Insomnia and Me

in #elite6 years ago

woman-unable-to-sleep.jpg

Its 1am and I’m here wishing my eyes could just close and take a walk down sleep lane. This tends to happen every night. My mind is wondering; “Could this be insomnia”?

Let's make a little research then!

Apparently, Insomnia is a sleep disorder where a person has trouble sleeping. Either one can’t sleep like me or can’t sleep for a long time. This is followed by staying awake all day, feeling less energized. Oh My God😱
This screams me all round.

What could be the cause? Is it a medical or psychological issue? Arghh!😧

Research says its possible causes are;

  1. Gastrointestinal problems (That sounds too big to be my problem. I hate big words but still love chemistry. Such irony)
  2. Asthma (Hell No)
  3. Chronic pain (Uhmmm. No)
  4. Low back pain (Not me)
    What’s wrong? Can’t I find a problem or a solution?
  5. Depression (This might be it). I mean I spend the hours I can’t sleep thinking about things not worth the thought, sometimes things very depressing.
  6. Staying Online at Night: So apparently the light from your pc or phone keeps your brain active. I need to put a leash on my phone.

Enough of the factors please. They are so much that they’re actually getting scary.
What tips can one use to fight this wahala (A Nigerian term for “problem”)? Natural ones please!

  1. Having a routine for sleep time and sticking to it. That sounds right you know. What else?
  2. Get plenty of exercise during the day. This sounds logical. Expend enough energy during the day so you feel sleepier at night. (But I’m really lazy)
  3. Reduce intake of caffeine and alcohol.
  4. Try getting into the habit of short naps. Okay?
  5. Finally, for now, avoid intake of heavy meals at night. I’m a big culprit here.

Okay that’s enough for now. What about you guys? Are you a fellow victim of this “wahala”? Did you overcome? If yes, how? A steemian needs help.

Sort:  

anather lovely writing i see here its beautifull thankyou for shareing...

Thanks @jhonysins

This username sounds suspicious though 😂 😂

Finding happiness within.
Letting go of everything and be free.

Nice write up

Exactly @mrposyble
"Letting go" is really vital

So Uncle is here too
Lol.
Better goan follow and upvote all my recent posts

😂 😂
Sure