Announcing Ecency Vision

in #ecency4 years ago (edited)

We just released Ecency Vision, our new website with new name and new look. Vision is codename for our website application, we couldn't be more happier to share it with you.

Ecency-Vision-released

It is simple, fast and elegant. This is very early phase of website and we would love to hear your thoughts and feedback!

There are number of other changes in pipeline and in coming days we will roll them out. Most of the work on backend has been completed so most of the upcoming changes will be new features. For now, we will let you explore https://ecency.com but first here are some quick notes.

What's new

  • New website (new development stack, new name, new domain)
  • New app account (ecency.app)
  • New navigation and user flow
  • New beneficiary (3% 1%)
  • New image hoster/upload instance
  • New mobile friendly user interface
  • New communities explorer
  • New wallet page
  • New continuous integrations and deployments
  • Drafts, bookmarks - coming very soon
  • Points integration - coming very soon
  • Activities integration - coming very soon
  • Notifications - coming soon

We have long list of missing features, that needs to be integrated with our existing infrastructure like signups, drafts, bookmarks, points, activities etc. so we will add them one after another. Big milestone is achieved, most of the heavy work related to backend and services completed. We will need your help testing it now.

Give Ecency a try and let us know if you find any issues!

Mobile updates also ready, we will do final tests and publish updates to Google PlayStore and AppStore this week. Mobile app has some exciting changes that makes your interaction with different communities super easy.

Stay tuned, stay excited! Don't forget to share news with your friends.

Try https://ecency.com

[email protected]
🌐Ecency.com | ✍🏻 Telegram | 💬Discord
Approve Hivesigner | Approve Hivesearcher
Vote for @good-karma as a witness

Sort:  

Looking good!

Peakd seems to be using posting json-metadata while ecency uses active json-metadata. This results in metadata on ecency to be not up-to-date. Might make sense to decide on a standard; i.e. posting json-metadata.

Yes, posting json should be used as priority and fallback to active json metadata. We will fix that, appreciate the feedback! 👍 EDIT Fixed!

Just briefly browsed the website and it's impressively fast and responsive! If the mobile app is going to be like the website I'm allll for it 😃

Yes, we will dedicate next couple month to work on performance improvements. After new release, focus will go towards improving navigation and performance of components.

Very cool 😎 I'm glad to see such continued development and seeing performance improvements on the app will be really nice to see! Keep it up 👍

When Keychain login?

You guys rock! It looks absolutely wonderful from my Chromebook, but Hivesigner is not connecting on my Android. After I put in my name and password it just sits and spins!

In Chromebook, can you check Chrome developer console for any error messages?
Press Command + Option + J (Mac) or Control + Shift + J (Windows, Linux, Chrome OS) to jump straight into the Console pane

Thanks! 👍

Have found the error message?

Yes. I think the only error was operator error!
I love having Ecency on my Chromebook!
It looks fantastic.

Is it working alright on chromebook? We are releasing notifications soon, it is almost ready

I haven't used it a lot on Chromebook yet. The replies and comments pages do not show the users icon photo.
But everything I have used works perfectly.
I am going to love this!

on the @username/wallet, you show the @username/permlink of each post where curation comes from. It's not clickable (not a URL). I think it should be.

That's great suggestion. Added into our todo list, keep them coming 👍

Your balance is below 0.3 HIVE. Your account is running low and should be replenished. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://hive.blog/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-s-faq

I have always loved every every new development by you and I believe this also will be great. The new beneficiary is cool from 3% down to 1% that's a huge reduction. I will download the app ASAP to test the new interface

App updates are coming in few days but you can try the Web interface at ecency.com already. It's mobile friendly.

Thanks , though I tried it, the hivesigner keep sending me back to import after I have done that and created a password

I know it's just a beginning but I am already in love with the Ecency Web interface! Everything works so fast! Looks like it never ever worked that fast on eSteem mobile and Surfer. And IMO Ecency is much faster than other interfaces for Hive. I'm sure all the necessary features are coming soon. I'm sticking to Ecency Web for now but would love to use mobile app if it will be even faster.

Try https://ecency.com on mobile browser, it should be quite decent speed as well. At least in tests we noticed it was performing quite fast on mobile devices. As for Mobile app, we have overcrowded it with features, that's why we will need to spend couple updates just for improving performance. I noticed, it did degrade a bit on slower networks, we will need to find better caching mechanism and auto detect/switch to fastest server without user interaction.

Yes, I'm writing these comments from mobile version of Ecency web and it's really fast here. The only bug I've noticed when I am writing big comments and type fast sometimes it stuck (I can not press anything and my phone is not responding but after some time it is getting back to normal. I don't know if it is related to SwiftKey keyboard with swipe gestures or maybe it is connected with Preview feature here. Now I'm trying and everything is working fine. Last comment had that bug. Will try to test it out and see if I can reproduce it again.

Just trying out the web version. So far it looks great.

Is it open source? Where can I find the code?

Hi, like all our apps, we are open sourcing it in a week or two as well. Right now it is in heavy development mode.

wow love the update! can't wait to also try it! yey more mobile dApp for Hive 😁😁

Posted using Dapplr

Yes it is very fast.. but have some little issues such as :

  1. Reblogged post is not appearing in my profile section.
  2. I want to add some emoji but unable to add in comment section.

