DTube - YouTube Censorship, Elsagate And The Future Of Net Neutrality

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


YouTube will begin purging unwanted accounts with artificial intelligence algorithms that have been designed to remove harmful content. But what is stopping the largest video sharing platform in the world from profiling the political opinions of their users in an effort to silence them? The answer is nothing and in this video Dan Dicks of Press For Truth explains why we must do everything we can to maintain net neutrality now more than ever so that free market alternative solutions like DTube can thrive.

Support Independent Media:
Patreon ➜ http://www.patreon.com/PressForTruth
Patreon Alternative ➜ https://pressfortruth.ca/donate
Paypal ➜ https://www.paypal.me/PressforTruth
Bitcoin ➜ 13oNiHUNGn9vdfv7MT5kjwe7np9bwf5ccv
my wallet.png
Ethereum ➜ 0xEce2AEf1F26373a00BDC7243d1201a98578CC67e
my ether wallet NEW.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

that is why i use @dtube. we are clever and cute civilians of the world wide web and .com and .io and .js and .onion... we will live in #blockchain. because we are free with decentralized systems. we are in love #freedom.

What is net neutrality?

Some just told me they heard the government is trying to steal the internet from us, iy yi yi

It's about keeping the Internet open to all of us on a level playing field. The big corporations, like Verizon, Comcast, AT&T, and Time Warner, are trying to get control over the Internet. The head of the FCC is a former Verizon big shot, and he is all for ending Net Neutrality. He's a sell-out! You can go to BattleForTheNet.com to learn more. If you're in the US, there is also a way to Tweet your representatives with one click from the site. It's very important for all of us. Please at least Tweet about it, preferably to your elected representatives, and try to get others to do the same.

Thanks for your good explanation. it sounded like this big corporations wanted to monopolize it.

You're welcome.

More and more people are starting to see Google/Facebook/Amazon, as well as others for what they truly are. I saw a while back that Amazon had a symbolic 'book-burning,' and stopped offering some (70) books. These books showed Jews in a negative light, so Amazon decided, for everyone, that they shouldn't be read. I emailed their customer service to offer my opinion, and they just sent me a $10 gift card in an effort to buy me off.

I absolutely despise Google, Facebook, Amazon, and Twitter. 'Free Speech' on their terms, is not Free Speech! We must make great sites like Steemit and Dtube flourish, and make the evil ones be nothing but a bad memory!

Thanks for your post. Sorry if it triggered me a bit. lol

Upvoted, and I was already following.

Steemit has already become more and more my go to website daily and less and less YouTube as I see DTube grow. I plan to start making my own videos on DTube soon enough. This is literally game changing stuff and I am so happy I stumbled upon it as early as I did. It's amazing that no matter how hard they try to silence our free speech, people come up with platforms and technology like this to keep the game going. Let keep on steemin folks.

Dtube video always great

I feel like DTube will replace YouTube in a few years. YouTube has so many problems that DTube solves:

Censorship...Like you said, YouTube censors a lot of the creators that they don't support and even control the trending page to manipulate what others see. DTube, obviously, doesn't have that problem and doesn't manipulate any of the content.

Monetization...YouTube has had quite a few problems with monetization lately. Many people who have controversial tags in their videos have had their videos demonitized, and this also plays a big part in censorship on YouTube. DTube, on the other hand, doesn't have that problem...hell, you can even post NSFW videos on there and monetize them.

Ad revenue...I'm don't make YouTube videos, but apparently, recent ad revenue has been a big problem for many people on the platform. DTube has quite a good revenue, and you don't need that many subs to get a good amount of money.

Really enjoyed watching your vid and reading your blog post :D.

Would be greatly appreciated if you could provide any kind of feedback on my blogs, whenever you get a chance. It will encourage me to keep doing better and help me on my journey. Thanks!

Regards,
@inspirationalrag

I am a believer for sure

YouTube censors al most any YouTube movie end and also cuts ranges

This is why I don't let my kids watch youtube. If dtube is to be the new platform, they'll definitely not be on dtube. Lack of censorship altogether would make the internet a dangerous place for kids. As we move into such a technologically evolved society, it is important that parents educate themselves, and govern their own internet connections by setting blocks if they are going to let their children roam the web. I think one problem is many parents / people don't care to govern their own internet, whether it's lack of knowledge or oversight, while their kids are exposed to content they should not be viewing. It reminds me of the over reaction of Kyle's mom from southpark. This actually happens, and the end result is giving the government too much control. Now we have this going on when it was originally up to the parents to protect their kids, not the government.

DTube is end for Youtube bruh !

Human intelligence is much stronger than artificial intelligence and must be a new free platform in order not to continue scenario youtube and google ...

D.tube the YouTube killa, has been making some very good progress. YouTube and google are out of control or wait are they in control. Hmmmm

Somewhat in control for now, yes, but people have had enough of it. Steemit and Dtube offer TRUE FREE SPEECH. Screw YouTube!

Oh ya I feel their days are numbered with the amount of people waking up to their doings.

Yep, it'll take some time, but you're right, people are figuring things out.

You tube sucks these days. I used to spent 3-4 hours a day , now less than that for the week.
They recommend the same videos again and again and they are old videos. Something is going wrong with their shit.

People also have been asking for more tools to control the kids and parental control for ever without results. I wish some one will come up with an app to do that. to be able to block some channels.

Dab gum it man, I have had a bunch of my accounts suspended or terminated because I'm not a left wing liberal. If Dtube resolves this I will be one happy camper. You tube is very much into censorship, as a libertarian I don't dig that !!

Yep, Google/YouTube very much has an agenda. If you're a far-out leftist, with ideas that will continue to destroy the country, then YouTube, Facebook, Twitter, and Amazon, they'll all embrace you. If you're a level-headed, decent, thinking person with 'normal' values and ideas, you're a NAZI, and your Free Speech must be squelched!

I'm skeptical of this whole "net neutrality" debacle. The companies saying that it's under threat right now are companies like Google and Twitter, the biggest offenders against free speech on the Internet. They have a lot to lose if their network costs go up. The current FCC proposal is merely to rollback an Obama era rule instituted in 2015.

I just upvote your post because your Dtube videos are great

Hi there @pressfortruth, i am so happy to see you have adopted the DTUBE platform of video sharing ! Glad too to see that you are finding now your just rewards for your work and word to the world ! Steem On !

I got my video on YouTube about making a wooden christmas box demonetized after about 1000 views. I got it back after a manual review. This also happened to my previous video as well. There is nothing controversial at all about my channel, I don't even swear at all. It's as family friendly as it gets. I follow the guidelines carefully, but still this happens. Are they trying to get rid of smaller channels?

This video is so buggy, even after the video is fully buffered, it continues to lag after every 5 seconds

That's why i leave YouTube.

you made some really great points in this video. we must decentralize the internet. keep making good content like this and you will go far in life!