Houston Steem Meetup - Official Announcement

in #dtube7 years ago (edited)


Houston We Have a Problem


Houston is the 4th largest city in the United States of America. Did you know that Houston has surpassed NYC and LA when it comes to ethnic diversity, and there are over 145 different languages spoken in this city? We have the largest shopping mall and medical center in the country. We are also home to the first and largest Hindu Mandir in the United States which I have been to as well. As a member of the Greater Houston Partnership, I can continue to spout off all of the reasons Houston is a great city to live and do business.Why is all of this a problem?
Houston being such an amazing city and we have yet to have an official Steem/Steemit MeetUp. That's okay because @xtrodinarypilot has a solution.
On Friday, October 13, 2017 at 7:00 pm Houston will have it's first Steem meetup. It will be held at
The Grand Cafe
1124 Blalock Rd
Houston, TX 77055
You can RSVP at

http://meetu.ps/c/3xbRc/BDyl7/f

and join the discussion on discord at

https://discord.gg/kBWpSJd


we have some fun Houston Emojis

What to Expect?


Although the first meetup will be informal, it will also be structured. We will have a few steem blockchain speakers on the topics of

  • What is Steem?
  • Content Creation
  • Application Development
  • Investment
  • I believe that is a good start as most of the people that are RSVP to come are not on steemit yet but they have blockchain experience. I also have a few attendees that have more of an interest in the "paid for blogging/vlogging" concept. Anyone who attends will have an opportunity to brush shoulders with local entrepreneurs, IT/IS professionals, local policy makers, and regular people such as myself.

    What's Different About this Meetup?


    Considering that we have speakers and the steemit community is global, we will be LIVE STREAMING our meet up and speakers. This gives everyone an opportunity to not only watch but also be involved. My hope is that this will help us improve our Steem meetups along with encouraging and helping others that want to host their own steem meetup. The STEEMIT community is very unique and I'd love to be apart of it's growth. @xtrodinarypilot will also have a BIG ANNOUNCEMENT at the end of the meetup.

    CALLING ALL HOUSTON STEEMIANS


    @mrwang
    @texaswildflower
    @bycompoundfilms
    @freedomflower
    @steemitafterdark
    @nevitableatbliss
    @brownhogg
    @lilwallay
    @comediantrump
    @htownfood
    @carloscaz
    @vischangefitness
    @bettystunner
    @peacefulpatriot
    @glam1on1
    @xtdnrymompreneur
    @bulbafett90
    @handbanana
    @neverxpected
    @xtrodinarybruh

    and all those I don't know who are on steemit

    SPONSORS















    Bitcoin SwC Poker, download and use affiliate code:
    Blazin8888 when creating an account for rakeback at
    tables.


    CLICK HERE TO ADD YOUR COMPANY or PROJECT.

    If your @DTUBE is tripping...


    ► Watch on DTube
    ► Watch Source (IPFS)

    Sort:  

    Hey ,
    Thanks for the great content

    Thanks for putting this on. I'm really looking forward to the "live streaming" of it!

    Yeah man, I suppose I need to test the system prior to the meetup, otherwise I'll be looking stupid

    No worries. It will work out just fine I'm sure!

    Nice post. I really like it. If I come, will you upvote me? Upvoted.

    Not only will I upvote you but I might follow you as well. Lets make it happen.

    You guys are crazy. LOL

    I tried to organize a STEEMit Meetup to plan a bar-b-que cook-off in Atlanta for mid October and was SOUNDLY IGNORED. https://steemit.com/witness/@libertyranger/steemit-meetup-in-atlanta-georgia-who-wants-to-help-me-organize-a-steemfeast-bbq-cook-off

    Atlanta! We need to get something set up.

    Lets make it happen. I even to contacted @adamkokesh. He will be in Atlanta Oct 18th, He also ignored my request to speak about it and speak at it. I sill would like to get this going. I live in spitting distance of Stone Mountain park and have been in the area for almost 20 years not.

    Getting this on the radar would be a huge coup!

    So, to get this organized, start with creating an Atlanta Meetup page like we have for Austin and Houston.

    Create an Atlanta Steem Meetup channel in discord.

    Locate a venue and a set a time.

    Promote.

    I think a BBQ would be perfect to kickstart this meetup. Who doesnt like free BBQ!

    Hey man thnak u so much for the 2 SBD tip on the @curiosity bot by @gyzimo funded by @fyrtsikken for his discord chat steemspeak.com

    REALLy cool that your using the new feature! thank u SO much! i am following u now! everyone apreciates it in teh chat!

    We were in Atlanta a few months back. Guys, its a beautiful city and I am certain that you can get it going. It's the south, we run everything.
    https://steemit.com/rant/@xtrodinarypilot/ned-i-blame-you-steemit-roadtrip-day-5-atlanta

    @libertyranger one thing I learned is that you need a mix of people that are on steemit and that are not on steemit. That way you can extend your reach. Thanks to the Austin MeetUps by @richardcrill, I was able to pick up on how many people attended because they wanted to learn about it. If you guys organize a STEEMFest BBQ cook off, I am getting together a CHAMPIONSHIP TEXAS TEAM.

    really an amazing event to develop steemit ,, regards from our steemit community in indonesia

    We all look forward to have steemit fully developed into a social media known to the globe ^_^

    Nice post @xtrodinarypilot :) Nice video too. I hope you can visit me too @tiffanyrej

    Was just in Houston a few weeks ago touring Texas before the hurricane issue. Texas is awesome, the big cities are so open and friendly. The small towns were a little racist, but the big cities were good people. I went deep sea fishing from Galvestone, wife and I plan to buy land in Texas near houston and create an artist colony! We might even do a Steem colony... anyhow I might make it, hope to see good people there! @originalworks

    Artist Colony? That's right up my alley. In my home parish, an artist colony was set up.
    http://www.nunucollective.org/
    I would love to see something similar in H-Town.

    Sweet! Yep yep, will be getting the land Next Summer or Fall... following you and will keep you posted... I am creating a team of brethren to help create a haven for artists and anyone that needs a place to create, invent, design.... :D and sweet thanks for link....

    The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @xtrodinarypilot to be original material and upvoted it!

    ezgif.com-resize.gif

    To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

    To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

    For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
    Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

    Sweet. Should be fantastic.

    Thanks @anotherjoe wish you could make it.

    Hudson is really diverse , I didn't know about that , now I know that , very nice blog , #peaceout

    good work my friend
    good going

    You can add me to the list of Houston steemians who are interested in meetups... Let me know of future events? Thanks so much!

    @cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

    Houston Steem Meetup is good Decision.

    I like your post. @xtrodinarypilot I have followed you

    Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by xtrodinarypilot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

    Very cool idea, thanks to you guys for doing stuff like this and connecting. Be well.

    Thank you. Hope to see you attending one soon.


    Come here!

    I'll be right there.

    @minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

    official Steem/Steemit MeetUp.

    Official? Like from the king? :D

    It isnt official like @ned Is endorsing it or anything lol but it's official

    @cryptohustlin has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

    We call the couch! @hammockhouse needs more room for more butts!

    SHOTGUN!!!! Its yours

    It makes me happy when small communities on Steemit get together and share thoughts on what is basically the future.

    Oh dang I just saw this...don't know if I can make it but I'll try!