Top 3 Reasons To Unschool (Home Education, Self-directed learning)

in #education7 years ago (edited)

There are so many reasons to unschool.  The most challenging part of writing this post was summarizing such vast numbers of reasons.  Anyway, here it goes.

Top image is from maxpixel.freegreatpicture.com

1.  Reduce The Power Of The Parasite Class

School is mandatory for lots of reasons and every one of them works towards the objective of maintaining the power of the tiny minority that rules the globe (parasite class, scientific dictatorship, oligarchy, NWO, occultocracy, ruling class, etc.)      

How does public schooling harm children and maintain the power of the parasite class? In my opinion, the key aspect here is that a child learns obedience to authority in school.  School is literally an indoctrination center used to train young minds into authoritarianism.  Such training makes the population much easier to manage for the ruling class.    

Let’s take a look at the sheer number of hours a child is forced to spend in school.  On average, a child in the USSA will spend about 15,000 hours in school from kindergarten through high school graduation.  That’s nearly 2 years! (and that’s if they went to school non-stop for 15,000 hours straight, you get the point)

And who do they spend these 15,000 hours with and doing what exactly? Is that much time really necessary to teach reading, writing, math, science, and a little (skewed) history? Gimme a break. The schooling system has been formed by psychologists, social engineers, corporations, and bureaucrats.  And to what end? To train docile, obedient people who will be dependent cogs in the centrally planned global economy.    

Another aspect that is key to the control maintained by the occultocracy is information gathering and manipulation.  Remember all of those standardized tests we took in school? (and I know there are more now). Do you honestly believe that those records just go on the trash heap after a few years? I think a more logical conclusion seems to be that the data is used to form part of the personal/psychological profile for each individual in the cybernetic control grid that is being built.

I invite you to read up on Sentient World Simulation @
 http://www.krannert.purdue.edu/academics/mis/workshop/ac2_100606.pdf

And also read about the Dept. of Defense’s (War Department) influence on “education” @
 https://www.technocracy.news/index.php/2017/01/17/how-did-the-department-of-defense-end-up-in-my-childs-classroom/

After combing through those 2 resources and connecting the dots, then I’m confident that we’ll share common ground in our conclusions.    
There are too many other details to get into just on this one reason not to school your child.  So let’s move on…..

2.  Give your child the opportunity for personal growth mentally and emotionally.

Children learn quite naturally.  They are naturally curious.  Learning at home presents a much more relaxed environment where they can study what interests them.  They also aren’t subjected to a fixed timetable like they are in schools.  Imagine, a bell rings in school, and then you have to stop thinking about the current subject and are forced to think about some other subject! Absurd!   
Schools also train young minds into certain beliefs, such as “global warming”, “statism”, “survival of the fittest”, etc. Hmmmm, do any public schools teach anarchy or any other philosophies that don’t revolve around dogma and authoritarianism? Not that I know of.  The point is that by self-directed learning, children can choose from a much broader spectrum of ideas without all the biased rhetorical garbage that is force-fed in public schools.   

Schools also make children memorize disconnected facts (and theories).  If the child regurgitates the facts and theories, they are rewarded.  If not, they are punished.  They’re trained through this reward and punishment method, called operant conditioning, to expect an external reward every time they “learn” something.  There’s no learning just for the sake of knowledge.  Operant conditioning also dulls the imagination.  Who would think outside the box if there’s no reward, right? At least, not after 15,000 hours of training…..

Critical thinking skills are also severely lacking in public schools.  Did you ever use the Trivium Method in school? I know I didn’t.  I didn’t even know what the Trivium was until I discovered Richard Grove’s Tragedy and Hope Media.    
 https://tragedyandhope.com/peace-revolution-episode-002/

What about emotional well-being? Peer pressure is a terrible thing to be subjected to, especially at a young age.  Bullying can definitely cause emotional trauma that has long lasting effects.  Also, learning at home provides an environment to develop responsibility, confidence, self-respect, and self-reliance.  Which brings us to our third reason to “unschool”.

