Filmmaking 101 | Back to Basics

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


Sometimes, I need to be reminded to get back to the basics. Today's video is back to the basics of filmmaking 101 and the 3 types of shots to consider when shooting your scenes. Hope you enjoy the video!

With Gratitude,
Captain Bob

Steemit Divider.png

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Brad_Beaird
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bradbeaird/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Great video. I need u to make a video beginners guide to Vlog for technology challenged farmers;)

Haha, Oh I don't know....I think the farmer is off to a great start. I'll see what I can do to come up with those types of ideas though :) I appreciate you brother.

Cap’n!! True words right here! That multicam feature is awesome although I haven’t had the chance to play with it much. When I did have a multicam setup, I didn’t know about that feature yet 😅

You know Casey Neistat recently said he believes shot diversity is one of the most underrated things on YouTube, and I think that shows that at-home creators tend to forget often about getting different shots. It’s awesome that you’re bringing awareness!

Thanks for the reminder 🤙🏼

Thanks for watching man! Yes, that multi-cam function is freaking amazing. A crazy time saver for editing multi-cam. I'm going to dig a little deeper on it over time, but I'm amazed really. Also thanks on the different shots comment. Yeah man, I've known this and yet in the heat of making a vlog or video, or shooting B-Roll I just simply do a poor job at capturing those different moments. Appreciate you man.

thx mate , thums up :)

Thanks for watching!

Sounds like premiere has some good features for the multi cams. I have been using Resolve and just manually syncing and make the cuts. After doing it a few times I'm getting more efficient but don't think it could compare to what premiere has.

Man they've automated alot of the process and I'm convinced it easily cut the time by 2/3rds. Amazing tool for multi-cam stuff and I'm sure some of the others might do it as well, but I'm only a Premiere Pro user so that's all I know.

I’ve been planning on making the switch and paying for premier. Seems like I’ll like it a lot

I certainly understand that it costs money and it's hard to argue when Resolve is free for sure, but when you kind of learned on Premiere, it's hard for me to switch to anything now. It's not perfect, but I do like it's features.

I’ve been planning on making the switch and paying for premier. Seems like I’ll like it a lot

Man, I love how we all connect and help each other! For me I get caught up in really sticking with the shots I prefer. This was pretty helpful!

Guilty as charged with sticking to the shots I prefer, but then I get to editing and think, dang I wish I had a few other perspectives so I could switch it up. Love these types of things that just help me keep it top of mind.

Love that you're always trying to improve Capt!

If you aren't growing then your dying! Gotta keep kickin' it ;)

very intiristing

Glad you enjoyed it.

As I've always been loyalty watching your video, I really enjoy your video. Thank you for sharing.

Thanks for watching and following my friend. Greatly appreciated.

Great video Skipper! Keep'm come'n and one of these days I may even push the record button. haha.

Do. It. Hit that record button and show us some of that lovely PNW scenery!

Wow! I would absolutely love to see a tutorial from you about this!!!

I actually haven't checked that function out, but it would come in handy sometimes!

btw! Awesome tips!

Thanks man. I'll work one up and post it up!

Awesome! :)

thanks for that chat. as i really only just started making these vlogs and short films 3 months ago... i feel i often have never even learned the basics. im in constant catch up and absorb mode. so i really appreciate your tips. now i want to watch this multi cam syncing tips vid...cause that syncing is daunting to me. Cheers Capt.

Yeah man, thanks for watching and commenting. Always happy to help if you need anything man. I'm a discord chat away :D

Thanks @captainbob! I've been trying to improve my videos and I appreciate all the advice you and other dtubers give. Oh, and great interview on @steemcafe's page, looking forward to part 2...

Thanks for your support! I really appreciate the feedback and comments!

PLEASE!!! do a tutorial on the multi cam tricks in Premier Pro. I do my best with editing in that program, but I can only do so much and have figured out what I know by trial and error and watching Youtube videos. So I would be very grateful if you put together a tutorial on that or anything that could sharpen my skills in Premier Pro. Thumbs up!

Tutorial is up today on how to do multi-cam! I'll see if I can do some tutorials that would be useful :)

I’ve really got to start bringing pen and paper to your videos, always great info! That’s cool you were able to get some feedback, that’s what it’s all about when we encourage each other and help each other grow.

Thanks Tim. Appreciate you watching and following along. I'm always open to feedback and help :)

Wow this is great! I'm sure a lot of people would benefit from a tutorial :) I thought it was amazing that you even were open to that. True sign of a champion - not afraid of feedback. In fact the oppose - seeks it. Great information on here from start to finish!

I welcome feedback man and thank you for watching, commenting, and helping me out. We are working together at constant and never ending improvement.

I do multi cam stuff by clapping and editing manually 😭😭

Dude, that's the way I used to do it as well. I'm truly saving so much time with this feature now.

Nice one, Cap. I'd love for you to show the tutorial as you are explaining it.

Tutorial up! Thanks Kev!

That is some good advice, I definitely need to vary my footage more. I have to have a good think how to apply this. Awesome Thanks

I'm guilty as well my friend. It's almost as if I need a list of things to remember right before hitting that record button, hahaha.

Haha yeah, I need some post-it notes.