Let's Fund An Education Project with Steem

in #education6 years ago (edited)

Being an educator, I have been teaching in different schools from the primary to the tertiary level. One of my favorite things on do, aside from teaching is launching projects that can greatly benefit the students or the school in general. The problem in every school, everywhere is the lack of funding. Often, teachers would have to find ways to fund these projects without much help.


Image source

I came across this post by @ethandsmith with his post and I am keen to help out. The summary of it all is that finances are needed to purchase chairs and books for the students. The specifics are in the post, so do head on over and check it out. That being said, I think this is an opportunity for many of us to change how we raise funds in education.

I came from a semi-private school. Semi private because the teachers are supplied by the government but the bills, the buildings and the equipment are supplied by the community. The administrators and teachers not only have to worry about the students' performance, they too have to worry about raising funds. Funds that can be used to purchase better books, equipment for teaching and to take students out of the school for enrichment activities.

Thus, any helping hand or any funds provided are always more than welcome by the teachers. Helping the teachers in this case helps lighten the burden and helps them focus on teaching and guiding the students. I remember the entire community getting behind a project that I was conducting and contributed food, money and manpower to help make it a success. I was happy not for the help but the thought that I am supported and I am not fighting this battle alone.


Image source

As such, I would like to donate all the SBD earned from this post to @ethandsmith's project. However, it is likely to be not enough, let us all as a community come together to help better the lives of these children and teachers. Play a role in either resteeming this, donating a sum or just writing about this to help contribute to the school.

What you do can potentially benefit the teachers, students and parents. I live several time-zones away from this school but that's the beauty of Steemit. We can help each other, fund meaningful projects even if we are separated geographically. I'm no whale, but I want to do my part for the education community.


follow_alvinauh.gif

Sort:  

I taught in a Chinese Independent school before. And it's not easy to raise fund. But it's also a great time for the students to think creatively and come up with awesome creative ideas to raise funds. The cullinary class students would setup cafes during the fund-raising sessions, others would look for help externally from businesses nearby to sponsor for example hair cuts, photoshoot sessions, fun fair activities, etc...
tip!

That's right, but personally I think it would be good if teaching and learning be made the priority instead of fund raising. Especially if its done too often, the people on top think that we should do it as part of our job.

It's a yearly project for almost all the Chinese Independent schools. If you are teaching or studying in these school, it's compulsory to be invloved.

upvoted. Good luck
Follow us @improvisedgeek
giphy.gif

Thanks man!

this is a great way to help the education system that has been neglected by the government, block chain is the future and it can be used for the good of all

It is, I do hope that one day we don't have to fundraise as teachers. However, before that day comes, Steem is a good platform to fundraise and support some schools.

You did it..
Keep fighting for the students future.

Hi @alvinauh! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.02 SBD @tipU from @elizacheng :)

Check out new tipuvote! feature :)

Approving technology in education is the crucial thing in this era. We should thankful for those who have doing a creative thing.

Hopefully, Steem can be the new one for improving education in our own country.

@AULAANDIKA

I think it would be, especially once more people catch on and it goes mainstream, this can be much better than angel investor

Indeed @alvinauh
The technology should give positive impact for our life.

nice initiative! though my upvote dont worth a lot, but really respect your effort!

Thanks heaps! its a good platform in doing my bit to support the education community

Count me in, talk about a great project!

Thanks! Appreciate the support!

I still remember we went door-to-door, "aunty uncle can donate some money for our school?".. 90% replied "NO". But teachers set a minimum target. At the end, our parents fork out the money to help us archive the min target. I think fundraising event organized by the school is a great way to raise fund. I personally will go and support my primary and secondary school whenever they have such event.

I will too, but I think also that the focus should be on educating the child how to learn life skills. Often times, especially for certain schools, the focus is on the money and not the education bit, which is sad.

Have to raise my hands and legs to agree on this.

I had no idea you could get semi private schools!A great way of involving the local community for everyone. Thank you for bringing to my attention the need for books and other schooling items by @ethandsmith.

I hope by your post he achieves some great milestones for the school.

I hav

Me too! Its a great proof of concept too, why ask for donation from your neighborhood when on Steemit, you get the world to help out!

I can't say thank you enough for this gesture, @alvinauh. Thank you for promoting this cause among the #steemiteducation community. I'm so excited for when these posts pay out and I get to complete the projects for my wife's classroom. I'll be sharing an account of the process the entire way through, so I hope I'll get to share the joy with you from the children.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

Three more days to go! I hope this pays for most of the things. It would be even more awesome if Steem moons =)

This should help tremendously. She got the first two projects funded last week, so she's going to start a new project soon where we can send these funds. I can't wait to share more about the outcome! Thank you again.

I come from a family of teachers and taught for a few years myself. I can definitely understand the struggles of funding school activities and the sacrifices that many teachers have to make to ensure the best for their students. I remember a large number of times where my mom has bought things with her own money for her students, knowing full well she'll never see a dime of reimbursement.

Keep up the good work promoting this issue. I'll head over to @ethandsmith's post to read it as well.

Thanks! yeah, its a sacrifice that we all make. The end goal is much more valuable than money!

This is awesome. Support your post at the same time support @ethandsmith's project. It is amazing you get this idea to write a post and all SBD goes to this cause. I resteem also. Hope it help a little.

Thanks! It does, its good now that steem dollars is quite high, hopefully it can buy up more stuff for that project

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 32 (1/31/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!