The GRAPE HARVEST Is IN! - Visiting a Local Vineyard and Picking Grapes For Wine!

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Vimeo Option (In case Dtube doesn't load)


It's every year that the grapes come in and the farmers harvest their crops for sale on the market. This vineyard is not far from the homestead and so we decided to stop by and pick some berries and take them home to make some wine. Fermenting is easy and has been done for thousands of years by people around the world.

This vineyard grows concord grapes and sells most of them to the wine and fruit juice industry. It's really fun picking your own food and it can give you ideas if you ever want to grow your own. Its just another day on the homestead and summer started to draw to a close. The harvest season is finishing up and growers and gardeners are pulling in the last of the harvest before winter comes.

PICTURE OF A FULL LUG OF GRAPES! (with cutters)
grapes.jpg

We have made a lot of wine on the homestead, if you want to learn to make wine, we have 3 helpful tips that will give you a great start so you don't make some of the more common mistakes!

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

glyphsolar.jpg EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR glyphsolar.jpg


► Watch on DTube
► Watch Source (IPFS)

Sort:  

I'd love to make my own wine. It's one of the things that's difficult and cumbersome to do when living in a city. Not enough space! My family used to ferment over 300 gallons of wine every year in the family home. They carried the habits and rituals of the old country with them into the new world. I'd like to get back to some of that one day. I love modernity, but making your own food is extremely satisfying. Thanks for sharing.

Yeah that is for sure. You need some space to do it all and set your containers.

yasss! That is amazing. Hey how long does homemade wine generally last? I had a two neighbors give me two different bottles of their homemade wine and I have yet to drink them...

20 or 30 years if it was done correctly. Longer even.

really though? I heard it has alot of sugar though and can cause it to go bad. I was told if you shake it and the bubbles go away the faster they go away the higher the alcohol content.

Thanks for another great video. It is good to see you have found a friendly home on Steemit. It does appear that Dplayer would benefit from additional bandwidth, or perhaps a better codec. Hopeful it will improve over time.

Yeah, there are always bugs in the beginning. With as many people that are upset at Youtube, the market will provide a solution at some point.

Shared to show using what is around you for your homestead!

THANKS WEETREE!

One of the things I miss the most about being back in Indiana was all the concord grapes that would be on our vines. We could also go up to Michigan and get gobs of delicious grapes.

I've heard they grow the best concord grapes up north.

They are one of my favorite foods!

Homemade anything is always better than store bought! I'm sure you can agree with that!

awesome! those are beautiful!

I think I will be trying to grow grapes on my homestead, the wife wants some concord grapes. I would like to try and make wine myself.