Vegan challenge comes to an end

in #eatlikeasuperstar6 years ago (edited)

As we are slowly coming to the end of the contest or the beginning of a new lifestyle? Has this twenty-two-day challenge gotten the best of me? Well, today is day twenty-four.

I saw the picture below at a restaurant :)

Remember that book?

I am still reading the Proteinaholic book written by Carth Davis. I was hoping to finish reading by the end of this week, but work doesn't allow for much reading time. I am, however, learning that doctors go to school to understand medicine, not treat people to heal them. Also, we can eat meat. If you don't want to live a long healthy life, but everyone has a choice to choose health and yummy food.

I am shocked at the amount of information about the various diets out there. Granted they all work short term. Most people gain the weight back, but everyone tries it. I wish I grew up with more vegan or health conscious family friends to guide my parents. They did really well feeding us rice, beans, and veggies. They failed to see that it was the overconsumption of meant that caused the family to struggle with weight.

So, now what, you're vegan for life?

Momma always said anything too extreme isn't healthy.

Happy Birthday JADE!

It's become a habit now to choose items without animal products. I wish I could say, I feel great, my skin, and my hair is glowing. Truth is my skin isn't great. My hair needs work and I think I drink too much coffee. Which might be the reason for the skin issues. However, I am grateful I no longer have to take pictures of my food. I was the worst at that.

I am also shocked at the lack of veggie options in places in general. I sometimes wonder, what if they recalled all the animal products one day? How great would the options improve! What if we empowered farmers to plant, harvest, and allow the land to breathe as the seasons lead? What if the price of meat was to increase in order to prevent people from over-consuming it? What if you accepted the challenge and went vegan for twenty-two days?

But, you love raw food!

I do miss fish a lot. Sushi isn't the same without cream cheese. I wonder how great a vegan equivalent would be?

Finding your favorite foods is the new challenge. The naysayers were silent for a bit, but they’re back. People are always soo shocked when they hear you've stopped eating meat and cheese. Especially, if it's not temporarily like most Monday diets, especially when they think of ALL the foods you can't eat, especially when they were just like you before you changed. I have no idea how long this will last. I really do enjoy being vegan. I enjoyed the challenge of finding foods that are colorful. I haven't worked out much, but I'm excited to see how much lighter I feel.

What about Europe?

As I mentioned last week: I remind myself why I took one this challenge. First, I wanted to do this challenge to help boost my fundraiser efforts. I am blogging my way to Europe and the SBD prize is exactly what I need to get there. Secondly, I want to live a healthier lifestyle. Whenever I take on a health challenge I commit to it 100%. Only if I will revert back to my old ways after the challenge ends. Also, if I slowly dive in with the mindset that this is a long-term commitment then I give myself more grace. With this challenge, I really want to prep myself to eat less animal product and processed foods.

The toughest part about being a vegan is what isn't changing your diet; it's what's between your ears. You determine what you will achieve or not. You physically control what you consume every day. I've decided that holding on to a vegan diet is beneficial to my short-term and long-term health. Do I want to live until I'm 1000, probably not? Do I want my heart to keep up with me when I am 80, absolutely?

I used to plan every outing based on what and where we were going to eat. Now more than ever this is true! Maybe, I'll miss out on a few treats while in London and France. Maybe, I'll find a great alternative. Just maybe, I won't miss out at all and enjoy the food, the culture, and the friends all the more. Being vegan isn't the same as being allergic to milk, but it does have the same benefits of avoiding those types of food. Everything in moderation.

That's been my journey on this challenge. I entered for the money and I am leaving with so much more. You were right choo and heart-to-heart. Living this life is pretty amazing! Best of luck to all the other contestants, I hope you are all feeling amazing! Below are my meals for the week.

THE MEALS

Breakfast & Dinner

Is it possible to have too much almond milk? I think I need to cut it down some and coffee too. I thought once a day would be a good amount, but I think I need to cut it down to a once or twice a week.

Dinner & Lunch!

The Brazilian culture thrive on meat and are terrible salad makers. However, this bean soup was pretty good. This mini salad came with the fried shrimp.


Doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

Kubby, there are a couple of vegan cream cheeses that are quite good. I can't remember which one I like best, but check out Follow your heart and Daiya (I think I like Daiya better, but I haven't eaten them in a while so I can't remember. There are 4 different kinds but I've only had the plain one.)

https://daiyafoods.com/our-foods/cream-cheese-style-spreads/plain/
https://followyourheart.com/products/cream-cheese-3/

Also, if you're looking for regular cheese, this is the vegan youtube favourite
http://fieldroast.com/products/chao/

After twenty plus years of being a vegan, I shouldn't be surprised you know so much! But dang girl!

I'm here to help. Just ask me Kubby.

What do you eat or recommend for consuming fiber? Have you ever accidentally consumed cheese or anything with dairy and how did you survive the stomach pains?

That was such a nice read! Thank you for sharing! It helps to see and think about those guys as friends not food. :)

Have fun Kubby!

<3 Thank you for reading, I know you often do and when you leave a comment it always makes me feel the love. Thank you! When you come down to florida, Ill show you all the cool vegan places choo introduce me to.

Go Kubbyyyyy ! .. all the way to Europe :)

ALL the way to Europe, love seeing your fitness post. Tell me have you tried the beachbody videos? I think you would really like them. Let me know

no not really .. those are .. ? :D (i hope its not you posting them, i really check the feeds very minimally recently, don't have tiiiime)

Try Daiya cream cheese. I have found I like the taste of it and honestly, after it being vegan, isn't it all about the taste?

Good luck with your continued effort!

Tip!

Thanks for the tip and recommendations, how long have you been vegan?

I am Pescetarian, which is considered vegetarian that eats seafood. I swear, it's my only vice! I haven't been able to completely let go of that.

The pictures are beautiful. Vegan wow i admire you but I will pass lol. I prefer the ketogenic/low carb high fat diet hehehehe. I wish you the best in going to europe.

You should read the book I mention, it talks about eating high carb low fat and how long term that is better for weight loss and keeping it off

@kuddyelizabeth ok i will look out for the book

What a beautiful journey you have shared with us, I think just like you:

anything too extreme isn't healthy

As long as you do what you think best and enjoy your food everything if fine!.

I would agree, until I realized what I know isn't right. We shouldn't trust what we know, we should trust that there is always more to learn.

Look yummy and healthy..

The food really really is!

Hi @kubbyelizabeth! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.