3.  Give your child a greater opportunity to achieve an independent livelihood.

Children who are educated at home (or engage in self-directed learning) have a high rate of creative and entrepreneurial pursuits when they reach adulthood.  Don’t believe me.  Check out this study @
 https://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/peter-gray-unschooling-surveys.pdf

In the study, they found an astonishingly high rate (well over half) of home educated people went on to creative and/or entrepreneurial pursuits.    

Do schools teach independence? No, they train people to be dependent and to conform.  How? Simple.  Children are trained that their success or failure is dependent on the reaction of the authority figure (teacher).    

There are numerous other reasons to home educate, but it’s far too vast for such a short blog post.  Here are some other education related resources which I’ve found useful and valuable.     

http://schoolsucksproject.com/tag/unschooling/

http://fivehundredyears.org/a-complete-case-for-home-education-54-arguments/

http://www.triviumeducation.com/

https://archive.org/details/JohnTaylorGattoTheUndergroundHistoryOfAmericanEducationBook

http://daynamartin.com/

Here are some steemit contributors who have done some interesting writing on unschooling and education.    

@canadian-coconut
@jrhughes
@kafkanarchy84

And last, but not least, a steemit member who is currently being unschooled! Congratulations! @thehomeschoolkid   

Thanks for your time and attention!

Sort:  

Good stuff man. Resteemed.

And this bit:

If the child regurgitates the facts and theories, they are rewarded. If not, they are punished. They’re trained through this reward and punishment method, called operant conditioning, to expect an external reward every time they “learn” something. There’s no learning just for the sake of knowledge. Operant conditioning also dulls the imagination. Who would think outside the box if there’s no reward, right? At least, not after 15,000 hours of training…..

Yep. Well said. And there is and should be a reward for learning, and that is the process itself, and what it helps each different individual to achieve and become according to their goals. Schools broadcast the message that learning is drudgery. Read these books and win a pizza! Because who would read books if you didn't get a prize!?

Glad to have you around, brother.

Peace!

Yes, great conversation. I agree. If and when you leave ethics aside everything unravels/upside down!!

Domi

Whoever or WHATEVER can predict the future , controls the world.
Steemit Blockchain Will Be The Central Cortex Of The Global Quantum A.I.'s Brain - The Sentient World Simulaion, for predicting the future.
STEEMIT PROCESSES MORE DATA THAN ALL THE OTHER BLOCKCHAIN CRYPTO-CURRENCIES COMBINED.

All the quantum computers of all the worlds biggests corporation are interlinked and working to this end.

giphy.gif

Any one with even half a brain knows that blockchain technology is not going away. It's here to stay!
Why? Because EVERYTHING... every piece of data and every piece of edge computing hardware is soon to be tied (chained) into the blockchain matrix in the cloud. Including EVERY product, service, creative and recreational activity that we do.

1_6iMeVDIqrceSlODy3dpKUw.gif

Using 5g technology and cheap telemetric printed circuit tattoos (like barcodes on steroids) able to sense, process and transmit data, will be in EVERYTHING and EVERYONE.
We will all become part of the Sentient World Simulation (SWS) as described in the popular Purdue University white paper on this subject, It's already up & running right under your noses as you read this blog post. IT'S WATCHING YOU!!!

We each have a Global Quantum A.I. avatar following and recording our every move using our 'smart' phones, 'smart' appliances - TV's, game consoles, 'smart' fridges, 'smart' meters & 'smart' cookers, etc.
We each have our own virtual world avatar that simulates & mimics our character, in order to predict the future.
Whoever or WHATEVER can predict the future , controls the world... The Global Quantum A.I.

U5dsnt2Y19qmNJ6S4rHWGSU4yi4wucH.gif

Thanks for the feedback man. Much appreciated. Keep up the great work! Cheers

More real education, to hell with indoctrination! :)

Well said! Thanks for the comment.

I love this. I love what you say about operant conditioning especially. This is the problem for me, the isolation and the decontextualization and the compartmentalization. Science in one room, geography in another, English in another and maths somewhere else. The cross-overs between these things allow us to innovate, to build new ideas and to create something from something we've never seen before. This right or wrong, reward and punishment drives kids into a cattle box and teaches them to think exactly the way everyone else does; that way they're controllable. Like cattle. Love this.

