You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TIMIO : SCREEN-FREE EDUTAINMENT

At that age she'll quickly differentiate the languages, especially if she's hearing English regularly anyway.

I can't say my sight is much better than my hearing, in all honesty. I still struggle to speed read the subtitles, so I think I miss just add much of the action as what's being said.

I don't know what they've got currently on Netflix. It's Avatar the Last Airbender still on? It's actually American, but I enjoyed that. I think hubby has been going through some on Netflix, but the last one I saw him watching was a bit cringe. It was in American dub, which didn't help. Evil done in an American accent just isn't the same as when it's in Japanese. 😆

Sort:  

Yeh she hears English... and Korean... and lately Chinese... 🙈🙈🙈 I think I'm gonna have to put headphones on or mute the sound when I watch my shows lol. And when we see the grans they talk to her in a mix of Italian and French.. 🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈 As they get older they revert to the language they know best.

Yeh.. same.. damn old age.. I've been reminding a lot. I realise how much I miss when I rewatch the shows.

Only Air Bender on Netflix I've seen is the movie they made... that was cringe. But had some elements I love when I watch my Chinese shows = the martial arts/fantasy vibe.

Dubs.. ugh.. It's just not the same!!! I've tried it and, nah.. I'd rather suffer through the speed reading. I imagine it's worse in foreign shows instead of anime since theres a disconnect on how someone looks and how they sound.

Lol! I heard about the Air Bender movie and avoided it! The anime was followed up by The Legend of Korra, which was fun, but had a completely different vibe to it.