Light Years Ahead

in #education7 years ago

lightyear.jpg

Years ago I earned and acquired the alias or nickname ‘Light Years Ahead’. For those who read my introduction, you probably know that I love to read books. For those who didn’t read my introduction, well… now you know….. (Read it here).

I’ve been reading books since I was five and have been growing and cultivating my vocabulary ever since. So, my familiarity with words is immense, but I have a small problem. I read these words in a book. However, it’s a problem because I often lack the experience of hearing and pronouncing many of these words in my extensive vocabulary. For example: I was speaking to my father about a mystery book when I mention the word; alias. But I pronounced it ˈeɪliəs’( as in atom) when it is supposed to be pronounced ˈæliəs’( as in alien). My father, hearing me say the word, asked me to repeat myself. Once I did, he asked me to spell the word. After I complied, he gave me a funny look and told me that I was pronouncing it incorrectly.

Most of the people that I meet gloss over or don’t notice that kind of mistake. Or they subconsciously correct it without saying anything. In this case, I never realize my error. But, as it began to happen more and more frequently, my father finally announced that I shall be nicknamed ‘Light Years Ahead’, for, “Your vocabulary is so far ahead of your pronunciation that you are light years ahead.”

And so that is how I came to be nicknamed Light Years Ahead.

(giffy via huffingtonpost . com)

Do you have a similar story or experience? Please post it in the comments below, or, if it deserves its own article, please share the link once it is published.

lightyearbuz.jpg

Thanks for reading!!

Don’t forget to UpVote, Follow and Resteem (if it’s THAT good!)!

Sort:  

It is a true story!!!

Keep up the good work!!!
You'll be an aquatic seafaring mammal in no time!!

Nice to have you here at Steemit!
Aim at staying light years ahead of everyone else on Steemit and you will do just great! :)
SteemOn!!

I'll make sure to do just that. Doreamon, you are the best! ;P

@em3 got you a $0.51 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@em3 got you a $0.51 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Congratulations @abookworm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You got a good dad :)

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

You were lucky! Your post was selected for an upvote!
Read about that initiative
logo

Great post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.