The school system is currently bad, I don't know the schooling system in the US very well but I guess it won't be that much better than here in Europe anyway.

But I think here goes the old saying: Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by ignorance

I mean, if you have to deal with 20 kids every day, all day long it probably won't take you all that long to fall back to a more authoritarian system either ;P

Interestingly enough private elite schools are even worse in pretty much all aspects you mentioned. The very schools "the ruling class" sends their children too. Almost like they believe it's simply the best system to run a school and educate children.

On a side note when I was in public school we did learn about different systems like anarchy and all that kind of stuff actually

Thanks for the input. I'm curious, what sort of explanation was given regarding anarchy? I've never heard of it being mentioned, at least not in a positive light, in any public school system.

I don't remember the details as it's quite a while ago ;)
But I believe it was quite fair - I suppose it depends a fair bit on the teacher tho and I got quite lucky in that regard.
Also that was in Germany if that helps...

School costs too much money to learn nothing.

totally agreed with you.....

Thank-you for getting this information out there.
As you pointed out, my children are unschooled
and I wish more people knew about it and would consider it.

Hi, thanks CC. Yes, I feel that education outside of the state's influence is one of the key elements to helping the "liberty movement" make progress.

Absolutely, with internet on all you need to do is identify your interest and explore

I really wish I could school my children at home... So far I dont have great experience dealing with teachers and their education... I mean I learnt all about Henry the 8th and his wives at school but it didnt help me get a job, neither did learning about disecting living things!

Great post :)

Thanks, @whatalexdid! You mean nobody ever asked you about Henry VIII in a job interview? LOL. Yeah, memorizing all the presidents of the US in "history class" didn't help me, either.

Exactly my point, the stuff they teach you doesnt help in real world situations!! Here in the UK to take your kid out of school in term time you need permission... We got an opportunity to go to a place in the South of France where they teach kids the importance of hard work and some life lessons... We got denied permission from my kids school as they are too focused on getting their attendance figures as high as possible... It was ridiculous!!

Schools teach obedience and instill fear and mediocrity while killing creativity. Enough reasons not to send children to school. Great article!

Thanks for adding those salient points!

Gosh, I'm trying to conserve my power... I wasn't going to vote on ANYTHING today... lol.

Upvoted and resteemed :)

Thanks, thomasaquinasftw! Yes, we must use our power wisely.....:)

I was homeschooled through high school. At the time, I disliked it because of the social aspect, but when I got to college, I was much more prepared than my peers. Like you, I could write a book about the many benefits, but educationally I feel like I definitely had a leg up.

I went to public school for three years, then my mother pulled me out because she realized how substandard the whole education system was. I was homeschooled and I LOVED it!!! I am giving that gift to 3 of my children now...one really has to follow the child, as Maria Montessori taught.

Excellent! Thanks for sharing your story. Cheers!

See, this is exactly what both concerns and interests me about the idea of home schooling - the idea of kids being fully removed from the social aspect of public education, and both its positive and negative impacts.

If kids that are home schooled miss out on all of that socializing and "street-talk" that takes place both in and out of the classroom, from the benign stuff like what's hot in music at the moment, to more serious fare like local sites of interest from field trips and such, I could see them viewing it as somewhat of a disadvantage growing up. But then again, being shielded from all that seems to have allowed you to focus on what was really important information at the time, and then you were better prepared earlier in life for further education, where most others would have been struggling with the adjustment.

It may have shifted your socialization process inversely, somewhat, but you seem to have taken in everything regarding both education and socialization sooner overall, because of it.

Yes, I understand about the social aspects. However, I think there are other ways to have social interaction which are just as good if not better than public schools. Meeting neighbors, joining a sports club, some other type of club activity, or just meeting random people in public can build social skills.

Thank you for sharing your vision. When I have kids, I'm so grateful to know about alternative education like unschooling. Learning should be empowering and fun, not repetition and following orders. Following you now and looking forward to more of your posts.

