THE LESS PRIVILEGED AND UNEDUCATED FELLOWS IN OUR SOCIETY AND THE AFTERMATH EFFECT IN THE WORLD AT LARGE… NIGERIA IN CIRCUMSPECT. [A BRIEF REVIEW BUT FACTUAL.]

in #education6 years ago (edited)

IMAG0131.jpg
IMAG0132.jpg Photo credit:- Self
This article is facilitated towards the “un-privileged” around us in our different communities with Nigeria as caption.
Day in and out, as many strive for the success bout, it is unavoidable to point out the fact that many others who did not have the opportunity to sharpen their minds and brains in a citadel of learning who grew up in the nether side of life are on a constant base, increasing.
In a country where its government does nothing tangible about investing much as required in the lives of children or young teenagers, who are commonly termed as “leaders of tomorrow”, the fate of such country is and can be said to be in a pitiable state. With such kind of practice, posterity or trans-generational exploits become less talked about.

THIS MENACE CAN BE ATTRIBUTED TO ANY OF THESE.

  1. IMPROPER PARENTAL CARE
  2. FAMILY INORDINATION, LEADING TO SEPARATION WHICH IS LIABLE TO AFFECT THE CHILD
  3. LACK OF GOVERNMENT INTERVENTION IN AGENDA SPECIFICALLY GEARED TOWARDS GIVING BACK TO ITS SOCIETY
  4. PEER GROUPS
  5. NO SPIRITUAL BACKGROUND
    Just to mention but a few.

When a child is born into a home, I particularly believe much should be done in the establishment of that child with the prospective belief that if much as required is provided for the synthesis of that child, his mind would be enlightened on expanding its potentials beyond it horizon. However, other brave ones who by reason of challenge or the fear of settling for the less, are able to go beyond the status quo with the prevalent challenge and all they see is becoming successful. The Nigerian folks call it, “THE LIFE OF A HUSTLER”. But in real sense, the proportion of the said hustlers to the unfortunates is inconsiderably different.
Of course, there are people who do not need no push from external sources to make a difference. These ones are either afraid of becoming the repetition of their parents small success or failure in caps. For these particular folks, they believe no one is responsible for their success as much as it will be no ones fault if they fail eventually. So, this mindset begins to toughen and reshape their minds and much efforts become expended in several trials until there is a mighty breakthrough which everyone anticipates after much or necessary hard work per se.
On the other hand, talking about the unfortunate ones, as I pointed out earlier, could be as a result of different causes; ranging from “parental” to “no moral” or “spiritual backgrounds”, or the most accused “government intervention” into the lives of these kids.
I particular think the government of a country should in its agenda seek to affect children; ones in whom the future of the country is supposedly hinged on.
Maybe just a minute work is been done and the overall effect is not as conspicuous as the menace it is made to cause already.
The church and other few Non Governmental organizations are beginning to take this aspect seriously at least to the best of capacity. Talking about feeding, clothing, raising orphans in homes of those who need them, either for this purpose or for extra hands needed in their homes. I particularly love to see a less privileged child being affected positively by some kind deeds. * Maybe someday, I shall own an NGO whose aim is to eradicate low life living and giving the younger ones a hope with a promise of a brighter future.*

Over the past decades, Nigeria has been faced with several issues of which one of its major is the political unrest. The political instability in the country is liable for the up rise in the negativity faced by the Nigerian educational system. However, educational crisis has been in the loom for several years and its recent state has made little or less impact positively on the development of the nation. Majorly strikes, as a result of inadequate learning equipments or facilities, staged by students, teachers etc. The main difficulty is in the fact that this sector is not properly funded. In a country’s budget of a huge sum, maybe just a peanut amount is allocated to the educational sector amongst other relevant sectors in the economy. And of course, corruption takes a large part in the dissemination of allocated amounts to appropriate quarters as the case may be. This corruption which is unavoidably present in the government, has further resulted in the shortage of needed materials to be utilized by teachers whose job is to in turn help build these lads who are the future of tomorrow. In some cases, unqualified teachers are employed with the main interest of making a living, thereby leaving the interests of these lads at heart. However, I want to point out here that this may partly be caused by insincerity in the government dealings as no one really wants to commit to humanity without shared benefits. Irrespective of the causatives of this problem, the primary and secondary levels which are commonly termed as the foundational levels of education have been negatively affected.
images-11.jpeg
Source

See this, its gonna catch your interest .

I think there is a thin line that connects EDUCATION & POVERTY. A country that's not investing in the education of its younger citizens is ready to further impoverish the independent financial standards of the nation.

images-12.jpeg
Source

See this interesting information about Nigeria

Education has been at the top of the priority lists of some previous regimes or dispensations, however the sector still remains lagged in its development compared to what is expected by its populace across the country.

