10,000 Youtube Subscribers

in #education4 years ago

Hi everyone

I have recently passed 10,000 subscribers for my English learning Youtube channel: English Chit Chat. It was two years ago that I posted about hitting 1,000 and the channel has slowly been growing since then. My new videos are still few and far between, but their quality has been getting better. I’m now using HD video clips in some videos and they’re starting to look quite professional.

https://www.youtube.com/c/EnglishChitChat

This summer I’m hoping to make some new videos that focus more on teaching beginners and I have some more ideas for videos about British culture. The channel is now monetized, so that gives me the extra incentive to keep making them.

6C2W1azD1rBs8i715pX3pAHYgtGre4FYDoT4bVx7EtQeHVyHs2LQXrn.jpg

Over the last few months my university has been closed and we’ve been teaching classes online, and it’s been so good to be able to send my videos to students. They’ve saved me a ton of work. It looks like we’ll be teaching online again next semester, so I better get busy making some more.

If you haven’t seen any of my videos yet here is a good one to start with:

Sort:  

Congratulations!

If only we had more people on Hive with 10000 subscribers on other social media. You seem to have a lot to offer here! Your videos are put together very well judging from the ones I've watched.

Thanks. The channel has become quite successful in a small way. I started it as something to just help my students. I got lucky with the Youtube algorithms for a couple of videos and that pushed the whole channel forward. I joined Steemit to help boost the Youtube channel, but it's never been much of a help. Thanks for the resteem.

Videos are really tough to do. I decided to stick with photos. However I did do a few teaching videos when I was doing a TESOL clurse. None of them were particularly good. I don't teach anymore, so there is little point for me to do it.

I think TikTok or something would be interesting to try for really short videos or introductions to your videos.

Frankly speaking the people who can't speak English here just use google translate and want to make a quick buck. However if you are willing to put in the effort, other places are better.

I was thinking of just narrating my stills and adding the occasional video clip, kinda like what those political people do, but I would just talk about history, nature or culture because I don't want to become and ideologue.

Yeah, they are tough to make, but the second one is much easier than the first. I should go back and remake some of my earlier videos. Talking over your pictures sounds good. That is pretty much what I do in my videos. You'd have to enjoy doing it, because it can be really hard to get subscribers. A friend of mine is a writer and he started a channel where he reads his poetry, but he's stuck at one subscriber.

It's a shame poetry isn't more popular. However, I've never gotten into it either.

These days my commute to work takes all the energy out of me and combined with the summer heat, I am too lazy to do much of anything when I get home.

Maybe I'll switch jobs eventually or move closer to work and find myself with more free time to focus on new skills.

The people who got a lot of work from home time are very fortunate if they managed to avoid going crazy.