jlsc.com) one, which had a U.S winner "Alcoholoday". I think their usually about $10 dollars for a submission per song. With cash prizes, recognition and possible contracts! Also Taxi.com might be worth checking out. Good luck!

I’ve submitted music to a few online competitions in the past, also tried a lot of live auditions. Haven’t gotten a bite from anything like that.

About taxi, I’ve been on the fence about joining- debating over a year now lol, I should just try it, though the memership fee is a bit steep for me at the moment.... however, I suppose I could use some of my earned Steem rewards to pay for that!

Shame about no response from the competitions. I'd keep trying (There's some good legit free ones out there too). I read in some songwriting book that a famous country star made about 40 submissions all rejected till someone found it and it was a hit.

Yeah Taxi does cost a bit. I like how they give you critique and feedback on all the songs. I may give it a go too if/when I can afford it!

Very nice!

Thanks @drewley :) I'm sure your piano skills could really add a nice touch to all my songs.

Haha that would cool. We should collaborate one of these days

yes, since I have no key skills other than maybe "chopsticks", I need to hire in a piano player to record haha

I gotta admit, you are one of my favorite singer-songwriters here on steemit, and in the wider world for that matter. You bring something fresh to the table, as it were.
I get a vaguely country-ish feel from this song, but I can hear how it could have a sound similar to the Eagles with a little tweaking.
A really creative producer could probably give this song a modern pop sound, but that may, or may not, be worth thinking about.

🙏🏻 So glad to hear that, thank you for saying so!

I grew up with my parents listening to the Eagles alll the time, and I never complained ;) So I think it’s safe to say they may have influenced my musical stylings a bit.

very nice, appreciate original music!!

Thank you @seanx :) music is a universal language ✌🏼