THE WAY FORWARD. My Perspective.

PARENTAL: Sometimes, I think it is impossible to stop the rate unwanted pregnancies or unprepared family establishment. A child who is not well catered for may not be able to bring out his real or full potential he or she was innately born with, since we have been able to establish the fact that some or most persons need a favorable condition to really harness their innate potentials. So this goes to the parents. Fun in bed is not as much fun when an unfulfilled destiny emerges. In the long run, not only the child or the family is affected, but his society and the country at large.
So I advice that a parent or people intending to bring a life to earth should be well informed and conscientized on the need to properly prepare for a life come to earth.

SCHOOLS: The schools should not only be a place where academics are being taught, but more emphasis should be laid on the civil right of the child with the efforts to inculcate into the child moral standards which will in turn help the child to re-shape his mind so he can add his values to the country’s wellness.
When a child is not given the right foundation, he has every right to make wrong decisions or at worst become frustrated to becoming a menace in the community. Apart from those who may love being criminals for fun, I believe a large of hoodlums in the society is as a result of lack of proper education.

ACADEMICS IS NOT EDUCATION. IT IS A SUBSET OF EDUCATION. WHILE ACADEMICS IS DONE WITHIN THE SCHOOL FOUR WALLS OREINTED, EDUCATION IS BEYOND THE FOUR WALLS AS IT CONCERNS ITSLEF WITH ALL ROUND ACTIVITIES WHETHER WITHIN THE FOUR WALLS OF JUST GETTING ALL DISTINCTION IN SUBJECTS OR WITHOUT THE FOUR WALLS WHERE THE MIND IS REALLY TRAINED TO SUCCED BEYOUND WHAT THE CERTIFICATE HAS TO OFFER.

CHURCHES: I think the churches should help and embrace the “GIVE BACK TO THE SOCIETY” idea. This should not be imposed on the church because the primary essence of existence is to lead people in the way of Christ who is the real foundation of the church.

GOVERNMENT: Programs and symposiums should be initiated towards the common child in the country.
Free educational systems should be introduced or at worst be subsidized for the sole purpose of allowing many participate. In order to have a great feedback and benefits of many, policies with strict follow up should be initiated too in ensuring that a large percentage of the less privileged benefit from this package. The change may not be sudden or entire but it has become bedrock for a better future to come both for the child, the society and the country at large.
I also believe the sincere ones in the government, if there are any, should be delegated with responsibilities of follow up the allocation process with the country’s future in heart. However, successful implementation will largely depend on the availability of adequate resources, the delegation of responsibility amongst different levels of government, well meaning communities and students participation.

ODODAH BANNA.png

Sort:  

Have you ever seen writing by Nyerere of Tanzania? He translated Shakespeare into Kiswahili and was a teacher. However, when he wrote for the people, he did not write in the manner you used above. He used simple words, more interested in being understood than in showing off.

This way of writing is prevalent in South Africa also, many even talk this way. The result? Not even highly educated people understand what was said.

Do yourself a favour: Re-write what you wrote above, as if you are writing it for your seven year old son. Then ask ten adults to read both copies. Which do you think they will understand and argue the merits? This one? I think not. To debate an argument, we must clearly understand it, or else we feel we are not qualified to speak, and keep quiet.

Didn't you write the article with the hope that you would be understood, that it would achieve something for the children?

.

The problem of education is not only Nigerian. Not even African. It is a problem in all countries - even the United States. Populations have exploded - I remember reading about 15 years ago, the Kenya government said that if they create one school of 800 children PER DAY, they cannot keep up.

Stop looking to WHO and other crappy institutions. They are made up of people who do not really care, they just enjoy the high salary and prestige of their job.

Try to think as an African.

I have certain thoughts on this subject, but I will only expand on them if you really are interested. Let me know, if you are.

I'm always open to ideas so i can get better @arthur.grafo.
However, i talked more about Nigeria(as written in my topic) as a case factor.

I live here and i thought to address a problem in my writing, using my niche(my country) as a case study.

I would appreciate more ideas or augmentation on the subject perhaps many more will benefit as they read and understand. I also believe that's the utmost intention of every "quality writer" here on steemit.

I'm sorry, but I can see we do not understand each other. Why can't you write in plain English? For instance:

as a case factor.

What does that mean?

augmentation on the subject

To augment means to increase. How do you increase the subject?

As for

I also believe that's the utmost intention

No, that is not true. I do not try to write using complicated words, I write as simply as I can.

Get yourself a book written by Ernest Hemingway, one of the major authors of our time and read his stories. He writes in plain words, where there is a word and its simple alternative, he always uses the simple word. Your job as a writer, as I told you before, is to be understood, it is not, or should not be your intention to write in complex ways so as to prove how well educated you are.

