What's the purpose of a child's education? PT.2

in #education6 years ago

Image Source


After my last post on the topic, What's the purpose of a child's education? I decided to do some more thinking about it. I am a father and of course, I want the best for my child, education being on top of the list. I have my own opinion on it but before I talk about it let's take a trip back in time to when I was a student myself.

I don't know much about the education systems in the western countries but in Kuwait, we had to be in school by 7 AM, classes started around 8 o'clock in the morning. Each class lasted for 30 minutes and we would have 30 minutes recess after 2 hours before continuing again with the classes. School ended at exactly 1 o'clock in the afternoon and we would all be back home by 1:30 to have our lunch.

A lot of people considered me a bookworm because I loved reading books on a variety of topic but they couldn't have been more wrong. Mainly because even though I loved studying, I also liked to play soccer with my friends in the evening. So after I was done with school, I would have some time to rest before I would pick up my books and start by finishing my homework. Later on in the evening I would go out and play soccer in the desert with some of the Arab kids that I knew.


Image Source

I wasn't a delinquent but I wasn't someone who paid attention in my classes either. To be honest I spent the majority of my time sleeping during the class but that didn't stop me from being an honor student. I loved studying mainly because I had a thirst for knowledge and my early childhood teachers did well on imprinting that thirst into my very being. I am not saying that all children should be like me. Like I have mentioned before and I quote...

"Teachers should focus on nurturing the children and no two souls are alike."

We are all one, that is a fact I agree with because we are part of the human race, but we are also different, we have our own individuality which gives us our interests. So just because something worked for me doesn't mean it would work for another student. What I am trying to say is that...children should be properly nurtured...it is a parent's and a teacher's job to bring out that much-needed thirst for knowledge in their wards or children.


Image Source

There is still much I would like to discuss with you guys but I don't have the right words at the moment to express myself so I will just leave it for another time. What do you guys think of my opinion so far? How do you think teachers should go about nurturing their wards? What should we do as parents in order to get them interested in studying on their own instead of forcing it upon them?

Thank you for reading and much love! <3

Kyrios


!steemitworldmap 16.2289339 lat 119.1449184 long baguio city, Philippines! d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=kyrios
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=what-s-the-purpose-of-a-child-s-education-pt-2


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

"... in the evening I would go out and play soccer in the desert with some of the Arab kids that I knew."
Love it!
I cannot even explain it, but this image of a boy in Kuwait being called a bookworm but he's also athletic -
and something about that line, playing soccer in the desert -
it's beautiful!

I don't agree with all of it, but the spirit of it, yes:
Summerhill: A Radical Approach to Child Rearing 1964
by A. S. Neil and Erich Fromm

See also On the Side of the Child: Summerhill Revisited
by William Ayers -
Ayers recalls his own experiences of the 1960s with the Children's Community in Detroit, an experiment that emphasized racial integration and personal freedom. He explores the concepts of Summerhill in light of current emphasis on structuring children's behavior, diagnosing and stigmatizing children with ADD and other learning disabilities. Ayers underscores the importance of reciprocity in teaching--that both student and teacher should be engaged in a mutual dialogue --
author of the acclaimed and controversial memoir Fugitive Days, and many books on education, including To Teach, Teaching Toward Freedom, and A Kind and Just Parent, lives in Hyde Park, Chicago.

And another one: "Summerhill: For & Against"
Essays by 15 of the top educators, psychologists, sociologists, social philosophers, & anthropologists of the time assess the pros & cons of freedom & childhood & explain the philosophy & the theories behind it even better than Neill did. Neill's original work was an excellent description of what he had created at Summerhill...
--Vytas Stoskus, Amazon reviewer

Eda J. LeShan, one of the included reviewers, describes Neill as a "gardener of childhood."

"troublemaker" - or terrorist?
I'm not endorsing anyone here. Just sharing what others say on the subject you've raised. :-)
<rethinkingschools.aidcvt.com/archive/24_04/24_04_comics2.shtml>

"In his delightfully playful, poetic, and poignant To Teach: The Journey, in Comics, educator and troublemaker Bill Ayers takes readers on a tour of lessons learned throughout his teaching career. Here's a sampling from this clever adaptation of his memoir To Teach: ...*

Hey @carolkean, thank you for the content that you have linked to me in the comments to my post. I will be sure to check them all out as soon as I have enough time. As you know my situation most of the time keeps me from reading too much :(. I really appreciate having the talk with you about education that we did.

Hi kyrios! :) interesting topic.. it's cool to know a bit more about your past. :)

@kyrios ...i agree on that but i would like you to deliberate on how this can be achieve base from ur exprnce pls do let me know if u would work on it thanks.

To be honest, I am still thinking about how we could improve the education system. It is flawed in my opinion even from my own experiences there are a lot of things that need to be changed. We also have to take into account the different learning methods that there are. Some children are visual learners while others are hands on learners. We need to be facilitators helping them improve on their interests instead of forcing lots of knowledge upon them.

Growing up i had diffculties in reaching my academic goals. Not that i am not intellectually sound or able but because of the system i was subjected. The story goes a long way and from exprn i know the implicationa it has and so many millions are suffering from this. wars and other global problems are not the only thing that needs our urgent attention. And
Any help would be highly appreciated.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jybrael (Kyrios) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.