Thanks, @foodisfree! You sum it up well. Learning should be empowering and fun, which is the exact opposite of the process in public schools.

When you are ready, I am a homeschooling/unschooling coach.

Awesome to hear! Thank you for spreading awareness on these awesome alternatives.

Great post! I will be following!

Completely agree and also the very reasons why I am unschooling my son. I remember being in highschool and failing a test for the first time and how tears immediately welled up in my eyes. I realised something was seeeeriously wrong in that moment. Why the heck was I giving grades such huge important? What the hell was I going to do with all this information anyway? Where have my priorities been!? Why is this having such a huge control on my life?

Really fascinating to see how the educational system shapes and molds your value systems and completely lose track of what is really important in life

Yep, that's why it's there, to mold minds. Who is doing the molding, and to what end?

totally agree! the hell with brainwashing our kids!
you got here a new supporter and resteemed! :)

Couldn't agree more! School is there to babysit kids for lazy parents while brainwashing kids into becoming tax slaves for the government. If you want your kids to be free thinkers, keep them out of school!

I think you sum it up better than I did. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for the post! This is something my partner and I have been discussing. I can't wait to show her this article!

Thanks for reading, @dismemberedhippy! I wish you and your partner the best!

Got it! That's very strong and good reason to unschool.

It depends on type of home and the qualities of parents teaching their children at home. Moreover some private or public schools are very good and help the child to better intergrade in our society.

Thanks for the comment @charles1. May I ask what type of society the child will be trained to integrate into?

A pluralistic environment where children learn together plus learn about nature. Not all societies are bad

thank you for good posting.~

Thanks for reading!

I wish anyone listened to me when i was a kid. Being exceptional student at a time (best without false modesty), i dominated math, physics and chemistry competitions. And instead of supporting me, other teachers were constantly raising expectations. I was not kid in their eyes, but a machine. I ended up wasting all of my time learning things that i don't care about, just to keep maximum grades, because environment put those grades on pedestal . Things i loved, and could do without an effort, had to wait in corner, never getting their turn. Indoctrination killed one young potential scientist, who could make a difference. Completely oppressed by people who thought they know what is best for me.

Thanks for sharing your personal story. I'm sorry to hear about that happening to you. I hope you will spread the word about unschooling.

thank you for good posting.

Thanks for reading! Cheers

I really wish that I was in a position to pull my children from their schools and teach them at home. I agree, their opportunity for personal growth, exploration etc. would be greater outside of the traiditional school setting where they are bound by invisible restraints. Public schools do hold back students from expanding in their own ways and they discourage individuality among other things.

I feel for ya. Hopefully you can find a way to do it! A steemit member, @belindahhq, left a comment above that they are a homeschooling coach.

Love it. Followed both you and your boy. Don't have kids (not sure about them!) but if I do have kids, they are being home schooled. I do not agree with making little people fit into a mould just so they can learn how to fit into an adult sized mould... being a "model citizen". I truly believe school is just another way of training a kid how to be part of society (not my society), to obey the law and pay taxes. FUCK THAT MAN!

Found you through kafkananarchy84.

Thank you for this post. I agree with everything youve said

Thanks for reading! Yes, the social engineering aspect of schooling is something that I think most people are unaware of. Involuntary schooling for an involuntary society. I'm glad you found me as well as Kafka. He puts out tons of great content, too! Cheers

Thanks for this! Resteemed. I am really excited to use this forum to discuss homeschool and education issues. I write about homeschooling my three over at @beriberi - love to hear more thoughts from you.

Hey @beriberi! I'll be happy to check out your material. Yes, steemit is a very exciting platform. It's very unique in the fact that it has so many people on it who have a high degree of consciousness. I hope it can continue to be free from censorship!

I remember being in 1st grade and having an epiphany about school that has stayed with me ever since. We were taught that there are 7 continents, N. America, S. America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and Antarctica. I stared at a globe. There was one glaringly inconsistent continental divide that wasn't reflected geologically.

