TIMIO : SCREEN-FREE EDUTAINMENT

in #earlylearning2 years ago

If you're looking for a screen alternative for your kid(s), you might want to check the Timio out!

A little back story...

We bought Bella this a little over a year ago when I was concerned about delayed speech. Granted she was around 18 months old and at that point she had very little exposure to other children due to lock downs, and I didn't want to introduce her to screens too much so when I found Timio I thought it was perfect for us.

Bella last year when she first got her Timio.

Unfortunately, after testing and emails we determined we had a faulty unit.

When we placed a disc on the unit and pressed a button, it wouldn't play the correct button, which hindered the learning process more than it helped even when it was just one of the music discs.

Last week I finally got around to sending our unit back to Timio Australia (after a year of communication!) and today I was pleasantly surprised to receive our replacement unit, which works perfectly.

HURRAH!!!

What's a TIMIO?

To sum it up perfectly, in their words.

Over 6 hours of entertainment in 8 different languages. No internet. 100% screen-free. With a large library of 25 discs on a wide range of topics, TIMIO grows with kids from infancy into primary school. This makes it a long-lasting and versatile toy in an era of screen dependence, digital over stimulation, and low quality single-use plastic toys.

It actually reminds me of a low-tech/high-tech CD player, that's built well for little hands.

What's in the starter box?

Adobe_Express_20220817_2339430_1-01.jpeg
The starter box comes with the Timio player, 5 discs and a bag that can store up to 25 discs.

The 5 discs are:

FARM ANIMALS
Includes real animals sounds and a quiz such as "Find the chicken".

VEHICLES
Includes real vehicle sounds and a quiz such as "Find the helicopter".

LULLABIES
5-10 minutes long soft musical lullabies and nature sounds that can be automatically played one after the other for over an hour to allow your little one to fall asleep calmly.

BEDTIME STORIES
Short stories, each about 1 minute long, written specifically for little children, covering themes from their daily lives.

HOLIDAY SONGS
Contains 12 holiday songs per language for a total of 96 songs!

The Disc Sets

When I was looking through the website I realised I might as well buy all the sets since all the boxes had something I considered essential. This way too, I could save on shipping.

Sets 1 & 3

DISC SET 1

  • Nursery rhymes vol. 1
  • Music instruments
  • Colours
  • Wild animals
  • Body parts

DISC SET 2

  • Nursery rhymes vol. 2
  • Sea animals
  • Shapes
  • Fruits
  • Numbers

Sets 2 & 4

DISC SET 3

  • Fairy tales vol. 1
  • Time
  • Vegetables
  • Alphabet A-L
  • Alphabet M-Z

DISC SET 4

  • Nursery rhymes vol. 3
  • Fairy tales vol. 2
  • Fairy tales vol. 3
  • Little bugs
  • Dinosaurs

Kids foldable headphones

A year later...

A year later her speech is tons better, it wasn't delayed like I feared and she's now putting sentences together. But I have introduced screens since and although I credit her improved vocabulary to it. I do recognize that we have a screens problem and she is definitely somewhat addicted to them.

For my part, I am guilty for depending on them to keep her entertained while I try to regain some semblance of sanity and/or duck away for a much needed loo break.

I'm definitely excited to have the Timio join our collection of learning/entertainment tools, not only for the screen break but because now that she's older and we can communicate better we can work through the discs together.

20220817_143346_1.gif

I'm especially excited to learn different languages with her and this is definitely the feature I liked the most about Timio.

She, however, is in it for the music and the headphones ~ which are decibel limited btw, another plus for us. Theres two headphone jacks, one on each side which allows another user to plug in and listen in.

At the moment I let her play the same song disc for a while and once she's familiar with the song, I'll switch to another language.

French and Italian are the two important ones for us since the grans speak those more and more in their old age.

Mandarin is the one I'm most keen to learn though since I'm tired of reading subtitles 😅

Overall

I think it's money well spent and the customer service, really is second to none. I've never quite experienced anything like it.

The product, after it's been replaced, has worked flawlessly for us. It's well built and is truly a great alternative for those families who are very conscious about screens.

Sort:  

I'm struggling without subtitles for English programmes these days! 😅 We watch more Japanese animes than anything, though, so I tried learning a bit of that on Duo Lingo. I didn't retain much, though. I feel like my brain is struggling to retain much new information any more. It's certainly a good idea starting her at that age when she's still such a sponge.

@tipu curate 6

Hahah I'm the opposite.. my hearing is good, eyes not so good 😅 I'm mainly watching Chinese dramas these days and the language is so complex I'm hearing the same words being said but the translation is sometimes different. I'd much rather just watch the action than spend the whole time trying to speed read.

Funny you mentioned anime.. I was looking at what Netflix had last night and was surprised to see they seem to have a few.

Any recommendations?

Yep, shes definitely at sponge age. I do worry though about exposing her to other languages before she's grasped english.

At that age she'll quickly differentiate the languages, especially if she's hearing English regularly anyway.

I can't say my sight is much better than my hearing, in all honesty. I still struggle to speed read the subtitles, so I think I miss just add much of the action as what's being said.

I don't know what they've got currently on Netflix. It's Avatar the Last Airbender still on? It's actually American, but I enjoyed that. I think hubby has been going through some on Netflix, but the last one I saw him watching was a bit cringe. It was in American dub, which didn't help. Evil done in an American accent just isn't the same as when it's in Japanese. 😆

Yeh she hears English... and Korean... and lately Chinese... 🙈🙈🙈 I think I'm gonna have to put headphones on or mute the sound when I watch my shows lol. And when we see the grans they talk to her in a mix of Italian and French.. 🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈🙈 As they get older they revert to the language they know best.

Yeh.. same.. damn old age.. I've been reminding a lot. I realise how much I miss when I rewatch the shows.

Only Air Bender on Netflix I've seen is the movie they made... that was cringe. But had some elements I love when I watch my Chinese shows = the martial arts/fantasy vibe.

Dubs.. ugh.. It's just not the same!!! I've tried it and, nah.. I'd rather suffer through the speed reading. I imagine it's worse in foreign shows instead of anime since theres a disconnect on how someone looks and how they sound.

Lol! I heard about the Air Bender movie and avoided it! The anime was followed up by The Legend of Korra, which was fun, but had a completely different vibe to it.

Aaaaaahhhhhhhhhh look how big she’s getting! Still so cute 😆

Hahah yeh shes huge. Can you believe she's gonna be 3 in a couple of weeks?!! Wtf did that time go?!!!

Dear @bearone, sorry to jump in a bit off-topic.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

Thank you very much

Congratulations @bearone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 120000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 125000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!