You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Reasons To Unschool (Home Education, Self-directed learning)

in #education7 years ago

I think school exists to give everybody an equal opportunity to get the same education and the same chance to move on in life. The philosophy behind it is sound, and its practicality cannot be denied - it gives children an equalized space to learn and lets their parents focus on something else (most likely, work). It also removes the intellectual onus of knowing about learning, development and supporting that development from the parents.

That said, the very concept of "equality" and "sameness" is predicated on the idea that everybody will get the same treatment, and so it happens. It is exactly what we have been asking for all these years. As for bias and indoctrination, well, as long as it is living and breathing people doing the teaching, it will be inevitable, although different schools will have it to a different degree. This is what we sing up for when we send out kids to school.

I personally don't think unschooling is the panacea we are looking for. There is no denying the convenience of traditional schools, and reforming them should be our first priority. Unschooling may work for a minority of people who have the time, intellectual, physical and financial resources to invest into it, but for the majority of people it is a luxury they can't afford. I personally was "unschooled" on my days off by my parents who told me not to care about the subjects, teachers and scores that I didn't care about and only try and get the minimum pass grade possible (which is sound advice, really) and who openly told me I couldn't trust my teachers and taught me alternative facts.

I do think a balanced approach is the best approach.