PROS AND CONS OF COMPULSORY EDUCATION

in #education5 years ago

Growing up,I have always been advised on how education is the key to success and how it could save me from the grip of poverty and earn me respect amongst my peers. My parents didn't have the chance to acquire an extensive education like I do and to them they believed that the reason they couldn't achieve as much as they wanted or make as much money as they wanted was as a result of their lack of proper education, and so they worked hard to make sure I and my siblings got proper education with the hope that we would achieve what they could not achieve and also make a lot of money. Education to my parents and even to the society means going to school and graduating with distinction and then become a doctor or lawyer or get employed in a prestigious company that pays a lot of money; and so for a long time throughout my childhood and teenage years I also believed that education was a prerequisite for making money and being successful.IMG_20181227_065024_659.jpg

CONS:
Lost in the haze of todays educational system are little things that we don't take into consideration such as; the declination in the raw and natural talents in children and young adults, due to the rigidity of the educational system. As a young teenager in secondary school, I had a raw passion for basketball and drawing, however this was frowned upon by my parents and teachers especially since it started getting in the way of my grades in school, I was forced to give up my passion with the belief that it was a distraction. I remember so well how worthless I felt every time I failed in class and the humiliation i had to endure for not being as good as other students. Unfortunately there are a lot of young adults and students like me all around the world who had to give up their passion or talent to fit into a rigid educational system that discards those who do not fit into it's system. This has led to regret, depression, suicidal attempts, the feeling of worthlessness and low self esteem among students.IMG_20181227_065552_418.jpg
Our system of education do not give student the freedom to question the status quo or even express their opinion. This system that is meant to offer us a path to freedom in reality enslaves us, and this is evident in our society; in the way the youths show apathy towards politics or any activity involving the the governance of the nation.IMG_20181227_065939_967.jpg

PROS:
Although the educational system is not perfect, it is hard to ignore its benefits such as; the access to free primary education to children, thereby reducing child labour. In Nigeria 90% of children from underprivileged homes have to drop out or not go to school in order to assist their family financially by hawking goods on the road, however due to the free compulsory education made available to them, they get equal opportunity at a better living.IMG_20181227_070558_096.jpg

To me both the negative and positive side to compulsory education has shaped me to who I am today. Education has taught me how to fail and not be a failure; as a student i have failed courses most of which left me devastated and even sometimes I'd feel frustrated, but the more I failed the more determined i was and the more I learnt. Education has exposed me to diverse knowledge and skills; as a Nigerian living in a country of diverse ethnic and religious groups, I have been opportuned through education to learn, appreciate and understand the values and beliefs of other cultural groups and I have learned to not castigate or judge anyone falsely because of their ethnic group. Education has exposed me to skills and knowledge I can use to earn a living, to contribute to the society positively and it has equipped me with the tools I need to bring up innovative ideas that can benefit myself and the people around me. Lastly and most importantly education has taught me how to survive in life; the educational system in Nigeria is a survival of the fittest system, it is rigorous, tasking ,frustrating and if I can survive the Nigerian university then I can make it anywhere in life.IMG_20181227_071621_437.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @zubbyfaith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @zubbyfaith! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 comments. Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!