You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Reasons To Unschool (Home Education, Self-directed learning)

in #education7 years ago

I wish anyone listened to me when i was a kid. Being exceptional student at a time (best without false modesty), i dominated math, physics and chemistry competitions. And instead of supporting me, other teachers were constantly raising expectations. I was not kid in their eyes, but a machine. I ended up wasting all of my time learning things that i don't care about, just to keep maximum grades, because environment put those grades on pedestal . Things i loved, and could do without an effort, had to wait in corner, never getting their turn. Indoctrination killed one young potential scientist, who could make a difference. Completely oppressed by people who thought they know what is best for me.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your personal story. I'm sorry to hear about that happening to you. I hope you will spread the word about unschooling.