Your Creative Milestones | Real Talk Ep. 9

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Do you look at your creative milestones? We are often our own worst critic, but in reality, we need to look how far we've come. Let's you and I have a little real talk about it in today's video :)

With Gratitude,
Captain Bob

Steemit Divider.png

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Brad_Beaird
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bradbeaird/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yes, you are right.
I think sometimes for us it becomes very improtant to see and examine how far we have come and am I better than before?
We always keep underestimating ourselves.

Agree completely.

Nice
Well done, great words. We have to believe in ourselves
Thanks for sharing your video with us

Agreed! From where I started to where I'm at, both in quality and in content, it is only getting better. As soon as the creative juices rise, the fingers dance. Thanks a lot for another boost of encouragement. Good job! At school, where I teach, I often ask the students to self-evaluate and told them exactly that, we are often our own worse critic as we have a natural tendency to be overtly critical of our own work and ourselves...

Namaste :)

Thank you and I love the term "fingers dance" haha. So true.

You rock, Bob. You've definitely become more confident with each video. Also Gary Vee is the best. You should watch some of his best videos, so inspiring

Thanks Kevin. Perhaps I'll dig in one day here and watch a bit more of his stuff.

A killer of creativity is complacent and feeling relaxed over achievement. After reaching a milestone or a set of objectives, individuals neglect that the world is constantly evolving and there is need to always adapt to changes. The best manner of adaptation is constant improvement and innovation.

I mostly agree with your statement. I think at times, we forget to celebrate our small victories. In fast a fast paced world, we want to move to the next thing, especially in the online world, so sometimes, we just need to take a deep breath and be ok with today :) Thank you for watching and commenting :)

I agree, somehow people fail to value their growing business from the angle that everyone expects high profit and expenses keeps increasing. An average individual will rush into the trending industry offering the highest benefit.

Thanks for the words of encouragement Skipper. I hope you realize just how much it's helping.

Glad to hear it!

I just went back and saw my first two videos! Patting my back now. It's true. Do the thing and you shall have the power.

Amazing when you reflect a bit :)

When I first started doing videos I realized how therapeutic is was just to be in front of a camera. Now I do webcam journaling every day just because it's so effective in helping me sort out my thoughts and emotions. That record button is such a powerful thing!

Great presentation here @captainbob

I'm definitely own worst critic. I've talked myself out of countless opportunities.

Thankfully, this is something I'm getting over as I'm getting older... Wish it wouldn't have taken so long, but you can't turn back time!

Yes! No going back, but so much to look FORWARD to :)

I'v done several videos in the past that I wanted to upload onto YouTube but decided not too. It was mostly due to me not being dissatisfied with my video editing skills. I guess I should practice more with shorter videos and then just get a technique on lock.

4 things I've been recently contemplating and shared with some others that I'll share with you as well:

  1. Do more and think less
  2. Whatever it is you are doing, it doesn't need to be perfect...it needs to be posted.
  3. People are waiting for you, waiting to hear from you!
  4. Excuses only satisfy the people who make them.

I say these constantly as much for myself as for everyone else as well, hahaha.

I can totally relate to the term "Creative Atrophy", if you don't use it, you lose it! When I first left college back in 2012, I was creating all sorts of things in terms of web design, but as time moved on and I got more involved in media, and less involved in creating web pages, my creative web design skills definitely weren't what they once were.

I also think its great to look back at our past work and compare it to the work we do today. This not only hopes us to realize how far we've come and what we've done better, but we can do better now to improve the work we do even more. Thanks for the awe inspiring video Bob :)

Thank you for watching and the comments. Reflection is often one of our least used traits I believe. I think we all need to reflect a bit more :)

Every time I stop by your page, I get inspired, every single time! You have a way of speaking that really puts things into perspective and encourages me wih each video and each topic you cover.

Your insight on how we gauge ourselves with milestones but never quite give ourselves credit for self improvement on here is so right. You are someone who has come a long way like many of us, thanks for sharing, motivating and being such a great person to follow.

See you on the next one!

Dude. Thank you. I mean that genuinely. I really appreciate it.

Ohh, no coffee sip at the end today? ;D It has become kind of your brand. I think it’s so good to be your own biggest critic. It’s much more motivative if it’s you who keeps pushing you and not somebody else telling you do this, do that, change this.
This way you can also surprise other people with your new creations and improvements. At this point I just wanted to say that you’ve become one of my favorites here on DTube. Your videos are such a huge motivation. Great work Captain!

Haha! The coffee sip....perhaps becoming my trademark....you just never know! Thank you, Matthew, for the compliment and I certainly appreciate all your comments, feedback, and your contribution to the community. I love your creations and I'm so impressed by the milestones you've reached already!

No creative milestones here! I'm an amateur with my iPhone 6s😜

Professionals get paid for their work and you've now been paid as a creator. You, my friend, are no longer an amateur :)

Congratulations @captainbob, this post is the forth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1685 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $12396.94. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Muy buen trabajo, me gusto el vídeo. Gracias por compartir.

Thanks for following along :)

Nice Post, I will upvote you!
If you want more votes you

can read here / https://steewit.com/steemiteducation/@goldendawne/upvote-exchange-on-steem-follower-lacking-categories-and-time-to-boot-it-up-here

about Upvote exchange and other things!