You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oud improvisation

in #dtube4 years ago

Cool yours is from egypt just like mine. I initially got a nice ornamental oud from syria but the bridge started warping so the seller (maurice ouds) let me exchange it for a better quality shehata oud. Though it is not as ornamental it plays and sounds much better. I am dreading changing the strings though...

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Egyptian oud owners high five 👏
Maurice's oud shop seems to have good service, I'll keep that in mind if mine ever needs to be replaced.

Yeah changing the strings does take a while, but it's quite worth it.
Do you double the lower string, or keep it single? It seems it's usually kept single but I don't see the point, it sounds great while double, and otherwise its volume is weak compared to the others.

Maurice is pretty good for ouds and darbukas. I think he is related to the shehata oud maker in egypt. I keep the top string doubled, though I had to carve a wider notch in the floating bridge to space them farther apart to avoid the two heavy strings buzzing against eachother if you hit it too hard it was an easy fix. I have mine tuned F A d g c f .