Oud improvisation

in #dtube4 years ago (edited)


I've been practising playing the oud for the last month, a wonderful instrument that's similar to a lute but with a deeper body and fretless neck.

I haven't learned an actual song yet but it's very fun to improvise on. The sound is very expressive, like a fretless bass but higher and easier to play chord on.

The video editor widened the image for some reason, sorry about that.

It was filmed with a Sony a77 camera, Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 lens, and recorded through a mic in Cubase.

-aoi


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

my sort of music. I impressed to see how the orient music I like is being born with a simple improvisation.... is it simple, btw, or only looks like that?
awesome, once again. up.
!DERANGED

Thanks for listening and for the nice comment!

You're into middle eastern music? Me too, particularly Persian music. One of my favourite instrument is the santur.

And yes the improvisation is quite simple, otherwise this beginner wouldn't have been able to play it 😅

yes! these harmonies/textures are up to me. there was time, I was listening a lot to Nusrat Fatekh Ali-Khan... (nowadays I dont...) Muslimgause is one of my favourite artists, still.

if you'd be intrested I can share an intresting collection of pop (yes, pop... retro-pop) songs of iranian origin. i assume it is from 70-80-es.

I'd be interested in the Iranian pop songs! And I'll listen to the artists you mentioned. Thank you.

Something you might like:

thanks! I will check it gladly.

this is the link:
https://yadi.sk/d/MLmweQpT3JxEsr

some tracks by Muslimgauze, I assorted a while ago
https://yadi.sk/d/G1wguiTMctZir
he have developed a few styles/genres thru years, dont judge him by the few tracks... he is pretty different. and a lot of his LPs may not feel great but some are pretty sufficient and intresting. some are a pure noise of the desert sand, like 'Azzazin' (1996)

ps. dtube link doesnt work (I am getting the message: uploader prohibited it). youtube link is working.

Oh thanks for the info, that's because the YouTube video was set to not be embed, by mistake. Fixed it.

I wasnt sure if its mistake or not... glad my notice was a help :P

Whoohoo epic instrument. Where is yours from?

Posted using Partiko Android

It is :D

It's from soundsoforient.com , a Gawharet el Fan. It's cheap but I'm very happy with it; it sounds nice, it's easy to play (strings are not too high compared to the fingerboard), and it mostly stays tuned.

Yours is probably better quality but over my budget, looked at your videos when shopping for one. And the design was "instrumental" in drawing me to this one too.

Cool yours is from egypt just like mine. I initially got a nice ornamental oud from syria but the bridge started warping so the seller (maurice ouds) let me exchange it for a better quality shehata oud. Though it is not as ornamental it plays and sounds much better. I am dreading changing the strings though...

Posted using Partiko Android

Egyptian oud owners high five 👏
Maurice's oud shop seems to have good service, I'll keep that in mind if mine ever needs to be replaced.

Yeah changing the strings does take a while, but it's quite worth it.
Do you double the lower string, or keep it single? It seems it's usually kept single but I don't see the point, it sounds great while double, and otherwise its volume is weak compared to the others.

Maurice is pretty good for ouds and darbukas. I think he is related to the shehata oud maker in egypt. I keep the top string doubled, though I had to carve a wider notch in the floating bridge to space them farther apart to avoid the two heavy strings buzzing against eachother if you hit it too hard it was an easy fix. I have mine tuned F A d g c f .

a0i, you've just received an upvote of 59% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts

Check out today's daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

This bot is open source.

Clone it from github
Get help installing and running this bot

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @hafizullah and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Hi, @a0i!

You just got a 4.65% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

deranged You just received DERANGED @a0i Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

Congratulations @a0i! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 31000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 32000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @a0i! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment