EXCLUSIVE DTUBE VIDEO 176: TOXIC Monogamy Culture!?

in #dtube6 years ago


Every week I do one video about Philosophy, usually that day is Friday (but I failed to post yesterday) so todays video is about the 'toxic' monogamy culture we are in. Take a look at the following points and feel free to comment on them below!

  • The normalisation of jealousy as an indicator of love
  • the idea that a sufficiently intense love is enough to overcome any practical incompatibilities
  • the idea that you should meet your partner’s every need, and if you don’t, either you’re inadequate or they’re too needy
  • the idea that a sufficiently intense love should cause you to cease to be attracted to anyone else
  • the idea that commitment is synonymous with exclusivity
  • the idea that marriage and children are the only valid teleological justifications for being committed to a relationship
  • the idea that your insecurities are always your partner’s responsibility to tip-toe around and never your responsibility to work on
  • the idea that your value to a partner is directly proportional to the amount of time and energy they spend on you, and it is in zero-sum competition with everything else they value in life
  • the idea that being of value to a partner should always make up a large chunk of how you value yourself

Music credit: Special thanks to @myndnow for providing amazing background music! Make sure to check him out!

Here's a link to the original post for reference: https://nankingdecade.tumblr.com/post/159335172911/what-i-mean-when-i-say-toxic-monogamy-culture

I am offering my services FREE via Steemgigs:



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Very fantastic video I wish you will grow more than others.

Very fantastic
Video I wish you will
Grow more than others.

                 - kuldeeprajput


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Osm content

Some valid points there my love xxx

Agreed my love <3

You sound like a love doctor to me

Thank you :P

I love these kinds of videos as a person who hasn't entered a relationship yet, I feel like I'm being prepared and introduced to this world. Thanks for sharing :)

Well it seems you're into psychology so in that case this topic is definitely interesting :P

Like many things, monogamy can be used in a toxic way or in a healthy way. But, certainly our mainstream culture seems to promote these toxic ideas.
I’ve been with my husband for 10 years. We’ve always been open with each other about being attracted to other people (hey, just because you get married, doesn’t mean you’ll never see a hottie again!). By cultivating a relationship where it’s safe for us to talk about sensitive topics, it actually makes us less likely to keep secrets, cheat, etc. It shows your partner you’re secure, which makes you more attractive to them instead of being needy and jealous ;)
Thank you for bringing this to people’s awareness!

It always amazes me how the people like you and your husband (who are so open, honest and aware) are often vegan as well. I'm also vegan and it's great to see more of us on here :)