What To Do In Amsterdam Without Drugs and Partying? Educate Yourself

in #education7 years ago (edited)

Amsterdam is so much more then drugs and partying. Today I will blog about the other side off Amsterdam.
Off course one of the reasons I love Amsterdam is because of all the options it has to offer and how vibrant it is to live in the city. But every time when I meet new people and tell them I am from Amsterdam they always respond the same, LOVED PARTYING THERE.

Today I will give you an peak into a very educative afternoon in Amsterdam and hope you will consider this side of Amsterdam as well when you are here.

Foam Photo Museum
One very good option to visit during your stay is the Foam museum, with always different photo exhibitions.
During my visit last week the main exhibition showed pictures off the race issues in the States by Gordan Parks.

Education 1.png

Education 2.png

Education 3.png

Hermitage
After I went to the photo museum I visited the Dutch Hermitage a museum that is associated to the Hermitage in St. Pietersburg in Russia. It’s a super nice museum with a very nice garden to have coffee in. it has beautiful pieces on loan of the 3 million pieces that the Hermitage in Russia has to offer.

Education 4.png

Education 5.png
“hidden gem, the nice garden”

Education 6.png

Education 7.png

Jewish Holocaust Museum
After my visit to the Hermitage I went to the Jewish Holocaust Museum the educate myself more about this horrible chapter in our history.
The thing that struck me most was that you had to enter by two doors that had to be opened from the inside for you as a safety precaution.

Education 8.png

Education 9.png
“ (Suitcases) of people that arrived in Auschwitz and got killed”

Education 10.png
“ wall with people that disappeared from Amsterdam”

Resistance Museum Amsterdam
My final stop of the day was at the Dutch Resistance Museum, just located two blocks away from the Holocaust museum.
If gives you a nice insight in how people tried to fight back during the war and sabotage the war.

Education 11.png
“ at his peak the NSB had 100.000 members in the Netherlands”

In the Netherlands there were living 140K Jews before the second world war, 107K of them got deported of witch only 5.5K survived the war.
Of the Jews 25K that went into hiding (Anne Frank) 18K survived the war.

Education 12.png

Overall it was a very educational day for my within my own city.
So remember to party in Amsterdam but also remember the city has so much more to offer.
Including these impressive museums.
All the museums are located at walking distance of each other so you will be able to visit them in one afternoon.

Sort:  

Did you check out the Van Gogh museum? That's one of the best galleries I've ever been too and I wasn't even stoned!

Great thoughts! I was there only once for a short trip, but will definitely check out those places next time! :)

Will blog about more Museums soon, thanks for stopping by.

No better way to pregame a museum than a nice joint & a coffee :)

hier was mijn stem weer wél 1 cent waard

raar he, die van mij is tussen 2-4 cent...

This post received a 1% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @heyitshaas! For more information, click here!

Great post! Amsterdam is certainly on my list of places to visit next year! Will definitely check out the museums.

Sounds good, will post more about Amsterdsm so you can find your favorite spots

Damn I wanna check out ALL of these places next time I'm in Amsterdam! They looks so intriguing, esp. the Holocaust & Resistance museums...

Hope to see you soon here my friend!

Absinthe must be tasted when in Amsterdam. Just be ready for when it hits haha 😎

I dont drink, but good option! only had to pick a different title then hahah
Been to Amsterdam?

Those are interesting places to visit next time around.

Thanks for sharing!

Thank you @heyitshaas for showing us some other places to see in Amsterdam! We have been to the Jewish museum in Berlin which was also very impressive and emotional! Next time we go to A'dam we know where to go!😊

You are welcome, have a other blog coming with more museums in Amsterdam

to be honest I don't like museums, but those Suitcases are impressive!

Thanks for reading, Amsterdam is great for museums.

Congratulations @heyitshaas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Looks so good! I was only in Amsterdam for a short while, and the only experience o had was walking the city, which was gorgeous, visiting a few coffee shops, which was fun, and going clubbing - which was also- AMAZING.

It's a beautiful city

Thanks, i know i love that city, every time i trave for a long period of time or live somewhere else at some point i come back to Amsterdam, now looking into whats next to go somehwere again

Are you originally from amsterdam?

I am! but lived in Australia and Canada and worked on Cruiseships,
Home for now, would love to learn more about Cape Town

Aha! Cool! I'll let you know if I do anything CT related

Nice, Thanks