Thank you for your feedback! 🤗

  1. Reblogged posts won't show in your profile section because we are not showing reblogs in there. Your reblogs are visible to your followers, because goal from reblog is to share post with your followers, so your followers will see that in their feed. For example: @utyalban is your follower and on his feed you can see your posts and reblogs. https://ecency.com/@utyalban/feed
  2. Could you send screenshot, so we can check what is the issue? Earlier we found small bug with emojis and fixed, can you check again and send screenshot if you still see that issue.

screenshot is here

ecency emoji.png

All recently used is showing but not appearing.

  1. That is fantastic then.
  2. Still i am unable to add emojis
  3. Also unable to upload screenshot. Perhaps it is my browser issue.
    Edit..
    It was my browser issue. Actually it is not working in Mozilla Firefox properly. In other browser it is working ok such as Microsoft edge. 👍😀

Great work 💪 I like It, I'll wait for the mobile app 😉

Super cool! congratulations for the launch.

I really liked it! 👍 A new name, a pleasant and very familiar design, and most importantly for me — you made a classic way to upvoting and hid the downvote button! This is just awesome! 😀 Thanks! I'm back with you.

We will likely add that though, we just had to prioritize feature sets for initial release. 😅

That's great news, looking forward to the experience of using ecency 😀👍

https://ecency.com/communities

That is frickin' perfect! I was just asking for it last night in the Hive discord. Had no idea this was coming. Well done!

Woww... Nice to see the Ecency have lounching😊

What would be the benefit of using this over peakd?

Different user experience, having different options always good! Plus we are adding more features in coming days, hope you will try out and find some benefits 😉

Looking good. Community integration is important.

One minor issue I noticed on the FAQ. 'What is Resource Credits?' ought to be 'What are Resource Credits?'.

Good find, thanks @steevc! We will update that... 🙇 EDIT: Fixed

That's good news about the ecency.

Thank you!

Just tried the web version.

Looks really good. Will the desktop version receive an update?

Yes, in next few days, we will roll out update for mobile app and then desktop!

Perfect. Can't wait to write. :)

Already login once. It is web based surfer I think. All the best!

Yes, essentially surfer (desktop app) will be based on this new codebase. Because this is much more optimized for speed and better for future of desktop app. Still some key features missing, so we are working on them as we speak.

Great! I am looking deeply and inform if found anything lacking in current updates.

Hey esteem ecency lol great to see this front end manifesting. I love the look of the new front end in the morning. It makes the whole world appear fresh and new. Same same but different. Any chance you can add dark mode - it's looking very white at present. Many thanks.

Dark mode is already there since from the very beginning. Just tap an icon in top right corner.

Is the branding on the app going to change???

Yes, we are rolling out changes to mobile app this week. There are some exciting new features as well as all branding changes.

cool :) awesome job

Posted using Dapplr

Looking forward to using the new app on my phone! Thanks, excellent work, keep it up folks!

The reduction of 3% down to 1% is also great. I appreciate that!

Happy to see all this new things come up ☺👌👌👌👌👌 very cool.

Is the app not on playstore yet? I didn't notice a recent update there

We will push update this week, doing final tests as mentioned in post! Stay tuned for mobile app updates

This is really a good news. 👆👆

Thanks for info! Good work!👊

Wow, been a way for a while and here we have new hot stuff cooking!

I am Very Looking Forward To It!
Thank YOU!
👍🏼😁👍🏼

Will give it a go for sure!

I have tried to log in on ecency. It uses Hive Signer. Hive Signer still requires me to import my account the first time I log in to a new dapp, using my master password.

I am simply not doing it before you fix this bug. I don't care how good ecency is I am not entering my master password again in Hive Signer. I won't use another dapp that uses Hive Signer as well.

I have pointed out that bug to you months ago @good-karma. You keep saying it will be fixed next update and it is never fixed. I saw a lot of other people complain as well.

Congrats, you just missed out on a customer for ecency.

Care to share screenshots to illustrate steps? Hivesigner doesn't store any password, if you accessing hivesigner from mobile, you will have to import your account for first time use, if you accessing hivesigner from another browser, you will have to import/login account, etc. Hivesigner does not/will not keep user password on server. Complains, doesn't solve the problem unless you help us track down exactly what you mean. If you could send couple screenshots that would help. Thanks

Thanks for the answer... now I understand. It's just that I have used Brave browser this time.

I tried on chrome now and it worked perfectly. Sorry, I got a bit angry, it's just that I helped before twice describing everything and trying out Dapps with Hive Signer.

So when it happened again I thought it would never be fixed, but it is :)

Also, ecency looks very clean and fast, so well done!

🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳🥳

Support @ecency 😎😎 in love with the new identity. Would love to know whether the mobile app will follow suit.

Yes, it does. We are finishing up, native sharing feature and should have update this week hopefully

Hoho can’t wait for it!

Looks good. Like Surfer :)

I like it. And it is fast!

I did check your new Ecency website and I really like it. Can't wait for Ecency for android.
Yesterday I have delegated 5k of my hive power to support your project.

Looking forward to the updates in android mobile and mac version.