Keybase is your crypto friend

in #encryption7 years ago

In this context I'm using crypto to mean cryptography rather cryptocurrency (which is currency that uses cryptography). Keybase is a service that makes it easier to use cryptography for various purposes:

Keybase

  • You can use it to identify yourself. It allows you to created messages signed by your private key that you can post to various internet profiles to prove you control them. You will see above that I have identified myself on Facebook, Twitter, Github and even my Bitcoin key. Those proofs can be checked by anyone and the site is just verifying that they are valid. A long as nobody has cracked PGP you can be sure that a single entity controls those accounts and if you trust any of them then you can be pretty sure that it's me.
  • The site has functions to encrypt messages to anyone with an account there. You can also check if a signed message is valid. There are also options to encrypt and sign, but you have to decide if you want to trust them to host your private key.
  • They have an app for Mac, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android. This gives you access to the functions below.
  • There's a chat function. All chats are encrypted end to end, so nobody can tap in.
  • They have a cloud storage facility with 10GB for free. Files can be public or private. I used the public folder to host my images for Steemit when we still needed to host them ourselves. The private files are not visible to Keybase. You can also have shared folders. Your app encrypts them so that only those you choose can access them.
  • There are some options to help teams communicate. You can have chat like Slack, but it's all encrypted for the team members.
  • The latest facility is encrypted git repositories. git is a version control system widely used by developers via services like Github. You can also use it for things like configuration files or even documents. You get 100GB of storage and that is also encrypted, of course. A repository can be private to you or shared with a team.

The software is all open source, so others can verify it's secure and not leaking your secrets.

Their browser extension adds a chat button to various sites. You can send that person a message and if they are not already on Keybase then they will be able to read it once they sign up and verify that account. I've already connected with a few other people on Steemit.

Twitter

If you paste this block below into the verify page you can confirm that I control this Steemit account.

-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

This is to confirm that user steevc on Steemit controls this encryption key.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v1
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=Z0ns
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

I've played around with encryption for years, but struggled to get others to use it as it can be complex. I think Keybase helps to make it a little simpler. Privacy and identity are key concepts in the modern age and we need good tools to manage them.

I'll try to answer any questions you may have.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged

Sort:  

well here we go..this is great .. I am learning all the time.. very interesting.. I have a list of things to get into...this one surely created a new wrinkle on my cerebrum. thanks, Steve 🐝 you receive the bee award for attempting to explain this to someone like me. 🐓 🐓 🐓 (because I know you like chickens)

Well I don't even know how to type insect and bird pictures. I bow to your emoticon skills

It seems interesting. The lacking of a messaging feature is a big flaw in Steemit

Well this is one option. I know most people just use the chat site.

yes. or just use Busy, which has its own messaging system. Steemit should definitely add something like that, imho.

Cool! Another Keybase user that is on Steemit! Followed you on Steemit and Keybase.

hey steve clark you always share some thing amazing. "key Base" very interesting and much useful features it have, i like it and key base chat. inspiring effort.

Steem On!

It's not part of Steemit, but it would be good if they could work together

thanks for correction,.
yes i think they should do together.

I really need to get around to backing up all my private keys, i always forget.

Nice Contents..

Bad comment. Say something interesting

well here we go..this is great .. I am learning all the time.. very interesting.. I have a list of things to get into...this one surely created a new wrinkle on my cerebrum. thanks, Steve 🐝 you receive the bee award for attempting to explain this to someone like me. 🐓 🐓 🐓 (because I know you like chickens)