πŸ€ How To Be RESOURCEFUL In Your Home Garden! πŸ€

in #ecotrain β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

Growing Vegetables With Your Recycling!

Given the Corona-Virus at the minute and the fact that Garden Centres are closed, there is limited availability of gardening pots, potting plants ect for me to plant my own vegetables. This left me with the choice to look around my house and see what else I could use, a nice challenge to become a bit more resroucesful! Low and behold I found some old egg boxes that were going to be thrown in the bin and I thought to myself I could for sure squeeze in some egg-cup shaped biodegradable pots in there? So I ran with it and I just wanted to document and share my little experiment with you!

IMG_20200517_095906.jpg

IMG_20200517_100634.jpg

IMG_20200517_100648.jpg

Simplicity

It really is a simple as that! Find an old egg box, drill some holes in the bottom for better drainage, but the box in half and voila! There you have a make-at-home potting tray for the greenhouse of kitchen counter. I decided to use the egg box to give the wood pots extra support. We've been having some really strong winds here in the UK and I thought that the pots alone wouldn't be able to quick hack it and the greenhouse would be one big mess. (Luckily I didn't learn this mistake the hard way as we have some strong winds and only one pot plant fell on the floor! Better that than a whole egg tray full of veggies!)

IMG_20200517_100850.jpg

IMG_20200525_134909.jpg

IMG_20200525_135647.jpg

But What Am I Going To Plant?

As a family we've been absolutely demolishing the Lollo Rosa Lettuce. One lettuce of it is enough for 3 hungry people at dinner time and then the rest can be eaten throughout the day! Although we only planted 4 lettuces... so that's dissapeared pretty quickly! Luckily we should get another crop of it as it can regrow in 2-3 weeks. On the salad theme I'm going to add some rocket in there (Arugula for our American friends across the pond). Some Coriander too (Cilantro) and also two varieties of cucumbers: Telegraph Improved and also Farmers Market Cucumber. I perhaps can give some of the Coriander away, people tend to like the herbs in their kitchen as they may not have the space or time to look after a cucumber, but this is all an exciting experiment for me! Check the varieties of seeds that I used below. When I finally added the planted pots to the greenhouse, I added some stones/pebbles that were lying around in the garden to give the egg boxes some extra weight so that they didn't blow off in these heavy winds! Let me know what you think of the final product below!

IMG_20200525_135227.jpg

IMG_20200525_141115.jpg

IMG_20200525_141027.jpg

IMG_20200525_141111.jpg

IMG_20200525_142010.jpg

Ecotrain & Natural Medicine

It's nice that I am becoming more established in the @ecotrian and @naturalmedicine communities, everyone is being really generous and there is a lot of exciting content out there! The upvotes have been particularly generous too!
See my POSH tweet down below in the comments! Thanks!.

Sort: Β 

Oh wow ! I'll try the egg crate trick since I don't want to spend extra money on a pot :D planning to grow a ginger!

Sounds awesome! I'm experimenting with it now as I didn't want to have to splash out on buying pots! Thanks for commenting x

Exactly my thoughts ! Thanks for sharing. Can't wait to share mine as well :)

Way to look outside the box, using recycle and imagination goes a long way.
Nice post

Thanks!

Congratulations @localgrower! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Awesome, that was quick!

Lol! People like your posts ;)

Thanks for the encouragement!

Always πŸ™‚πŸ‘
liz