You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 3 Reasons To Unschool (Home Education, Self-directed learning)

in #education7 years ago

WOW! I'm blown away! I'm so happy to hear that. Your children sound amazing! At the same time, I can't help but feel sad for all of the lost potential for billions of others on this planet due to public schooling.

Sort:  

Yeah, I so vividly remember being 23 and reading this legal thriller - just brain candy really, no great literature or anything of substance - and part of the plot line was that a student was murdered after discovering a formula for predicting prime numbers. The exposition went into how the inability to predict primes underlaid a lot of online security systems and some of the history of prime-prediction attempts, etc. I was fascinated by the math and realized for the first time that I didn't hate math, I just had the same horrible bitch of a math "teacher" for every grade from 7th through 12th and she made math miserable. I started buying books on math and physics for dummies and then I got on the internet and it was so incredible to remember that 5-year-old me had loved to learn! It was "teaching" and the bullies who made my childhood miserable that killed that joy. I'm so happy that my kids were able to retain it and I honestly don't care if they clean houses or become doctors. I want them to be happy.