I can understand you writing the way you do, if it is a document being submitted to a government department and you want to be certain they are impressed by your article, while also not able to understand it. But what you are doing is working against you when you write for the public.

Just look on this page, at the difference in the way I write to you and the way you write - I have a feeling I am wasting my time, for you are not going to try to understand the points I am making, because you are proud of the way you can write and cannot even imagine simple being better.

I really appreciate your time here.
Many would just pass.

I need more corrections on writing better most importantly to be understood.

I'll also look out for the book you referred.

I think i understand your point.
But, can i also have you on discord for direct mentoring on writings.?

I'll have to check about getting on there, as I do not like the way they send me ten emails a day, without reason, so I cancelled my registration there.

Your above message was a huge improvement.

I took the time to go to your home page to examine more of your posts. While there, I did a follow - mostly because I have a rotten memory and wanted to have a way to find you.

I see your name is Frank - mine is Alex and, as I mentioned, I live in South Africa. Originally I come from Kenya and Tanzania. I am in my mid-seventies, so that means I am a little bit older than you :)

I may sound impatient sometimes, but keep in mind that I never have or will deliberately hurt anyone. Nor do I think I am special in any way. My comments about language are because of my love for the language (I am not English, I am Greek), and I've spent a million years living on other worlds (in other words, I have always loved reading books).

I have found that 95% of people who use difficult words, not only sound pretentious and unfriendly, but also cannot be understood because they often use words in ways that are wrong. I'll give you an example: the heading in your post uses the word
CIRCUMSPECT
Do you know what it means? It means 'discreet' which means, according to the dictionary: "Heedful of potential consequences". In other words, if I learn something about you that could embarrass or cause you harm, if I am discreet, I will keep quiet.

If you are writing for friends and the general public, try to use only simple words, but if you feel that a specific comment needs to be explained with a difficult word, make certain you know what it means.

Some quick examples from what I've seen, to illustrate what I am saying"

  • he espied his friend....he saw his friend
  • he conceptualised an idea...he thought of a new idea

Frank, I have a love for poetry and I enjoy helping newbies. Because of this, I have met a number of posters from Nigeria, who write poetry. They have creative images, but they almost always, spoil the poem because they forced complicated words into their poem so as to make it sound better, more clever or educated. If the word is wrong or does not belong in the poem, it spoils the poem.

Check what I've said and if you read carefully, you'll see what I mean.

Ok, cool!
I get your point exactly.

I've added this as I want to mention again something I said that you ignored.

I said: Try to think as an African

Countries all over the world are short of money because they waste it on armies, fighter jets etc.

to look to them for solving problems with educating children, is a waste of time.

In the old days, the men did the hunting and watching their cattle and so n, or else they sat with friends and drank beer and talked. The women mostly did a little bit of farming. The children needed to learn how to live safely. Often it was the grandparents who taught them.

So, are there any older people, what we call pensioners, who are struggling to make ends meet, but they have a skill or knowledge (for instance, they can read or do simple arithmetic)?

For children who are not going to be offered any education, would it not be good if these elders teach them? In return, perhaps a church would pay for a meal to be provided to the elder teachers, while it means the elders also have company and feel useful.

Children need to be taught morals and skills. Almost an unlimited number of skills can be taught. How to fix a bicycle, a puncture, how to work with wood, how to sow and repair clothes...use your imagination.

That was just an idea for you to play with. Teachers are expensive and not that easy to find. Use those with experience and skills to help the children and your costs will be very small. Maybe, for some lucky children, they will benefit by feeling the old person cares for them, and they will also care for the elder, as if he/she is a grandparent. Both sides benefit!

Awesome idea.

And this:

I said: Try to think as an African

Well noted too.

Are you also implying that i edit my work?

Not the above. Once you have made the post, the header cannot be changed.

Just an idea. I prepare my post, re-read it, go make a coffee, talk on the phone, read, whatever, or even prepare the next post. After a couple of hours with my mind on other things, I return to read once more and make corrections. I am always surprised by how many mistakes I find.

I am glad you liked my idea. Another idea that is being used by others here, they have convinced a major supermarket chain to finance an orphanage, for them to have a small field for teaching the kids how to grow food using some modern methods. The food must not be GMO and no pesticides or other poisons should be used and the seeds should be taken/bought from small villages, far from GMO farms. This makes it possible for the shop to sell the produce as organic. The orphanage also arranges for the older kids, say a group of 4 or 5 to be employed for getting a vegetable garden started in the backyard of those who want their own organic food. This way, the kids can start their own business and earn money, while helping people to feed their own families food that is healthy.