Europe and Asia are both on one continent. When I inquired about this then, my inquiry was deflected. Upon subsequent reflection over the years I spent in public school, I arrived at the most satisfactory answer the data suggested, which I can still not refute.

The simple subject of geography was manipulated for the sake of propaganda with the intent of creating psychological divisions between us and them - Europe and Asia. From then on I actively and deliberately supposed that every 'fact' I was served in school was a lie, and only such as I could confirm via independent sources might be true.

While I believe this practice has made of me too much of a Devil's advocate to be socially acceptable, and certainly contributed to a gloriously misspent youth, it has also made me a scientist by default.

When my sons were born, I never even entertained the thought of enrolling them in any school. Even after I became a single father, I continued to bring my children to work with me and let them learn math from pulling tape measures while they were paid wages (even though it remains technically illegal to employ children under 14 in the USA).

I designed no curriculum, as my own experience proved to me that children are quite competent to intend to know what is of importance, and diligently seek to know it. When they inquired about stars, astronomy was the subject. When they asked about war, politics, and etc..

Eventually (we lived in a quite isolated homestead deep in the forest) puberty changed the equation, and I did enroll them in public school because I could neither forsake their socialization with their peers, nor teach it myself.

At first they were at the very top of their class in almost every subject. As I explained to them (to their great and justified disbelief), they would find that school suppressed their desire to learn, and actually become an impediment to their education.

This is true, for many of the reasons you state. Curricula impose dry facts unrelated to their particular interests, institutional and bureaucratic incompetence suppress individual exceptionality and skill, and the hum and buzz of social intercourse devolves all too often to bullying, singling out of the 'weaker' specimens to offer up to predators threatening the herd, and status seeking pecking orders.

The longer they remained in school, the worse their grades got, and the less eager they were to attend.

I consider that exposure to the harmful effects of institutional education amongst the most useful and edifying aspects of their preparation for the rest of their lives.

Thanks for this thoughtful post.

Hi! Wow, thanks for sharing your personal story. It sounds like you made lemonade out of lemons! I commend you on that. That's a great point, too, about the geography of Europe and Asia. They were teaching you a divide that did not physically exist. Crazy. Kind of like saying 2 + 2 = 5, huh? Thanks again for the input. Cheers.

Saying Europe and Asia were separate continents was not crazy. It was evil. The divide is created between peoples with the intention of making the 'others' easy to demonize, so that we'll kill them without remorse.

It was also stupid, because I learned that 'they' did this, and why, and I have acted on that knowledge all my life.

Now, I have been unable to thwart the wars that have wracked the world, but I am not unaware of why they have. Smedley V. Butler, the WWI hero who testified that Prescott Bush tried to recruit him to lead an army on Washington DC to overthrow Roosevelt and establish a Fascist dictatorship, a la Hitler, wrote a short book, "War is a Racket".

We know why they want war. They wax fat feeding on our blood and pain.

Don't feed the trolls.

Well said, agreed. Yes, regarding the divide that does't exist, that was a divide and conquer psychological weapon. I've heard of Smedley Butler many times, but have never read that book.

I am getting an Ed.D. in education and hope to contribute to changing the educational landscape of the country. Homeschooling/unschooling is far superior to the current educational system. Thank you for sharing! @belindahhq

Awesome! I hope to see some of your contributions on steemit!

School doesn't teach you how to think, but what to think.

At this point im very thankful I skipped >60% of my high school classes, most often I would go to the library and learn what I wanted.

Thanks, good point. At this point, I regret that I rarely skipped my high school classes. LOL.

I consider the same for my daughter but I will have to see what happens in the next five years before she is old enough.

Bye the way, I am writing about memory techniques, which is an excellent way to improve homeschooling. Follow me to learn more.

@steeminganarchy, your words have the strongness that I agree and true.

However, we have to work fast to get these things experienced to our next generation. I found a Hilarious Interview of Isaac Asimov, in around 1875 on Home Education, Self-directed learning, that turned into reality, in the 20s.

Please, check it out and share your thoughts.

