Solar Installation and Power On - A Deep Freeze Comes ALIVE on the HOMESTEAD!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


VIMEO VERSION (in case Dtube doesn't work)

We've had this deep freeze lent out to another family for a while and now we are going to put it to work on the homestead. Up until now, we haven't had a way to keep things cold other then lowering them down into our 19th century well or just buying ice in town each week. But now we are hoping to make our own ice and keep certain food items cold. This will come in real handy when the family milk cow comes into season.

Zac walks you through the entire setup process. It's really quite simple.

  1. Solar Panels are connected to the Combiner Box
  2. Combiner box is connected to the Charge Controller
  3. Charge Controller is connected to the Batteries
  4. Batteries are connected to the Inverter
  5. Inverter is connected to the Freezer.

It's really simple but it can seem intimidating. Especially when you think that you're dealing with electricity and electricity has been known to kill people who do not handle it safely. It can also be intimidating when you think of the cost of the components. The Midnite classic being used in this video retails for almost $700 on Amazon and if you hook it up wrong or don't pay attention to the instructions, you can fry it and that is an expensive mistake. But learning and researching and adhering to instruction will save you a lot of grief and mistakes.

So here is our installation of the small homestead deep freeze with a new solar array.

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

Solar Panels are connected to the Combiner Box
Combiner box is connected to the Charge Controller
Charge Controller is connected to the Batteries
Batteries are connected to the Inverter
Inverter is connected to the Freezer. instead of the human body connection song this is the solar grid connection version :D well done now to watch the video thanks for sharing :D

Yeah, I can't help but always think about that song.

Dtube isn't playing very well at all. Either not enough bandwidth to keep buffered or something is throttling them...

That is why I posted the VIMEO version to watch. I'll keep doing both until they fix their issues.

Took me a long time to just get a video up to play. I use my YouTube account as a back up I have a link to Dtube (can't embed ) and an embed YouTube on my website. At least on my last article on MiteGone treatment of mites.

agreed. im sure they are working out the bugs

I had considerable trouble viewing the video due to network problems- your write-up was thorough enough, that watching the video wasn't really necessary as I'm familiar with these designs; your system was nicely laid out, and the video well made.
It seems like the combiner, representing around half your system cost, is substantial overkill- until you hook up more panels and batteries and take advantage of that second circuit.

I ended up wiring up a third panel and putting them all in series. That puts that controller very much in play as its rated for no more than 200 volts and in winter with dropping temps, the voltage spikes. I hope that makes sense.

I like it..
I wonder how it'd work on a mobile application (houseboat)

It would work fine. Same setup.

Stupid Question #1: The Combiner Box is just another circuit breaker box used for that specialized function?

Correct!

Zac who did you go to for solar panels?

We chose Grape Solar mostly because they had great reviews online. Also because they are sold through the home depot website and if you get a broken one delivered, all you have to do is return it to the store and they will ship another one to you....ask me how i know. :) You can find cheaper panels online but I liked being able to have the home depot warranty.

Congratulations @mericanhomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Excellent video. I live off-grid as well and power a freezer with solar, but in the deep winter, I still have to use the back up generator some. More panels are next on my list.

Congratulations @mericanhomestead! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for the informative video. I think a deep freeze is a good investment for the homestead and to have it solar powered is bonus.

O.O I'm not saying you should start uploading there again ... But HEY your youTube channel is playing for me this morning !

Yeah, the videos are still there but I'm locked out. They won't let me back in and told me initially I had 2 months before it was all taken down.

wow. take them down asap. they're in there making money off of you. I was definitely seeing ads. If you have someone you can trust on a fast Interenet, let them download and save off to a USB.

and WAIT! You have decent speed don't you! Just unconventionally.

I would volunteer but you don't know me from Eve ... that said, I'm hoping to go to the BIG city of Lexington on Thursday. But no I'm not willing to scrape them off one by one, either. So. Yeah. Find someone you know. WAIT Are you saying they're not even letting you pull the videos with the whatever tool they have available?

Great video. This setup does not seem hard to implement at all. I will have to try it myself. Keep up the great work tho. Cheers

I also have to comment- complex systems CAN be pretty much plug-and-play, but they have to be packaged with VERY thorough automated monitoring and control integration (as a commercial COTS, pretty expensive, but since it can all be done with AT MOST 2 pi's and an added I/O bridge (as long as you have internet/intranet) not much extra at all) and people will STILL have to actually pay attention to the flags and alerts the monitoring systems send- and the kind of average unwillingness to devote attention to. not the internal workings, but just the status and operation of something that's actually somewhat important in life (that a sufficient supply of clean electricity is available) is unfortunately not surprising.

Once again, awesome video with awesome info! Upvoted and resteemed!

DTube Kaput :(

I posted the Vimeo version as well! check it out!

Shared to show it working along with instructions!

Nice post! It is lots of work to maintain but it is worth it in the long run. There will be solar on our homestead when we get things done here.

What exactly must be done to maintain something like this? I'm just curious. I would like to get some solar power working at my cabin and would like to know what is involved in maintenance since the cabin can be empty for weeks / months at a time.

I just want to thank American Homestead for guiding me to Steemit through YouTube! Also, this is a VERY useful vid! Upvoted, and resteemed!

Sorry, but watching you run wire into an electrical box without any kind of strain relief made me cringe a little. Please add some protection to the wires so the insulation can't rub on the metal edges of the boxes, just in case.