1st ChallengeGordo by el TeamGordo: "Breakfast where I live" My entry from Toronto.

in #elteamgordo7 years ago (edited)

I live in Toronto and since this is a very multicultural city I eat many different things for breakfast. Here are a few things I like to eat for breakfast at home and some foods I like to eat out.


Full English Breakfast (minus the beans). My local butcher started making black and white pudding so that is now one of my favourite things to eat for breakfast. I always get my bacon from them too which makes a second appearance later on. To go with my breakfast meats, I made scrambled eggs, oven roasted mushrooms, tomatoes and onions as well as some pan fried potatoes with a bit of thyme from my balcony. This is what I eat as a big weekend breakfast. Also, fun fact, this photo has no editing! Just good food with lovely natural lighting. :)


My family is Chinese and growing up, every weekend we would go with our grandma and our aunts and uncles for dim sum. Dim sum means to "touch the heart" so each piece is made with love. This photo isn't quite as nice as my others but I have to mention dim sum! It's my favourite breakfast to eat out. My favourite items are rice noodle rolls and also har gow which are shrimp dumplings. My least favourite part of dim sum was watching my family fighting over who gets to pay the bill. -_-*


This breakfast was inspired by Adventure Time! Makin' bacon pancakes anyone? I know this isn't exactly the way it's made in the show so that's why I said it was inspired. I actually tried it the AT way and I found my pancakes came out too greasy so now I do them separate so my bacon stays nice and crisp! My favourite pancake recipe is from Kenji Lopez at Serious Eats. I love his articles and his pancakes are easy, fluffy and light. The trick is folding in whipped egg whites. The bacon is from my local butcher again and I also have some Canadian maple syrup (of course) with a pat of butter! (Fact: butter makes things better!)


This is my everyday breakfast in the summer time. Nothing is better than peach season (except for maybe tomato season)! I eat my peaches with thick plain yogurt, honey and homemade maple granola. I like my granola kind of plain with mostly just oats, maple and butter and baked in the oven. This photo is from the first time I made granola! I couldn't believe how easy it was and it's definitely nice on the wallet too.


What is more stereotypically Canadian than breakfast poutine? Traditionally a poutine is french fries, gravy and cheese curds (like little chewy nubs of mozzarella). My breakfast version has home fries, bacon, cheese curds, gravy, sunny side up eggs and green onions. I grew my green onions from letting the leftover stems sprout in a glass of water. This method will usually give you a little extra onion to use. Breakfast poutines aren't THAT common here but you will definitely find them on some brunch menus.


One last photo to give you a sense of how varied the food in Toronto is, is this dish from a restaurant called Maha's which does Egyptian breakfast. It's very popular here and has huge lines all the time! The food is healthy, affordable and delicious. This dish is foul, a bean stew and it's been topped with hard boiled eggs and falafel with a small fresh salad on the side. If you are in Toronto, I highly recommend checking this place out.

Is this what you expected to see when I said I was from Toronto? I hope you enjoyed my post! Thanks for reading! :D

Edit: I've been nominated as a finalist for the "Breakfast where I live" challenge by el TeamGordo. All the finalists are listed here and if you enjoyed my post, please vote for me! :D

Follow me at @jellyfishdonut for more posts on food and travel! <3

Sort:  

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @jellyfishdonut. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jellyfishdonut to be original material and upvoted it!
Do you like what @OriginalWorks is doing? Give it an upvote!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Nice entry! Thanks for taking part on the contest. Good luck!

Thanks @elteamgordo! It was fun to take part in it! :D

I take the one from the last picture - you can keep the eggs!
Please serve 10:00 local time tomorrow morning!
Thank you!!

LOL! Okay, I'll send a driver! :D Thanks for reading and for the upvote! <3

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Fabulous Fungi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Wow! I usually don't spend time preparing my breakfast, I am always or too hungry or too busy. I can take one of each right now... well, you can keep the granola, too healthy :P

Haha! Thanks @metabs! The granola only has the illusion of being healthy, I covered it in butter before baking it! :D

Ah you're Chinese? Me too. The food looks amazing! Bacon on pancakes? Like whut.

Yes I am! Which means anything works for breakfast, am I right? Haha! Thanks for the compliment! :D

We're selecting the finalist for our contest and realised you deserve to be nominated for the OCD daily compilation. So, regardless the contest i want to nominate you. Reply if you accept, this could get more attention to your blog and maybe some extra votes.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Hey @elteamgordo! Thank you so much for wanting to nominate me! I accept! That's so nice of you! I didn't know about OCD until now. It's a great initiative for Steemit since there's so much content on here. Thanks again! So excited! :D

Those pancakes and bacon .... mmmmm

Thanks for reading! It's the best combo! :D

Hi, you'd been selected as a finalist of the contest here is the link. Ask your friends to vote for your entry for some extra points.

Thank you! That's awesome! :D

I am the Great Cornholio! Would you like to see my portfolio? I have a portfolio in my bunghole, with my óleo!