Great post! Everyone needs to understand the importance of "unschooling".
Former public school mom here , now a current Homeschooling mom and never going back! Anarchy in the AK

Hey @lanadancer! That's great to hear! Thanks for that. I apologize for the late reply. Steem on!

I think school exists to give everybody an equal opportunity to get the same education and the same chance to move on in life. The philosophy behind it is sound, and its practicality cannot be denied - it gives children an equalized space to learn and lets their parents focus on something else (most likely, work). It also removes the intellectual onus of knowing about learning, development and supporting that development from the parents.

That said, the very concept of "equality" and "sameness" is predicated on the idea that everybody will get the same treatment, and so it happens. It is exactly what we have been asking for all these years. As for bias and indoctrination, well, as long as it is living and breathing people doing the teaching, it will be inevitable, although different schools will have it to a different degree. This is what we sing up for when we send out kids to school.

I personally don't think unschooling is the panacea we are looking for. There is no denying the convenience of traditional schools, and reforming them should be our first priority. Unschooling may work for a minority of people who have the time, intellectual, physical and financial resources to invest into it, but for the majority of people it is a luxury they can't afford. I personally was "unschooled" on my days off by my parents who told me not to care about the subjects, teachers and scores that I didn't care about and only try and get the minimum pass grade possible (which is sound advice, really) and who openly told me I couldn't trust my teachers and taught me alternative facts.

I do think a balanced approach is the best approach.

We always homeschooled except a brief stint when our oldest attended a Charter School in 1st grade. But with a homeschool curriculum the same hierarchical pressure developed. Moving into unschooling was the best decision I ever made besides my accepting my hubby's proposal and actually having the kids lol.

It's been six years since I gave the kids a "summer vacation" then simply never went back to a teaching model. Six years since I said "study this" or "learn that" and in that time the number and range of learning opportunities they have voluntarily embraced has astonished me. Things I'd never have thought to include in a curriculum and had I, they likely would have balked at.

At 17 my oldest has learned to speak, read, and write Japanese, Mandarin, Korean, German, and French; as well as sketching, playing guitar and piano, and cooking dishes from all over the world.

At 15 my middle codes and gets paid for it and has had a successful balloon animal venture since he was 10 doing parties for kids.

My youngest is 10 and she's got a notebook full of drawings and notes on the horror/mystery/puzzle game she wants to design.

I freely admit none of these pursuits would have been encouraged under my previous belief that a curriculum needed to be taught to them.

WOW! I'm blown away! I'm so happy to hear that. Your children sound amazing! At the same time, I can't help but feel sad for all of the lost potential for billions of others on this planet due to public schooling.

Yeah, I so vividly remember being 23 and reading this legal thriller - just brain candy really, no great literature or anything of substance - and part of the plot line was that a student was murdered after discovering a formula for predicting prime numbers. The exposition went into how the inability to predict primes underlaid a lot of online security systems and some of the history of prime-prediction attempts, etc. I was fascinated by the math and realized for the first time that I didn't hate math, I just had the same horrible bitch of a math "teacher" for every grade from 7th through 12th and she made math miserable. I started buying books on math and physics for dummies and then I got on the internet and it was so incredible to remember that 5-year-old me had loved to learn! It was "teaching" and the bullies who made my childhood miserable that killed that joy. I'm so happy that my kids were able to retain it and I honestly don't care if they clean houses or become doctors. I want them to be happy.

I was reading a story about a family that raised their 4 boys on a yacht sailing the world. When they finally docked and registered the kids in school they were so bright all 4 had to be raised 3 levels in the school system.

I also think every God Loving American should pull their kids out of school on a massive scale so they can attack you as a individual! CPS are pure scum and every Father/Mother must stand up till the death before they get their hands on your children!

It would only take about 10 brave and fearless parents to stand up to stop this maddness. After that, I dont think too many of these freaks would want their jobs on Monday. Besides that, 1/2 of America would find them innocent in a court of law. It may even set precedence over our current corrupt decisions.

DOmi

great post! I definitely agree homeschooling is the way to go!!!!