College or Trade School?

in #education7 years ago (edited)

It's that time of year when another crop of young people are graduating from high school. Are you, or is you child going to a 4 year college? Is that a personal choice or is that because of pressure from adults or a peer group? Was there a culture at your school to steer students towards a 4 year degree vs the trades? Was it some other reason? Trade school and 2 year colleges offer programs for trades that are in demand. Students have a good chance of becoming employed in their chosen field right out of school. Those early opportunities can lead to rewarding careers without the massive debt that comes with a 4 year degree. Something to think about.

Sort:  

I teach at a two-year college, and I can't tell you the number of students I encounter who obviously don't want to be on a traditional academic track but feel like they have to be because the idea that their worth as human beings is tied directly to whether or not they have a college degree has been drilled into them for 13+ years. I think we'd have many happier, more successful people in our society if we could achieve a shift in the general attitude about what counts as education.

I couldn't agree more! As an older than average student, I received an associate degree in 2011. Added to 30 years experience I landed an awesome job just one year after graduation. Had I not had the life experience I doubt I would have been offered the job. Employers along with educators are pushing for at least a 4 year degree. My take from an employers perspective? If they can hire someone with 4 or 6 years of higher education for a job that only requires 2 years and for the same money why not? The Bachelor's Degree is the new high school diploma. I can also tell you the wage gap between those with 2 years or less vs 4 years or more is quite significant. I really hope you are right that we can shift attitudes about education. Institutions of higher learning pack a lot of punch when it comes to perceptions.